We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff rock! Great lil apartments! Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Punthill South Yarra Grand
Ranked #81 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We have stayed here a couple of times and will continue to go here every time we are in the Melbourne area! Adrian and Paul were the most amazing and welcoming staff we have encountered in melbourn. They went university and beyond to make us feel at home and help out with anything we needed. We have stayed in Melbourne a lot and had not received such excellent service anywhere else! We have already pre booked our next couple of stays. It's in great location walking distance to chapel st shops, Prahran market and transport as well as a very short cab drive to anywhere in the city. The apartments are cute and very nicely decorated. There are king beds in the one bedroom apartments and they put lollipops on the bedsides to welcome you. The apartments are smallish but are totally made up for by the larger than life personalities of Adrain and Paul! Stay here! You'll love it!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iDeeAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

280 - 286 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2012

Four of us went to Melbourne for the first time. We rented two 1 bedroom apartments in Punthill South Yarra Grand and we were absolutely delighted with them. Right in the middle of town, beautifully & cleverly designed with absolutely EVERYTHING you need in them: down to washer & dryer, 2 TVs, micro wave, plates and even with a veranda with artificial grass and a metal dog! There were restaurants right round the corners for breakfast/lunch/dinner. Also a train station across the road: that got us a bit worried about noise but the rooms are at the back and we had no noise disturbance at all. They also have a garage for parking of cars FOC. The staff were also very helpful. Just PERFECT!! Will highly recommend to anyone

Room Tip: we were very happy with our rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank franschhoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Everything from the location and reception staff to the apartment itself were great. Restuarants and shops are easy to hand and the train station & tram are right outside the front door.
We had a two bedroom apartment on the 9th floor and requested a cot for our baby (only complaint is that the bedroom were to small to fit the cot in) the little one was in the living room rather than our room but no different to being in their own room at home.
we will definately use again and recommend to anyone looking for something better than just a hotel room in Melbourne

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 11Ady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

I stayed in a studio room on the top floor. It was a very large studio. King size bed. Dishwasher, oven, cooktop and microwave. Washing machine and dryer. Although my room faced the train line, and I could hear trains go past, I'm not hyper sensitive to sound like some people on here. The location is great, just 50m from Toorak Rd, right at South Yarra train station. I'll definitely stay here again if the price is right.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickster99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We chose this one because of the overall high rating reviews, but soon found that it wasn't for us.
Bear in mind that the 3 of us, all family, are in our 60's, so may see things differently to others a bit younger.
The first impression was good-a modern, bright room with a glass wall and a view.
Then we moved on and our spirits sank. The main bedroom was small but OK, though only a small wardrobe and no suitcase storage.
The en-suite was very disappointing, with only a flat, vertical cupboard for toiletries, 2 door hooks, no towel rail,and no towel shelf-really, just nowhere to put anything. You had to drape things over the toilet!
The large light in front of the mirror wasn't working, but they soon fixed the faulty wiring.

The second bedroom had 2 singles in it, making accessibility very tricky, as the room was small.
We weren't expecting the en-suite to be a toilet with a hand-basin and shower, but that's what it was.
No cupboard or shelf space for anything. Shower curtain as well.

Now we all know that women, generally, carry a quite large range of cosmetics, toiletries, hair care items and so on. I know my wife does. So these 2 bathroom posed a big problem.

None of the rooms had anywhere for suitcases, so we ended up putting them under and by the TV.

Due to lack of storage, we couldn't unpack fully so lived out of cases to some extent.

There was no compendium, just a small computer screen. I wanted to ring reception to report a couple of minor lighting problems, but couldn't find the number to ring after looking through the screen choices. I had to go down in the lift and ask the staff. They said it's available on the computer device, so I said show me where. Eventually it was found under hotel facilities, the last entry, but it was not under important phone numbers where you'd think it might be. Very odd and not user friendly.

The 2 women on the group wanted to walk out then. We talked about it and decided to stay one night, as we were tired from travelling, and see what options we had the next day.
But we were so annoyed with the apartment that we decided to go and see what we could do.
We explained that the rooms were just too small, and were told that they were the largest available.
So we asked for an alternative site as we didn't want to ruin our annual holiday with such unsatisfactory accommodation. He rang around but everything within Melbourne was booked because of the football.

We stayed 3 nights and on the next day did a walking tour of the CBD lane ways. This took us past Punthill Flinders Lane, and I suggested that we check it out for future use. We explained our situation and the staff there said that they had a 2 bed apartment just become vacant. We asked to have a look and once we saw how much better it was we asked if we could relocate.
This they were eventually able to do so we rushed back, packed quickly, and moved over.
This place felt right.

Other problems with the South Yarra Grand: bedside light set too low and non-adjustable for reading; new computer information system unpleasant to use, frequently froze, had very little info that was any use to us, and was not explained when we arrived; cleanliness was OK though we did find a couple of minor areas that needed a wipe; bedrooms not heated or cooled; kitchen space extremely restricted; no pantry; weather details on screen didn't match those provided in the lift or in the media; storage overall very poor; outdoor setting grubby-though we didn't use it.

Staff were polite and helpful, though the new computer system and how to contact reception should have been explained on arrival, and we would have appreciated the local map that we only received on the second day by chance. We don't want to sit down and learn a new computer system after a full days travel, either.

I realise that a lot of reviewers like this place, and good luck to them. From our perspective, we hated it.

Room Tip: if you like a bit of space to put things, be very careful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri77terri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Our family flew over for a family function, we had in total 4 apartments.
One was for our daughter and new baby, Adrian at reception was the highlight of our stay.
He made us feel so welcome and was marvelous with our daughter and granddaughter.
His suggestions of food outlets and restaurants was spot on. All the reception staff were fantastic and Punt Hill management should be extremely proud of them especially Adrian.
We stayed in the 1 bedroom apartments and 1 studio room, I was surprised at how big the studion room was.
This is a fantastic location, great shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I stayed with my daughter in a Studio for two nights recently and found it a great place to stay. The guys on reception are switched on, friendly and have local knowledge on cafes & shopping. Our studio was on the 7th floor facing away from the train station which meant we had a good nights sleep. The location is very good and minutes walk to the train station or the tram. Saturday and Sunday have all day travel for around $3.50 so you can get around the city. Thanks for posting my daughter's skirt back as left in the room. Loved our stay in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canberra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Quest on Chapel
Quest on Chapel
#57 of 161 in Melbourne
465 reviews
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#30 of 161 in Melbourne
1,842 reviews
Chapel Street
Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#43 of 161 in Melbourne
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill South Yarra Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill South Yarra Grand

Address: 7 Yarra St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#76 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £73 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill South Yarra Grand 4.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the new business and restaurant precinct of South Yarra and with views of Melbourne and Port Phillip Bay, Punthill South Yarra Grand offers spacious, modern, sophisticated and stylish apartment hotel accommodation in Melbourne that rivals no other. The eclectic, lush and stylish décor of our Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom serviced apartments reflects the vibrant, modern atmosphere of the South Yarra area and set a new standard in apartment hotel accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Punthill South Yarra Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill South Yarra Grand Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing