We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Art Series - The Blackman
Ranked #12 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Initial impression was not good as the staff welcome on arrival was low key, bordering on indifferent. However, the staff on the next shift were much nicer and more helpful and that continued for the 3 nights of our stay.
The room was a good size with 2 balconies, it's nice to be able to sit outside after a day site seeing. The kitchen point was well thought out but a fridge with a quieter motor was needed. Beds and pillows were amazingly comfortable, but the bathroom was really disappointing. It was poorly fitted with shelves/cupboard space for washbags etc, the towels were poor quality and needed replacing and there was a shower curtain around the bath which I hate. These days you expect a glass shower screen. The decor was boring cream and there was only one light in the middle of the ceiling, no mirror light, which meant shaving in shadow.
Leaving aside the issues with the bathroom, the hotel is in a great location, only a 20 minute stroll into the city centre, and close to parks and the Botanic Gardens.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Many thanks John for poviding us with your feedback following your stay at The Blackman. Firstly, let me apologise for the disappointing greeting that you received upon checkin. This is certainly not the norm as we place significant importance in ensuring that our guests receive the highest level of customer service so I am sorry that we did not acheive this on this occassion. Thank you for your comments regarding the layout of our rooms. I would very much enjoy havinging you back at The Blackman so please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance in organising a future booking.

Lauren Hodder
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,105)
There are newer reviews for Art Series - The Blackman
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,092 - 1,098 of 2,105 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014

Really clean, great rooms. Great decor. Restaurants downstairs are both amazing. Service is only thing that could use a bit of work, about half the staff usually seemed a bit annoyed with something. Gym is a bit small (4 users feels crowded), but nice parks for running located nearby.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zracoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to tell us of your Blackman experience. We are very happy to hear that you consider The Blackman to be "on of the best hotels you've stayed at'. We pride ourselves on delivering the highest level of customer service so I apologise that this was not portrayed during your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This is a nice hotel and is the second of the Art Series that we have stayed in. The staff were efficient but not friendly. The standard room with balcony was large and well appointed with cooking facilities etc. We were only here for a weekend, however if we stayed again the room is such that you could self cater. There are two restaurants down in the hotel. We only tried the Deport du Pain, and it was disappointing, so we didn't go back. The hotel is quiet away out of town so you need to use the trams or cabs.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davcol_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickGouin, General Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Thank you for offering us your feedback. We appreciate receiving it from a regular Trip Advisor contributor. I will address your comments with my team; there are some things we can continue to work on. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and if not here, we hope you try the third Art Series in the group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I spent 5nights in late january here as a birthday present to myself it was mostly great! The suite was amazing - clean spacious modern - though lacked a few things, there was no iron or ironing board, the coffee and tea was not replenished daily neither were the toiletries I had to keep calling to get this done. The television didn't work at all for one day - may not seem like a huge deal but when the miserable melbourne weather hits and you wanna stay in bed all day to watch trashy tv it was a big downer! Mostly the staff were lovely, some of them at reception were sometimes quite cold and dismissive but all in all was a good stay and would stay again if I found a decent rate.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickGouin, General Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to offer us some very detailed feedback. It really helps to know these things because it will assist to make us even better in the future. There is no doubt that we did let you down in terms of the servicing of your suite. All items should be replenished and each room is meant to have an iron and ironing board. With regards to the TV, this was unfortunately an issue we experienced with our service provider. No question, it was not good enough, however we were not able to fix this ourselves. I do apologise that these issues put a slight dampener on what should have been a 5 out of 5 experience with us. Please keep in touch and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I have stayed here twice now, I've enjoyed it that much! The first time I took my mum for Mother's Day and had a girly weekend as a surprise, it was perfect. We had a twin room - 2 queen sized beds, 2 TV's - which was spacious and the beds were separated by the bathroom. The layout would be comfortable enough to stay for a week without a problem and I love the fact it has a mini kitchen and a full size fridge. Looks like they have longer-stay price plans too.
But it's the attention to detail that I love about the Art Series hotels. I've now stayed a few times at their hotels, and now I get a little handwritten note on arrival, and sometimes a little present (calico shopping bag / a drink voucher). As a member, I can check out at 1pm (amazing), their mini-bar prices are cheaper than most restaurants and their room-service is reasonably priced.
Cannot fault this hotel, it was comfortable, chic and I love that each hotel has it's own 'vibe' and theme. I had the same experience when I stayed with a friend at the end of last year. Hands down this is my favourite in Melbourne.
The location isn't exactly 'in the middle of it', but trams will get you where you need to be fairly quick (10 mins into the CBD, 10 mins to South Yarra). I don't think the pool is in the building, I think you need to use the facilities at The Olsen in South Yarra... Apart from that, top notch.

Room Tip: Join their rewards program to get the 1pm late checkout and special member prices. If you buy 28+ da...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank love_weekenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We could not be happier to hear of your experiences as a regular Blackman guest. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This is definitely a cute and comfortable hotel, fantastic beds, good parking and good location, though it's actually located on Arthur Street rather than St Kilda Road. Some staff weren't very friendly. The twin double suite with balcony was a good size, and the kitchenette was excellent. Some negatives were the tiny bathroom and work desk was quite small, but worst of all, the wifi signal was so strong we could really feel it and it affected our sleep.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickGouin, General Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Thank you for staying with us recently at The Blackman Hotel. We certainly appreciate your comments and will address the areas within our control. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I stayed in a Junior Suite @ The Blackman over Christmas for 4 days and could not fault a thing. the rate dropped after I booked my stay so they matched the cheaper rate which was great too!

The room was immaculate and spacious, check in was a breeze, the hotel was easy to find and in a great location and a glass of wine on arrival ALWAYS makes for a great start to the stay! Late checkout wasn’t a problem and I have definitely made ArtSeries my go-to hotels when I’m in Melbourne. Looking forward to The Cullen over Australia Day!

Room Tip: You can use the pool @ The Olsen, but don't plan on using the gym. It's a bit sparse (But wh...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickGouin, General Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Thank you for offering us your fantastic feedback. It is great to hear you enjoyed your time with us. I hope you managed to try The Cullen over Australia Day. We look forward to welcoming you back to Art Series Hotels again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,637 reviews
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#25 of 160 in Melbourne
1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 160 in Melbourne
1,546 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 160 in Melbourne
8,174 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Address: 452 St Kilda Rd | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £96 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary, boutique interior and an enviable St Kilda Road location, just a stones throw from Melbourne’s CBD, The Blackman Hotel will inspire Melbourne’s imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne hotel boasts 209 guest accommodations and suites, a selection of which host private terraces.Built within and above the historic Airlie Mansion, The Blackman Hotel will charm and inspire guests with the works of one of Australia’s most celebrated artists, Charles Blackman, showcased throughout this unique hotel space.The Blackman Hotel is also dedicated to ensuring your visit to Melbourne is complete with dining options to tempt your tastebuds. Experience two of Melbourne’s hottest new restaurants right at your own doorstop. Couple this with our state-of-art gymnasium and your luxurious five-star experience is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing