We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to stay at the Blackman when next in Melbourne.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Art Series - The Blackman
Ranked #12 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2011

On check in the two ladies at reception were incredibly polite, explained the check in process, facilities and how to get to the car park. When we entered the room for the first time we were delighted by everything we saw and kept pointing things out to each other.

The location is superb, only a $10 cab fare to the city, st kilda, casino, theatre, shops, restaurants, MCG, Docklands - everything you need (one adult tram fare to the city is $3.80 so cab is a better choice for two).

The lobby has a french bakery, Depot du Pain, which opens early and has fantastic produce. One night we bought a baguette and some pate to share in our room over a bottle of wine, that is unique I am sure!

Also in the lobby is an Italian restaurant that we only had dessert at but had such a beautiful decor it was a shame we didn't have time to dine there.

And of course the artwork is fabulous and everywhere! The lobby, lifts, the room, hallways and even in some very unexpected places.

Liked Best: The beds were divine, the linen luxurious and the pillows to die for.

Liked Least: No on-site pool :-(

Room Tip: Check last minute websites then the hotel direct.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark_Trenerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,105)
There are newer reviews for Art Series - The Blackman
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,927 - 1,933 of 2,105 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2011

Overall our stay of 3 nights with 2 adults and 2 children was excellent.
I would have to say though the Art series on Blackman was not ideally suited to children with little to do whilst in the hotel. Pay tv was very limited and did not cater for children what so ever. The room was very quite with comfortable bedding and the staff were very friendly. The restaurant and cafe off the lobby were excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nonid5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

I cannot recommend the Blackman highly enough. The rooms were spacious, the beds so comfortable, the views from the balconies stunning. The artwork and decor are tasteful and attractive. The staff is friendly and always ready to help. Additionally, the hotel is just a block away from the tram, with multiple lines servicing the area. There are two eateries -- a French cafe serving breakfast and lunch, and an Italian restaurant serving all three meals. We tried both and found them delicious. If we find ourselves in Melbourne again, we'll be staying at the Blackman.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahP1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Met with a (v tasty) chocolate bunny on the bed and personal greeting, this is my only experience of the Art Series of hotels, and I have to confess that The Blackman is a stunning hotel. Beautifully designed, this place oozes cool with a brilliant view of Melbourne (look for a room higher up) replete with balcony. I was only there for two days, but all of the details seem to have been thought through - extra socket space beside the bed (bug bear), adaptor (IN THE ROOM!), kitchenette and a great choice of two restaurants (Italian and French, both classy) either side of reception. Not only did the receptionist give me a print out of what trams to get for a meeting in town, but also sold me a daily ticket from behind the desk: nice. All the trams from pretty well outside the front door run into town. Only one surprise -- internet is not free and given that most artists LIVE on line, it seemed a little odd / ironic. Overall: loved it.

Room Tip: Inside, the Italian Restaurant beats the French
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReindeerSpotting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Great Hotel. Fabulous Young Staff who gave the very best of Service, happily arranged to store our Luggage both ends of the stay as we arrived before check in and left after check out time. Room Service prompt and efficient. Exceptionally clean and they refilled our coffee and milk which was nice. We had a fab view across the golf course to Port Melbourne, this was requested prior to book in. A Couple of minutes walk to Tram, you can also walk into Flinders Street Station in 45mins. Loved the Art Theme and the superior books provided in the funky book stand.

Nice Restaurant and Patiserrie below the hotel for Coffee, Evening Meal or Breakfast - I recommend the Almond Croissant - so yummy !!

I have no hesitation in highly recommending this hotel - and will certainly stay again on another trip.

Room Tip: Close to Botannic Gardens,Shrine of Rememberance.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyHuttleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

everything the hotel's own PR professes it to be: warm, friendly, stylish, great value. very comfortable and well-designed room; deluxe king has private balcony with excellent melbourne views. st kilda rd means easy tram/ cab access. will stay again (and hopefully, again...)

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nds88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

I travelled with my partner in March 2011 to Melbourne for a weekend Gran Prix break. We choose the Blackman due to its location for the Gran Prix Circuit on Albert Park.
We had booked a Deluxe Studio Suite, and had requested a high floor facing the track, We arrived at the hotel at around 11:30 unfortunately our room wasn't ready, But the young man on the desk said that he would call us when the room became available, ( I have stayed in many hotels in my life and I don't put to many hopes on a call when they say this) However about 1 hour later we got a call from the hotel saying that our room was ready which was great.
Our room was one the 16th floor overlooking the Albert Park, with a nice big balcony to sit with a drink and watch the cars race around the track, The room was fitted out nicely with comfortable tones and a modern theme It is differently one of the nicest hotel rooms I have stayed in with one of the nicest views to match. The cleanliness of the hotel was top notch; even the bed head wasn’t even dusty.
the room service menu was probably be my only criticism with only having a limited number of items available after 11pm but other than that the food from the restaurant Depot de Pain which is where we ate breakfast each morning was wonderful and the staff again were amazing.
We really were quite sad for the weekend to come to an end, we didn’t want to leave
I just want to thank all the staff for a absolutely wonderful time, a special thank you to Lynette for helping us with our restaurant booking on the Saturday night and finding us the best route to take your knowledge of the area was wonderful, Chris for his efficiency on accommodating us with checking in early and his promise to call and get us in to a room with our requests.
We will differently back next year for the Gran Prix, and hopefully before then as well.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kristin86_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,632 reviews
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#24 of 160 in Melbourne
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 160 in Melbourne
1,546 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 160 in Melbourne
8,171 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Address: 452 St Kilda Rd | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £92 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary, boutique interior and an enviable St Kilda Road location, just a stones throw from Melbourne’s CBD, The Blackman Hotel will inspire Melbourne’s imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne hotel boasts 209 guest accommodations and suites, a selection of which host private terraces.Built within and above the historic Airlie Mansion, The Blackman Hotel will charm and inspire guests with the works of one of Australia’s most celebrated artists, Charles Blackman, showcased throughout this unique hotel space.The Blackman Hotel is also dedicated to ensuring your visit to Melbourne is complete with dining options to tempt your tastebuds. Experience two of Melbourne’s hottest new restaurants right at your own doorstop. Couple this with our state-of-art gymnasium and your luxurious five-star experience is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing