We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldnt meet a nicer front desk staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Punthill South Yarra Grand
Ranked #86 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2012

WE had a great time here , my wife and our two kids and I couldnt have been happier . We stayed in three places while on a holiday to Melbourne and looking back this was the best stay.

The apartment was clean and tidy , not overly huge but enough for what we wanted.
But the outstanding feature here was the front desk staff. Two guys who couldnt do enough for you , nothing was a haslle and always so very friendly. They even printed out travel maps for us to get to Mt.Buller without even being asked. My sisters family stayed there as well and they enjoyed it as much as we did.

5 Stars to a wonderful team.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeiranS, Public Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear Andrew S

We couldn't ask for better feedback - thank you so much and we are thrilled to hear your stay was so enjoyable.

Customer service is something we take very seriously as we know it leaves lasting impressions.

We hope to see you again when you are next in Melbourne.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

278 - 284 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed for a week at the South Yarra Grand and had a great time. Excellent location- 7/11 on the corner of Yarra st and the train station at South Yarra next door to that. Would recommend that you ask about the size of the apartment and the beds as we had our 14 year old son travelling with us and the bed was a pretty tight fit- a very narrow single for a nearly 6ft boy. The living area had a great view of the city but again a bit small. We were glad we did not have our 16 year old as they would not have fitted in the one bedroom- would recommend 3 bedroom in this case. Excellent fitout to the apartment and excellent service at the front desk. I would also recommend asking for an apartment on the other side to the train station as the noise wafts up and if you are a light sleeper this can be annoying.Lovely foyer with a very warm fire. Excellent servicing of the room.

Room Tip: Ask about the size of the beds if you are traveling with tall children; ask for an apartment on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandraJ64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeiranS, Public Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear SandraJ64

We are sorry that your son wasn't comfortable in a single bed. Given his height it's possible that our comfortable fold out double sofa bed may have suited him better, although if you are looking for a 3 bedroom apartment on your next trip to Melbourne I'm pleased to say that we do offer this room type at Punthill Manhattan - 67 Flinders Lane.

Thanks for your comments about excellent customer service. Your feedback will certainly be passed on to management.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We were in a one bed apartment and loved everything about our stay. The location is great for the South Yarra area, the property modern and clean and the apartment although not overly big contained everything required for a short or long term stay. The front desk staff were very friendly and approachable and nothing was a problem and requests were dealt with promptly and proffessionaly. We were facing the train station and this was absolutely not an issue for us, in fact we found the apartment very quiet compared to staying in a CBD location where you have city noise such as trams, sirens etc as I have experienced in some other hotels. The apartment was spotless and eveything was in working order and there is a fabulous view from the balcony on city side rooms. Washing machine and dryer are provided plus dishwasher, fridge, oven and stove. The bed was very comfortable, bathroom was supplied with ample quality towels. We thought the updated 3 day weather forecast written in the elevator was a nice touch, as were the lollipops next to the bed and of course the little friend on the balcony...you'll find him. A lot of thought has gone into making sure the guest is at home here and we didn't have any issue here, very refreshing. We will definately stay here on our return visits to Melbourne. I do stay regularly at another good CBD hotel due to a corporate contract but for pleasure this will now continue to be my choice of accommodation. Excellent value.

Note..there are 2 Punthill properties in South Yarra, the other came up when I was searching on Trip Advisor for this one, so ensure you select the correct property. This one on Yarra Street is the newer of the two.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the train station, wasn't a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeiranS, Public Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear andyoz

Thanks for the great review about your recent stay at Punthill South Yarra Grand.

Please know you can always contact the Punthill Sales department on sales@punthill.com.au if you would like to discuss a corporate rate for your business travel - we are specialists in this area too!

Hope to see you again soon....

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

The hotel is confortable and clean. But I put a poor score because in case of any problem, just forget the Manager ! Irrespect and arrogance. The client feel humiliated ! It happened to me and I do not want to experience that again. Though I travel a lot and stay in hotels all over the world, I've never been treated that sort by the direction of the hotel.

There is many more options with more respectable people in Melbourne !

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank omab5400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 July 2012

Dear Omab4400

Please contact us directly so that we can have the benefit of knowing where we went wrong.

It would be helpful if you could advise us exactly what the problem was so that we can address the issue.

We do try extremely hard to give outstanding customer service and are surprised and upset by these comments.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Traveling for business, I found the studio apartment I stayed in on the top floor extremely satisfactory.
It did face the train tracks but being cold and wet in Melbourne I had no need to open the ranchslider and didn't find the train noise to be bothersome. Nice to have your own wee balcony should you need it though. Great location, popped just up the road to grab a few things from an IGA for an easy dinner prepared in the cute, compact kitchen space - had everything I needed. Great task lighting (bathroom, kitchen for working on laptop) and very comfortable bed with pillows just how I like them. The best quality ironing board and nicest, cleanest iron I have used in a hotel anywhere.

I could hear wind whistling thru the room from the corridor but that easy fixed by putting a towel against the gap at the bottom of the front door. Actually, it would be nice if hotel rooms came with draft-stopper snake things for that very purpose. The heavy doors made quite a thunk (which can disturb, especially early morning/late at night) when you and other guests come and go from the apartments, not something unique to this place though.

Lovely front desk staff, smiling and very helpful. Quick, silent lifts too. Lovely decor, modern but not sterile. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaundryQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

The South Yarra area of Melbourne is such a great spot. Lots of cafes and shops, train and tram are so close. If you don't need to be in the CBD, this is the place. The hotel, being part of the PuntHill group, is typical of the others we have stayed - Modern,clean, well appointed and friendly desk staff.. The only catch is the train station platform is right over the road, so if you get a room facing west, which have a beaut view, be prepared to keep the balcony door ( the only source of fresh air in the room ) closed if noise is a bother. Either that, or ask for a room away from the station. Also, had to ask for the tea, washing powder or soap to be replenished a few times. Overall, just fine for a few days break !

Room Tip: The floors start at level 8, so ask for a higher room. On rooms facing west, be wary of the train no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrisbaneSwanny_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Always love staying in an around South Yarra and now the South Yarra Grand lets you do it in a new building with great rooms right in the heart of Toorak Rd and Chapel Street precinct. I chose a one bedroom apartment as normally here for a week and they are spacious with full kitchen and laundry and a large balcony overlooking South Yarra. My only issue in summer is the aircon unit is in the lounge area so you really need to crank it up to get the bedroom cooled down. Some nice little coffee shops have sprung up around it for breakfast - the one immediately next door takes room charges and is quite funky with excellent coffee. They offer really good specials which can see you in a one bedder for less than $150 - a bargain for a new property.

Room Tip: A higher floor at the back of the hotel will be quieter as train runs past the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StuckinBangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Quest on Chapel
Quest on Chapel
#55 of 162 in Melbourne
433 reviews
Chapel Street
Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#30 of 162 in Melbourne
200 reviews
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#24 of 162 in Melbourne
1,729 reviews
Mantra St Kilda Road
#67 of 162 in Melbourne
1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill South Yarra Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill South Yarra Grand

Address: 7 Yarra St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#44 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#76 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £70 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill South Yarra Grand 4.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the new business and restaurant precinct of South Yarra and with views of Melbourne and Port Phillip Bay, Punthill South Yarra Grand offers spacious, modern, sophisticated and stylish apartment hotel accommodation in Melbourne that rivals no other. The eclectic, lush and stylish décor of our Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom serviced apartments reflects the vibrant, modern atmosphere of the South Yarra area and set a new standard in apartment hotel accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Punthill South Yarra Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill South Yarra Grand Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing