We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Art Series - The Blackman
Ranked #12 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience!”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

From the moment we stepped into the lobby of The Blackman, we knew we were in for a fantastic stay. The staff at the front desk were so friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. In fact, when we arrived very early in the morning (about 8am), our room was already ready, and when we were checking out, we were even given the option of a late checkout. The (very patient) staff even took the time to explain to us how to use the tram, and even made sure that we had enough coins. We were very impressed with our room - the bed was very comfortable, and we slept very well. We would highly recommend this hotel to people traveling to Melbourne!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyChocolateGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Blackman_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review from your stay with us at the Blackman.

I was very pleased to read you had a wonderful time with us, from beginning to end. I will certainly tell our staff of your comments at our next meeting.

We do hope you will choose to stay with us again when next in Melbourne.

Warm regards,
Julie Dale
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,307
    534
    132
    37
    27
See reviews for
227
906
115
466
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Stayed overnight for on business, Good size rooms with a kitchenette and dining table which comfortably sit 4 people. Bed was very comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. Also has a complimentary shuttle service in the morning into the central city - booking required.

Room Tip: Stayed in room on facing the street but still nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank al_AKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Blackman_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your fabulous time with us at the Blackman.
If you do travel regularly to Melbourne for business, please let us know and we can look into setting up rates for you.

Management and Staff love to hear these wonderful reviews, I will certainly let them know of your kind words, at our next staff meeting.

We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,
Julie Dale
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Fabulous in every way, location with easy access to trams, buses and can walk to local parks. Staff very helpful. Room excellent

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshirelass235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

my stay was excellent from start to finish. very pleased i paid the extra $100 or so per night for the deluxe executive suite. so much extra space for relatively not a huge amount of extra dosh. the partment had everything desirable for a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: pay the extra money for the better rooms - well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hero360travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

Second stay at The Blackman. Love the artwork and furniture. Lovely little surprises such as the rabbit mirrors on the walls are a nice touch.
Unfortunately this review is not as glowing as the first stay.
We were checked in by a girl 'Julie' who was really friendly and helpful.
Unfortunately we found our room had no tea or coffee, so had to request it - minor issue!
The second day, we came across a blonde female staff member who seemed to have very little interest in making guests feel at home at the hotel. She wandered in and out of the back room ignoring the line right in front of her - leaving the receptionist to deal with all the guests.
We bumped into the same staff member in the hallway and we were not even acknowledged! No eye contact or smile... Made us feel very uncomfortable and unwelcome. I don't have her name, but upon enquiring, we were shocked to find out that she is an assistant manger!!! Shouldnt she be setting a good example for the other staff? It feels harsh to rate the hotel poorly due to one staff member, however it did affect our stay. We may try the hotel again, however I think the rate we pay should surely cover good customer service? Hopefully we don't come across the assistant manager on our next stay.
Such a quirky hotel in a great location with fantastic restaurants downstairs. Such a shame we left disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lg1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

The room was modern, clean, spacious...and totally exceeded expectations. It was way better equipped than we anticipated. We opted for the most basic room which had a comfortable bed, a table and chairs, a little seating area...and even a mini-kitchen if you wanted to eat in. The walls were lined with windows so you can check out the city. it's not perfectly located, so the views are just ok, but it's walkable into the main part of Melbourne (if you're a big walker, that is). All in all a great choice!

Room Tip: The most basic room (studio suite) is plenty big and well priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelaround2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

stayed here for 1 night. Booked the standard studio room online. When we arrived at 2pm we were told that our room was not ready but we could upgrade for an extra $20. We upgraded to a deluxe suite with great views.Sadly, the shower was over a bath (very small) with a fixed glass divider. There was no way I could climb in safely etc.. So, poor Max went back to reception and they kindly put us in another room with a walk in shower.
The bed was very comfortable and the room very clean. The room did feel very masculine so touches such as a soap holder on the bathroom sink and a coin/jewellery dish beside the bed would have been useful.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welldone99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 159 in Melbourne
5,416 reviews
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#27 of 159 in Melbourne
1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 159 in Melbourne
1,500 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 159 in Melbourne
7,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Property: Art Series - The Blackman
Address: 452 St Kilda Rd | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary, boutique interior and an enviable St Kilda Road location, just a stones throw from Melbourne’s CBD, The Blackman Hotel will inspire Melbourne’s imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne hotel boasts 209 guest accommodations and suites, a selection of which host private terraces.Built within and above the historic Airlie Mansion, The Blackman Hotel will charm and inspire guests with the works of one of Australia’s most celebrated artists, Charles Blackman, showcased throughout this unique hotel space.The Blackman Hotel is also dedicated to ensuring your visit to Melbourne is complete with dining options to tempt your tastebuds. Experience two of Melbourne’s hottest new restaurants right at your own doorstop. Couple this with our state-of-art gymnasium and your luxurious five-star experience is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing