We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May we have some extra stars for this one please?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Ranked #19 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
324 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“May we have some extra stars for this one please?”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My husband and I stayed 5 nights at this Hilton while I was doing a conference next door in the convention center. We both LOVED the hotel. It is sleek and modern, but with enough warm colors and interesting art and decor to avoid a sterile look. We had a magificent view out floor-to-ceiling windows from the 14th floor of the Yarra River and the whole city. We also received a little surprise gift of wine and nuts from the manager. The bed was wonderfully comfortable, the service extremely prompt-- every employee we met was immediately friendly and helpful-- and the breakfast buffet, simply outstanding. Most of all we loved the Executive Lounge where we enjoyed free coffee, soft drinks, and snacks all day and free wine/ canapes every evening in a beautiful serene setting. Once you've decided to spend the money on a luxe hotel, there's a lot to enjoy at this one especially by spending a bit more to get the Executive room and amenities. So, what's not to love? Two quibbles, both fixable. First, the internet charge was outrageous! $145 for a week or somethig like that. Second, there is a dim-lighting theme throughout the hotel that makes all the wood and red artwork glow, but in my opinion this should not be carried over to the guest rooms... there was adequate spot-lighting for the desk and reading in bed, but we were dying for a torchiere stuck in a corner to throw a little soft light into the room. All in all though, we'd return in a heartbeat, and hope we can.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor facing the city. Get an Executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with other travelers.

I appreciate your comments and was delighted to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us.

Regarding your comment about the internet, we are currently working on the pricing and other options in the hotel. We will be addressing this soon.

Once again, thank you so much for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,161
    1,060
    255
    86
    37
See reviews for
467
1,295
205
1,236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (859)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

Location was not ideal for the average tourist but overall hotel was fantastic and staff were incredibly helpful

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mskt423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

I last stayed at the Hilton South Wharf in January 2012. The rooms are large and modern with a nice big bath to soak in and the beds are comfy! The black out blinds are fantastic you can completly block out outside light - this would be good for recovering from jet lag. The breakfast buffet is good with a wide variety of food. Valet service is also quite efficient we have never had to wait long to get out vehicle. Only downside of this hotel is the lack of facilities, it could have benefited from a pool. I find this hotel is getting quite expensive these days this being the reason I haven't stayed since January you really need to look for specials to get value for your money. Hotels such as the Langham have better facilities/services and locatin and the rates are generally cheaper. In saying that if the price was right I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank need2travel_1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We have stayed at all of the top hotels in the Melbourne CBD and thought we would stay a little further from the middle of the city because we had heard about the good new restaurants and DFO shops in South Wharf. We are delighted that we have now as we now don't need to make a hotel choice any more when we travel (frequently) to Melbourne. Put simply this IS THE BEST HOTEL IN MELBOURNE.

The hotel gets big ticks from us in all the important categories: very comfortable bed; pillow menu; friendly and precise staff (from check in through to check out); large rooms - we were upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite); well appointed and large bathrooms; quality amenities (Peter Thomas Roth); blackout curtains/blinds; expansive room service menu; quality buffet breakfast.

On balance the cons were pet hates: $45 for valet parking is expensive for Melbourne; and WiFi not being complimentary is (as we have said before) like charging for air conditioning.

We will definitely stay here again and warmly recommend. One final word - we cannot work out the reason for Hilton under-investing in its website....it doesn't do the hotel justice.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WheresDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
292 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

This is an expensive hotel with spacious rooms and good service. I was attending a conference so this was the best place to stay as there is a walkway from the first floor to the convention centre. It is also close to the river walk and in a pleasant area.The staff were very helpful and friendly and the breakfasts good. However, for a hotel of this size and cost, I was disappointed that there was no swimming pool and not pleased with the costs for the internet. One can get free access from the conference centre but if you want access from your room, the charge is over the top. If I come to Melbourne again I would find a hotel with a pool and free internet access.

Room Tip: I was happy with my room but colleagues on the executive club floor were even happier
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Level Contributor
69 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We stayed at the Hilton South wharf for our wedding anniversary and were not disappointed. Its new, plush and super comfy. We had great views out to southbank and beyond from our room - worth asking for a room on this side (presumably rooms on the other side look out to freeways). Lovely bathroom with bath and rain shower. Great breakfast buffet included in the room price. Room was big - we were able to put our 3 month old daughter to sleep in a cot in the corner and still watch a movie without disturbing her! Perfect.

Staff were mostly helpful - the concierge was really great. Check in took a while however. Hotel was a little difficult to drive to as it is tucked away and not easy to find if you dont know that part of the city well. But we would stay there again - it was lovely.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malolava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
149 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

This hotel was excellent for my purposes. I was attending a meeting at the Melbourne Exhibition Center, and stayed here 6 nights. Major positives were: 1. Fantastic bathroom with separate shower, tub and toilet room; 2. Comfy bed; 3. Room clean; 4. Secure --key access to required on elevator; 5. In room French Press coffee-maker (!); 6. near trendy night-life and restaurants. Negatives: Just a tad pricey. Small gym that is free to hotel guests, but it is a bit limited and tended to be crowded.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlabamaAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 159 in Melbourne
5,415 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 159 in Melbourne
2,261 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#24 of 159 in Melbourne
3,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4,125 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 159 in Melbourne
7,732 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#25 of 159 in Melbourne
2,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Property: Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf is located in the riverside South Wharf leisure precinct, on the banks of the Yarra River. Overlooking heritage sheds filled with dining and bar options and the Polly Woodside tall ship, the 396 bedroom hotel is a 10 minute walk to Etihad Stadium, the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Entertainment Complex and Southbank. The free City Circle tram stops just across the river from the hotel, taking guests to the historic city centre, renowned Melbourne laneways and major tourist attractions. At the hotel, it is easy to indulge and relax, no matter what the occasion. With floor-to-ceiling windows offering spectacular views from every room, the Relaxation and Yarra Suites offer dramatic ambiance for a romantic getaway. The unique Two-Bedroom Suites are ideal for families or for longer stays. The expansive executive lounge features a riverside outdoor terrace on which to enjoy an aperitif at the end of a day's sightseeing, and complimentary breakfast. The hotel also offers in-room spa and massage services, a spacious complimentary Fitness Centre, upmarket Dock 37 Bar and Kitchen and casual Caffe Cino. The hotel offers guests the expertise of the Hilton brand, and the bold styling, intimate service and stylish boutique touches of an innovative, modern hotel - a perfect city getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing