We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice rooms and fantastic bathroom” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Ranked #19 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very nice rooms and fantastic bathroom”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

Nice large rooms with floor to ceiling windows and block-out shades that let you sleep at any time of the day. Big desk, nice furnitures, bed a bit on the softer side. The bathrooms are big and elegant (marble and wood) with a large, seperate walk-in shower and toiletries from Crabtree & Evelyn. Front Desk staff very friendly and efficient. Luggage delivery to the room a bit slow and delivery of newspaper to the room in the morning not reliable. Various newspapers available f.o.c. in the lobby. The hotel is a good 30 min walk to the CBD. In summary, we had a lovely stay and would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodfoodfanOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,060
    1,035
    243
    81
    35
See reviews for
442
1,239
202
1,189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (837)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

This Hotel offers good sized rooms in fresh contemporary way, with huge windows and great electronic black out blinds. Fantastic bathrooms and views of Melbourne. Be sure to book a high floor city view room with city and Yarra river views. The beds are probably the best I have slept in and i have stayed in hundreds of Hotel over the years. We had wine and Tapas one night at Sotano situated just off the lobby which was great however the staff had very little/no wine knowledge what so ever which was disappointing so we ordered New Zealand wine which we knew. Overall the staff were average.The cafe in the lobby is good for grabbing a quick snack/breakfast and coffee. Although not as central as other hotels we have stayed such as the Lindrum its a pleasant walk or Tram in to town. Beware of the very overpriced in room braodband. It surprises me to this day why free wireless is not a given in such good Hotels.

Room Tip: Book directly with Hotel and join Hilton Honours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmhnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2011

We love getting away to Melbourne CBD a few times a year, so when we do we like to lash out and stay somewhere memorable. The Hilton South Wharf certainly fills that niche.
The customer service at check in was the best we've struck. We were a couple of hours early and would have been happy to check our bags, but despite the fact there was 100% occupancy we were able to access our room. We were given a room with a great view, as well as a complimentary late check out. Despite the fact that there were a lot of people checking in, there were enough staff to ensure no wait, even though (I think his name was Kito??) took time to talk to us.
The decor was amazing - the lobby was all wood and stone and huge spaces, and even the corridors leading to the rooms were stylish. The room was completely lovely with a knockout big bathroom. We were especially impressed with the electric blockout blinds (ahhhh, the perfect sleep-in!)
The location was great for us as we came in from the Westgate, so there's no CBD driving (damn you hook turns!!). It's a few minutes to walk along the Yarra to the Casino and all the great resturaunts along Southbank, and was close to a tram stop, so getting into the CBD was easy. Our room looked accros the Yarra to Southbank - at night you can watch the fireballs on the hour which was awesome.
The breakfast was great - there's juicemakers and fresh fruit as well as a massive selection of enticing hot and cold goodies. We ate so much that we were still full at tea time....
We're converted - If it's a treat you're looking for, the Hilton South Wharf won't dissapoint!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room looking over Southbank!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessAustralia_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Northern Territory
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2011

I recently stayed at the Hilton South Wharf, the stay whilst short was magnificent. The lush modern interior of the hotel in both the foyer and guest areas as well as my room was stunning. I've stayed in numerous 5-star hotels around the world, however, Hilton South Wharf, has moved to my favourite. I had a king executive city view room, perfect for my circumstances and the outlook was simply breathtaking, I woke numerous times during the night and couldnt resist peaking out at the full length windows across the Yarra and beautiful cityscape. The service exceeded my expectation so much so that l had to comment here.

Room Tip: If eating out on the river edge book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2011

Me and my wife stayed here on our honeymoon in Australia on our melbourne leg..after two weeks of pampering from different five stars starting from mariott brisbane..to sheraton mirage..to four seasons sydney..we were not expecting some exceptional from hilton south wharf..
But boy were we wrong..it was the best hotel i ever checked in to..we were upgraded to the yarra suite and the check in was a breeze..the room itself was well on top of melbourne..the views from the room was just unbelieveable..thr room had top to bottom glass panel with remote closure for shades..when we needed privacy.
Breakfast was adequate and the quality of food was also very good..the dfo was also conveniently located just outside the hotel lobby and the yarra river was just few steps.
Would definitely return back to hilton south wharf for our next visit to melbourne

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aih0043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2011

First review, but a regular trip report writer on a number of FF bulletin boards.

I have been a regular at this property since it opened, as it is a short walk into the botton of Collins Street where most of my client work.

As a Hilton Honors Gold member, I had booked a King Deluxe Room (Cost: $280, less 20% Hilton Premium Club discount). Upon logging into my room the day before to check-in online, was delighted to see that I had received my Gold benefit (upgrade), but not just to the expected King Executive room, but a Relaxation Suite, with access to the Executive Lounge on Level 4 for pre-dinner canapés and drinks, plus breakfast.

This was the first time I'd been upgraded to the Relaxation Suite, one below the Yarra Suite (top of the line for rooms at this property, excluding the apartments).

Entering the room (1702), the lounge room is straight ahead, with an angled corner at left behind a suitable round (work) table, nice space and a TV with a channel changer you don't have to jump on to get working! Bif flat screen TV, 2 sofas and a single chair.

The bathroom is entered off the loune (as well as bedroom), with a walk in shower (from both sides) - very nice! Two types of shower head - rainfall or standard, with separate twist on/off taps - easy to adjust for flow and water heat/cold. There is a separate toilet off the built in robe area.

Great sized bedroom - King bed with 6 pillows of all descriptions on the bed. Brilliant view across to the City.

The service was brilliant in the Exec Lounge - Claire at night, Dolphin in the morning (the Lounge Manager). To me, this is the best Hilton property in Australia. Everything worked - didn't have to ring about anything.

Room Tip: Nice easy 10 minute walk into lower end of CBD
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank QFWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

Absolutely fantastic, These guys are doing something right! Great rooms, great prices (online of course), and the staff were exceptional!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Collywobbles1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,158 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#22 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,595 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,397 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#21 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,824 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#23 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Property: Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf is located in the riverside South Wharf leisure precinct, on the banks of the Yarra River. Overlooking heritage sheds filled with dining and bar options and the Polly Woodside tall ship, the 396 bedroom hotel is a 10 minute walk to Etihad Stadium, the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Entertainment Complex and Southbank. The free City Circle tram stops just across the river from the hotel, taking guests to the historic city centre, renowned Melbourne laneways and major tourist attractions. At the hotel, it is easy to indulge and relax, no matter what the occasion. With floor-to-ceiling windows offering spectacular views from every room, the Relaxation and Yarra Suites offer dramatic ambiance for a romantic getaway. The unique Two-Bedroom Suites are ideal for families or for longer stays. The expansive executive lounge features a riverside outdoor terrace on which to enjoy an aperitif at the end of a day's sightseeing, and complimentary breakfast. The hotel also offers in-room spa and massage services, a spacious complimentary Fitness Centre, upmarket Dock 37 Bar and Kitchen and casual Caffe Cino. The hotel offers guests the expertise of the Hilton brand, and the bold styling, intimate service and stylish boutique touches of an innovative, modern hotel - a perfect city getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing