We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location, quiet, great Exec Lounge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Ranked #19 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
“Convenient Location, quiet, great Exec Lounge”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed with my wife and daughter for 3 nights. Although the hotel is not right in the CBD, it doesn't take long to get anywhere - cabs are easy to get and it's less than 5 mins walk to the free city circle tram. Plus you've got the DFO centre on the same block, there's a convenience store near the front door, and cafe's and restaurants nearby too. The Executive lounge is exceptional with awesome views of the river and city, plus a great selection of food and drinks. Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Glen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, which I greatly appreciate.

I was delighted to read your comments and we all look forward to serving you again at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf in the not too distant future.

Sincerely
Brett Christ
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,162
    1,060
    255
    86
    37
See reviews for
467
1,296
205
1,236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (860)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 years ago and again in 2013, this time with the kids in a family room. We had a wonderful two nights, so centrally located, and the staff were great with the little ones come breakfast time. The view at night down the Yarra, is spectacular...

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your review about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf.

Great to see that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your return in the not too distant future.

Sincerely
Brett Christ
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
145 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This was my first time at the Hilton South Wharf. What I liked and was impressed:
* Fantastic views (of South Bank and part of city - facing south-east).
* Convenient location next to Convention Centre.
* Room had a clean, modern touch. Sufficient wardrobe space. Even had a bathtub and separate shower (getting to be rare in Australian hotels).
* Breakfast spread was wide and rather extensive. You can even do your own juice - self service.

What I did not like:
* Room should have more lighting - felt somewhat dark once the blind was drawn down.
* On top of your breakfast bill, if you want a cup of latte, cappuccino, etc, you have to fork out an extra $4! This is truly the most ridiculous affair at this hotel. And the latte was not that great. (For this alone, I cannot accord a 5th star to this hotel - seems somewhat cheapskate for a 5-star hotel).
* I thought the number of service staff at breakfast was bit short. On my first day, I saw guests trying desperately to catch the attention of serving staff for a refill of coffee and many just gave up and want to get their own top-up. On my second day, true enough, I could not get my latte served despite mentioning this TWICE to 2 serving staff. I gave up eventually.
* The servers and cooks at breakfast seem not too friendly at all. No cooks or chef was present at the egg station so you have to patiently wait for one to turn up, call for one, or just give up. I noticed most guests just gave up.

Room Tip: I'm not sure if every room has a city or harbour view, but if you love views, make sure to insis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duke_Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Many thanks for your review about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our convenient location and the features of your guestroom.
I have also noted your comments for our improvement, particularly in relation to the standard of service you received during your Breakfast experience, and we sincerely regret any inconvenience caused on this occasion. Rest assured I have shared this information with the Department Manager concerned and we greatly appreciate your feedback and observations, which help us monitor if we are meeting our valued guests' needs and expectations.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to serve you again at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf in the not too distant future.

Sincerely
Brett Christ
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

For me, Hilton has become synonym for old, worne down, under-invested hotels. Fortunately, the Melbourne version was an exception to this rule. Located in the South Wharf business-district, this hotel was attractively and modernly designed and was truly a pleasant place to stay the night. For unclear reasons, one of the 2 hotel restaurants was closed, and there wasn't a lot of life in the hotel bar itself (too large in set-up I guess). But this was compensated by the surrounded area which had a lot of nice bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your review about your stay last year.

Naturally, I was delighted to read your feedback; however, we sincerely regret that the restaurant was closed during your stay - We do host private functions within the restaurant on occasion, although continue to serve food within the Bar area as an alternative. However, I'm pleased to see you enjoyed our location and the surrounding restaurants.

We all look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf in the not too distant future.

Sincerely
Brett Christ
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Let me say from the outset that the beds in this hotel are the BEST that I have ever slept in. As a business traveller I don't normally sleep very well when away from home but I slept like a baby while staying here.

The staff are very polite and friendly and do go that extra distance to meet your needs. A+

I can highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting Melbourne, you won't regret the decision!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rocket_3805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Trip Advisor.

At Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, we understand that comfort is key to ensuring a restful night's sleep and I'm delighted you were pleased with your experience, as well as our friendly service.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to serve you again int he near future.

Sincerely
Brett Christ
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Great location, friendly staff and excellent food.
Stayed on the 19th floor, fabulous views of the city and the Yarra River.
Comfortable size living and sleeping areas.
Lot's of places to visit within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Many thanks for your comments about your stay at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf.

It was wonderful to read that you have enjoyed our services, facilities and location; and we all look forward to having the privilege of welcoming you back to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf in the not too distant future.

Sincerely
Brett Christ
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Booked and stayed in the Hilton Melbourne South Wharf while at an event at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre (MCEC), and I couldn't have asked for a more convenient location.
Stayed three nights and was impressed. My room was of a good size for a standard room, bed was comfortable and amenities were of a high standard.
All in all a very good location to rest up for a bit after days spent on an exhibition stand!
The hotel also had good restaurants and bars nearby.
Only minor gripes were the TV remote which was very clunky to use (old batteries?) and the business centre which, with only 3 computers/screens, was full when I tried to use it one time.
Recommended.

Room Tip: Night time views over the Melbourne CBD are worth paying that little bit extra for, otherwise its a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review.

It was our pleasure to host you and thank you for your helpful feedback, which I have taken on board - We sincerely regret any inconvenience caused as a result of the TV remote and the Business Centre being occupied during your stay.

However, I hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the not too distant future, at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf.

Sincerely
Brett Christ
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 159 in Melbourne
5,416 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 159 in Melbourne
2,263 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#24 of 159 in Melbourne
3,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4,127 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 159 in Melbourne
7,743 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#25 of 159 in Melbourne
2,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Property: Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf is located in the riverside South Wharf leisure precinct, on the banks of the Yarra River. Overlooking heritage sheds filled with dining and bar options and the Polly Woodside tall ship, the 396 bedroom hotel is a 10 minute walk to Etihad Stadium, the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Entertainment Complex and Southbank. The free City Circle tram stops just across the river from the hotel, taking guests to the historic city centre, renowned Melbourne laneways and major tourist attractions. At the hotel, it is easy to indulge and relax, no matter what the occasion. With floor-to-ceiling windows offering spectacular views from every room, the Relaxation and Yarra Suites offer dramatic ambiance for a romantic getaway. The unique Two-Bedroom Suites are ideal for families or for longer stays. The expansive executive lounge features a riverside outdoor terrace on which to enjoy an aperitif at the end of a day's sightseeing, and complimentary breakfast. The hotel also offers in-room spa and massage services, a spacious complimentary Fitness Centre, upmarket Dock 37 Bar and Kitchen and casual Caffe Cino. The hotel offers guests the expertise of the Hilton brand, and the bold styling, intimate service and stylish boutique touches of an innovative, modern hotel - a perfect city getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing