We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful stay & a great place to recuperate!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Art Series - The Blackman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Art Series - The Blackman
Ranked #15 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful stay & a great place to recuperate!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

This is the second time I've stayed at the Blackman. This time however I spent nearly two weeks there to recuperate after having surgery at the Royal Woman's Hospital (to ensure I had adequate rest away from the house & kids!). I was upgraded from a studio to a deluxe studio, which was much appreciated. The staff were friendly & always helpful. The room as always, was lovely, clean & modern. Love love love the Depot de Pain downstairs, and even though the room enables one to self cater (good sized fridge, microwave, cook top etc) I really enjoyed my daily brunches or lunch there. Thank you Blackman Hotel for a wonderful & relaxing stay during my recent convalescence!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashjoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_Ezard, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review The Blackman. It is wonderful to hear that we were able to provide a relaxing environment for you to recuperate after your time in hospital. As always we were delighted to learn that our staff were friendly and helpful. From all of The Blackman staff we are wishing you a full and speedy recovery, we look forward to seeing you back at The Blackman very soon.
Kind Regards,
Ben Ezard, Guest Expernece Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,261
    518
    130
    36
    26
See reviews for
218
868
109
459
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

From the excellent staff when checking in, to the well appointed, stylish room with the most comfortable bed that I have EVER slept in when away from home, the yummy food in the french bakery/cafe, yet again professional desk staff when checking out, to the central location of the hotel in regard to getting out and about in Melbourne, The Blackman Hotel has it all.
Cannot fail to impress the most jaded traveller, well worth a visit and a gem that I will be passing on to my friends.

Room Tip: just detailing requirments to desk staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cwitana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Giuseppe Jato, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

Great visit, couldnt be happier with the hotel, beds very comfortable

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muncher67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

From the moment my wife and I entered The Blackman, we were met with excellent design, high maintenance quality and great customer service. Our room was surprisingly spacious, with excellent use of mirrors to expand the apparent space. The bed was an absolute winner in terms of space and comfort.

The appliances and general fittings of our room were top-notch and easy to use.
Furthermore, the car parking at the Blackman was simple, easy to navigate, easy to access via lifts or stairs and very handy. Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielV_3136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

I stayed here for work for 4 nights.It is well appointed, the bathroom is on the small side, really comfortable and good service.The location is ideal for getting to the city without being in the CBD and well priced.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonWin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

The Blackman is excellent, stayed at the Cullen previously and this is just as good. Love the ambience, decoration and the fact that you feel as if you've been to an exhibition of the artist's work and slept over! Super comfy beds, quiet, spotless, all just great.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albertst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

Stayed @ the Blackman for couple of nights, in the studio room

Mostly positive experience: modern, clean rooms, great design, nice bed linen, big TV, T2 tea, decent food from room service.

Just couple of small things to watch out for:

Avoid rooms on lower levels, otherwise you get face to face with people from buildings across the lane (the buildings are very close to each other). The balcony is useless for the same reason.

The hotel also charges extra for parking on top of your daily rate.

The cleaning personnel got a little intrusive 1 hour before check out time.

But the rest of the staff was quite friendly and helpful.

The location is great, the tram stop is right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jestress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#25 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#31 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,424 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Property: Art Series - The Blackman
Address: 452 St Kilda Rd | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary, boutique interior and an enviable St Kilda Road location, just a stones throw from Melbourne’s CBD, The Blackman Hotel will inspire Melbourne’s imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne hotel boasts 209 guest accommodations and suites, a selection of which host private terraces.Built within and above the historic Airlie Mansion, The Blackman Hotel will charm and inspire guests with the works of one of Australia’s most celebrated artists, Charles Blackman, showcased throughout this unique hotel space.The Blackman Hotel is also dedicated to ensuring your visit to Melbourne is complete with dining options to tempt your tastebuds. Experience two of Melbourne’s hottest new restaurants right at your own doorstop. Couple this with our state-of-art gymnasium and your luxurious five-star experience is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing