We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot to stay, still close enough to the action”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pan Pacific Melbourne
Ranked #21 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My Wife had stayed here a few times for conferences seeing that it is right beside the conference centre and after hearing about how comfy the beds were we thought we would use it as our base for a little family getaway. We stayed up high in one of the 2 bedroom rooms and the beds were as good as promised. The staff were all great, very friendly and accommodating. As part of our stay we had a roast meal included and this was very nice and the breakfast was sensational. Highly recommend it.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Liam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Pan Pacific Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review with us on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf and was particularly pleased to see that enjoyed the Family Package you booked, which included the Roast Dinner during your stay - We apprecaite your feedback.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel at some stage in the near future.

Sincerely
Brett Christ
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,735)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,978 - 1,984 of 3,735 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

To celebrate my birthday we chose to stay at the Hilton South Wharf for a night. Rates were reasonably expensive via the hotels website but being Daimond Hilton members we were upgraded to a deluxe room making the $300 slightly better value.

Check in was very friendly and as our room wasn't ready, we were offered free drink vouchers to use in the bar and given access to the executive lounge.

The room itself was well equipped, with separate shower and bath, all the usual conveniences plus some more such as bath robes. With floor to ceiling windows offering amazing views over the city.

The Executive lounge is well worth having access to, being located on the 4th floor, it is open for breakfast, then serves coffee/biscuits throughout the day. 3pm to 5pm they serve cakes, and from 5pm onwards a nice selection of canapés and beer/wine. Diamond members receive a free breakfast, either continental in the lounge or full buffet in the restaurant, which we chose.

Location is right above a DFO outlet mall, around 5 minutes walk to the casino and perhaps 10 to the city which is across the river.

This is a great hotel, with a handy location and surrounded by a good choice of shops and restaurants. For those that do not need to be right in the middle of the CBD, I highly recommend the new South Wharf area as a great option.

Room Tip: City views are spectacular, and worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dasberliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Pan Pacific Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your loyalty to the Hilton Brand as valued HHonors Diamond Members and I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed our service and facilities, during your special Birthday stay with us.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf in the not too distant future for another great experience.

Sincerely
Brett Christ
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Loved staying here!
Location is great! So many awesome places to eat as well as shop at the DFO south wharf and only a stone throw away from CROWN CASINO!
Great value for money! The rooms were big and very clean
Would def stay again / great for families and friends!

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Pan Pacific Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor about your stay with us.

I appreciate your wonderful feedback and was thrilled to read that you enjoyed your experience at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf. We all look forward to your return.

Sincerely
Brett Christ
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and found our overall experience disappointing. Check in was slow and not friendly, the toilet in the room leaked from the base, TV picture was too large for the TV screen (they need to update to wider screens) and check out was vague and calculated. We paid for a particular package via Hilton's own website and yet none if staff knew what I was talking about other than the on site duty manager. As I write this I am still waiting for an email explaining how the free magazine subscription works. The good elements of the stay was the bed was comfy and the service at the restaurant was quick and friendly. Overall I found front desk staff to be dismissive, ill informed and not overly friendly. I was really looking forward to experiencing Melbourne Hilton as a Hilton Honors member and being from Melbourne but I was very disappointed and will not stay here again. This Hilton does not rate against others I have stayed in around the world.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Leeroy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Pan Pacific Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us following your recent stay at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf.

I was very sorry to read about your disappointing experience on this occasion and I would truly appreciate it if you could contact us directly at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, in order for us to investigate this matter personally with you and obtain further details about your reservation.

Again, I appreciate your time and I hope we will hear from you soon.

Sincerely
Brett Christ
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

I stay here quite a lot with work & always look forward to getting into bed here. The rooms are dark & quiet, sufficient space for luggage/ironing board etc. I also love the water pressure in the (large) shower not to mention the bath after a long day.

Buffet breakfast is expensive (and you have to pay for coffee - which is outrageous!) however that being said there's lots to choose from.

The bar downstairs is a great place to meet friends and has a good tapas selection.

Internet is typically expensive which is a shame.

If you love shopping don't forget to check out DFO which is right next door. There's also lots of bars & restaurants close by, head towards the river.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank chiefytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Pan Pacific Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for posting your review about your recent stay at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf.

I appreciate your feedback and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Brett Christ
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

corner suite very nice fantastic views up the Yarra river both directions.
Bath with giant window overlooking the freeway and the Bay in a Giant bathroom and walk in shower.
bed very comfortable.
The private lounge/ breakfast was excellent.

few odd things, coffee machine but you need milk which was not there!! and the light switch for the coffee making area was not easy to use. the lounge and dining area furniture could have been a bit more salubrious but all functional and comfortable.

Again I say what is it that you have to pay in the better hotels for internet? I brought my own.

would i stay again?

yes

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antinmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Pan Pacific Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf.

I greatly appreciate your feedback and your views about your experience with us, which helps us monitor whether we are meeting our guests' needs and expectations and highlights where improvements can be made.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf at some stage in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Brett Christ
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Great location across the river from downtown Melbourne. Room was quite nice. Staff quite friendly. Only thing that could have made the visit was a better view. Half of hotel faces the river and city. The other half faces a six to eight lane highway interchange. You can hear the traffic all day and all night. Not what one would want when visiting. So insist on the river view.

Room Tip: ask for, no insist, on the river view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank reviewer613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Pan Pacific Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Trip Advisor about your recent stay.

I was pleased to see that you enjoyed our services and facilities; however we sincerely regret that you were disappointed with the bay-facing view on this occasion.

However, I do hope you will return to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf in future and again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Brett Christ
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
5,772 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#33 of 161 in Melbourne
3,957 reviews
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#82 of 161 in Melbourne
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 161 in Melbourne
2,015 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#30 of 161 in Melbourne
8,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan Pacific Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Pacific Melbourne

Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £72 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pan Pacific Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pan Pacific Melbourne will feature 396 rooms and suites, with floor to ceiling windows that offer panoramic views of the Yarra River, Port Phillip Bay and city, complete with thoughtfully appointed amenities and modern furnishings. Guests will be able to choose from two dining outlets, an all-day-dining restaurant and bar which offers international cuisine and a nightcap in the evening, or a more relaxed cafe setting for a light meal or quick coffee. Refresh your senses at the end of a long day with our wellness facilities, including a well-equipped 24-hour fitness centre. With over 400 square metres of versatile meeting space and its proximity to the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre, Pan Pacific Melbourne will be an ideal base for both business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Pan Pacific Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing