We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Ranked #20 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
dalston
Level Contributor
99 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

One night stay in Executive King City View Room.

Hotel in nice quiet area within easy walking distance of City.

Large, clean, modern room.

Executive lounge & food served in it was excellent.

All the staff very helpful

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank havenexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Reviewer,

I was delighted to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction. Hope to see you return soon....safe travels.

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,135
    1,055
    252
    83
    37
See reviews for
459
1,283
204
1,222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (854)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
147 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We spent a few nights here during a conference. I upgraded to a yarra suite so that we could do some entertaining conference speakers in our suite. We also had access to the executive lounge. The entire experience was excellent. The suits was larger than I anticipated and nicely divided into living and sleeping. Huge bathroom with separate toilet, walk in robe, lounge area with magnificent views over the Yarra. Strangely we thought the TV was a bit small in the lounge and seemed to have the volume limited a bit too much.

The exec lounge was excellent in terms of service, drinks, breakfast and canapés

PS no pool :(

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turtonfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Reviewer,

I was delighted to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction. Hope to see you return soon....safe travels.

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hilton South Warf when we were there for Victoria Derby Day just recently. The decor is uber modern and a bit dark, but you can imagine that it would be very cosy in the winter. The room we had was everything you would expect from a Hilton hotel. Cushiony, crisp, white linen on the beds, top quality coffee on the mini bar, fluffy white robes, and a very modern and generously spaced bathroom. What blew us away was that after a big night out, we were able to have the blinds completely block out the sunlight to ensure that we got a great sleep in. Perfect. The buffet breakfast was also very good with guests being able to make their own fresh juices if they wish. Staff were dressed immaculately and provided excellent service. If you can get it on a good deal, this hotel is well worth it if you are wanting to stay out of the immediate CBD of Melbourne.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helena r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and my team looked after you well. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf soon.

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This hotel is in a fantastic location. Close walking distance to great shopping and restaurants.
The hotel is very modern and clean and staff are always friendly.
I always stay here when I travel to Melbourne for business trips and would highly recommend it.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and my team looked after you well. Thank you ever so much for all your support and loyalty.

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, AUS
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Hilton South Wharf with family in a 2 Bedroom Apartment Cityview. Room very good with amazing views, however some customer service let the stay down. On arrival the apartment was not ready and left phone number for the hotel to call us, they never did and around 4pm decided to head back to hotel to see what's going on, they told us yes it's ready but I asked the front office staff why didn't they call us then as we had a 4 month old baby with us.

We ordered a Eforea in room spa bath run with candles etc, when we got back to room just after 8.30pm as we booked it for 8.30pm as a surprise we found empty bath with a plate of bath salts next to bath. We called Front desk and they told us they run out of candles.......?? and asked why they didn't run the bath, because no-one was in room they left it, but that was the point, it was a surprise for someone.

Other than that the Executive lounge was great as per normal. Great views, food & drink etc. Think with the price of the 2 Bedroom Apartment well over $500 Lounge access should be inclusive like the suites.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank TimMelbourne_AUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I sincerely apologise for the disappointment and the inconvenience you experienced during your stay.
At Hilton we aim to look after all our guests on a personal note and when this is not achieve we always want to follow up on what went wrong and where and how can we avoid a repeat. Please contact me directly to discuss this in detail.

We are always looking for constructive feedback to improve our product and services.

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Your usual well appointed Hilton. It's a very corporate style property. Breakfast is good. The shopping centre / outlet is right next door so good to pick up some presents. Some nice restaurants riverside too.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ben O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and my team looked after you well. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf soon.

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
144 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We spent 9 glorious nights at this hotel. I say glorious because I have never slept as well as I did at this hotel. I have a problem with my back, so normally I do not sleep well. This bed was so comfortable, I asked the hotel where they buy their beds and they told me it was a local bedmaker. I contacted them to purchase the same bed. Unfortunately, they do not ship to the United States. I was heartbroken.

Getting back to the hotel, we were upgraded to this quiet, corner, spacious suite at the end of the hallway with a view of the Yarra River. The living area was huge, as was the bathroom.

We used the Executive Lounge, which is also large, for most breakfasts and evening receptions. Most of the time, but not always, an egg dish was served. In the Lounge, just like the restaurant, there were fruits and vegetables to make your own juice. There was also a gluten-free bread tray with its own toaster located across the serving area to not be close to the gluten products. The service in the Lounge was impeccable.

We did eat a couple breakfasts in the hotel restaurant, which is all buffet style. The selections were innumerable and included omelets to order. The restaurant also had a juice station and a gluten-free area separate from the regular breads, pastries, and toaster.

The only negative experience was in the afternoon. We stopped in to have a light bite to eat. A server told us to sit anywhere. He then asked what we wanted. I said I didn't know and asked for a menu, which he promptly brought. We waited almost 15 minutes and he never returned. We never saw another server, so decided to leave. As we left, a young lady thanked us for coming in. We had to laugh, as we never ate or drank anything. We just sat and waited. I did contact the F&B manager, who was extremely apologetic and asked what he could do to make up for this negative experience.

One other thing about this beautiful hotel. It is connected to the Convention Center and next to the outlet mall. It is convenient to all the restaurants, bars, and shops along the Yarra River.

We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetravelczarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and rest well.

I sincerely apologise for the disappointed and the inconvenience at our Restaurant\Bar. I can assure you that this has been addressed with the Team Member involved.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf soon.

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,340 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,218 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#25 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,040 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,536 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#24 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Property: Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf is located in the riverside South Wharf leisure precinct, on the banks of the Yarra River. Overlooking heritage sheds filled with dining and bar options and the Polly Woodside tall ship, the 396 bedroom hotel is a 10 minute walk to Etihad Stadium, the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Entertainment Complex and Southbank. The free City Circle tram stops just across the river from the hotel, taking guests to the historic city centre, renowned Melbourne laneways and major tourist attractions. At the hotel, it is easy to indulge and relax, no matter what the occasion. With floor-to-ceiling windows offering spectacular views from every room, the Relaxation and Yarra Suites offer dramatic ambiance for a romantic getaway. The unique Two-Bedroom Suites are ideal for families or for longer stays. The expansive executive lounge features a riverside outdoor terrace on which to enjoy an aperitif at the end of a day's sightseeing, and complimentary breakfast. The hotel also offers in-room spa and massage services, a spacious complimentary Fitness Centre, upmarket Dock 37 Bar and Kitchen and casual Caffe Cino. The hotel offers guests the expertise of the Hilton brand, and the bold styling, intimate service and stylish boutique touches of an innovative, modern hotel - a perfect city getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing