We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not best option in Melbourne!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pan Pacific Melbourne
Ranked #20 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We stayed at the Hilton South Warf during Australias Tennis open 2012. The hotel is new with huge spaces that are not very comfortable, and a little too dark.....

The rooms are new, but not enough space in the closet barely two drawers...... The bathroom is ok, although the shower has no door......

You cant leave the courtain open since it gets extreamly hot. So if you have nice view, it doesnt matter since you have to keep courtains shot.

Theere is a wine and tapas bar, very little food options. I asked for a burger and it was the worst i have ever had, and very expensive as well... The bread was twise as big as the meat, the meet was samll but too thick. And over cooked, after cutting the bread in half, and the meat as well it was not good!

One night we ordered room service.... Easy: a cesar salad, and a pizza margerita. Again very expensive, and the salad had too much dressing, and the pizza was not good, and cold.... Very dissapointing!

My husband was sick, there is no doctor in the hotel so they recomended a medical center, when we arrived it was closed,they didnt even called before......

Breakfast was included and every morning when we arrived the restaurant capacity is not enough, so we had to sit in the bar, with very uncomfortable tables, and very far from the buffet..... Not a pleasant breakfast..... Since the bar is too dark as well.

The ubication is ok..... A little far from turistic areas. I would not recomend this hotel, Melbourne has many options and I am sure much better than Hilton South Warf.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ferdelape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,682)
There are newer reviews for Pan Pacific Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,048 - 3,054 of 3,682 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2012

Bland hotel with dark depressing foyer entrance did not make for a good start.

Was given a western facing room - the blind had been left up and so on an unseaonably hot summer day in Melbourne 34C+ the room was extremely hot - after 3 hours of the air conditioning on high at the coldest temperature still no change to the room temperature. Strongly recommend that if hot weather is experienced, staff should pull down the blinds and put the air conditioning on before a guest's arrival.

Next problem was with in room dining - meal was delivered promptly but unfortunately missing the beef from the Thai beef salad. Hotel staff resolved this quickly and when the meal arrived it was fine but it should not have taken 2 goes to get it right.

Then tried using the internet, exorbiantly priced so opted for 2 hours only at $9 (why is that other hotels can provide wireless as part of the service?). It took 30 mins of time that I had paid for to connect to the general internet to write this scathing review and 1 hour to connect to my company server!!!

For a hotel that is clearly designed for business and conference visitors (you wouldn't stay here otherwise in terms of location) they need to lift their game.

Room Tip: Avoid a west facing room in summer - air conditioning cannot cope and hotel doesn't think to pul...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Wallaby_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Ive now stayed at this hotel twice and loved it both times. Rooms are new and fresh with great views up the Yarra. The remote block out blinds are great for ensuring a good nights sleep. The executive club has everything you need and the breakfast buffet is second to none. Only downside is distance from the CBD.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dineman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

A friendly welcome on check in which was delat with efficently.

Our room was large and spacious and the bathroom was superb. Extremely comfortable and clean, with super views of the river.

The Executive lounge must be the best of all Hiltons I have stayed in. The breakfast offering and pre-dinner canopes is certainly the best of any other Hilton.

Will be making this hotel our first choice in Melbourne

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Southdown_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed there 2 nights.
location is very good

Hotel is very modern, brand new with spectacular views on the city.
Very good value for money, with an amazing breakfast included in our room prices;

The only weakness is that it's an hotel more suited for business trips.
nevertheless we had an excellent and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: ask for rooms with view
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eric d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed two nights at the Hilton South Wharf to help celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversary. We booked the King Relaxation Suite, with sweeping views up and down the Yarra river, thanks to the room being on the corner of the building with floor to ceiling windows. It was a magnificent view, which only got better at night. The sight of the city buildings all lit up and the Crown Casinos fire display (hourly from 9pm) was truly magical ! I would love to stay here New Years Eve, you would have the best view of the fireworks .
The room was beautiful, very modern, with three seperate areas of loung, bedroom and bathroom. The bathroom was huge, almost as big as the bedroom.Beds are so comfortable and the turn down service adds a nice touch.
One of the unexpected bonuses of the room we booked was we had access to the Executive Lounge. Giving us a full buffet breakfast, unlimited drinks and snacks during the day, coffee and cake from 3pm and Canapes, wine and beer from 6.30pm. All for free !!! Fantastic.
We also had a beautiful three course meal in the Neuvo 37 Restaurant (on site) and management supplied us with a glass each of French Champagne on the house to help celebrate our Anniversary.
The staff are all amazing, nothing is too much trouble. Even on checking out they were so helpful, telling us if we bought something in the DFO next door it would halve our parking ticket fee.
Looking forward to staying here again, I think this is fast becoming my favourite hotel in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosepurplecat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

As a Christmas gift to each we booked this wonderful hotel for 2 nights including NYE. (mind you we only live approx 8 k's from CBD). We were a little nervous about staying there as we regularly pass this hotel on the way to the city and the view from the freeway isn't great but we thought we would give it a go.
We received a very warm welcome by staff, followed by a great time enjoying our experience there. We had relaxing pre-dinner drinks in our room with friends, followed by a beautiful meal at Nuevo 37 Restaurant. We returned to our room to watch the spectacular NYE fireworks from our amazing room 'The Relaxation Suite'.
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf was absolutely fabulous.

Room Tip: Relaxation Suites are located on the corner of each floor looking back at the City with 180 degree v...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelgin05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#32 of 160 in Melbourne
3,880 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,637 reviews
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#80 of 160 in Melbourne
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#13 of 160 in Melbourne
1,110 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#27 of 160 in Melbourne
2,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan Pacific Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Pacific Melbourne

Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £110 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pan Pacific Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pan Pacific Melbourne will feature 396 rooms and suites, with floor to ceiling windows that offer panoramic views of the Yarra River, Port Phillip Bay and city, complete with thoughtfully appointed amenities and modern furnishings. Guests will be able to choose from two dining outlets, an all-day-dining restaurant and bar which offers international cuisine and a nightcap in the evening, or a more relaxed cafe setting for a light meal or quick coffee. Refresh your senses at the end of a long day with our wellness facilities, including a well-equipped 24-hour fitness centre. With over 400 square metres of versatile meeting space and its proximity to the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre, Pan Pacific Melbourne will be an ideal base for both business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Pan Pacific Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing