We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views and so stylish”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Art Series - The Blackman
Ranked #13 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing views and so stylish”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Such a great apartment - amazing views over Albert Park and views to the bay. Love the artworks of Charles Blackman - and they have inserted his works throughout the hotel - very well done. Love the furniture and layout of the large apartment. Me and my wife really had a great time here relaxing - awesome pillows and bed - the shampoo and conditioners were superb. The whole weekend there was awesome. Probably a bit out of the city - but you are closer to St Kilda and Chapel St so that is a plus.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Llewster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your stay at The Blackman. It was lovely to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your weekend with us so many thanks for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you both back to The Blackman soon.

Lauren Hodder
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,306
    534
    132
    37
    27
See reviews for
227
905
115
466
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West End, Brisbane
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

i stayed at the Blackman for one quick visit to Melbourne, Great hotel for short business trip, good basic gym, great room service and check-in was very smooth and easy - didn't even hassle me for a cr card as room was paid for. Great feel will definitely make this my hotel of choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyVacn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Many thanks for reviewing our property following your recent stay. I was excited to read that we are your hotel of choice and am very happy that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back to The Blackman soon.

Lauren Hodder
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Where do I start? This is possibly the best hotel I have ever stayed in. We were quite a large wedding party (Easter Sunday 2014) and we stayed for two nights. The best and most welcoming staff I have ever met. I have to mention Brian, as he went out of his way to make us feel welcome. What a fabulous sense of humour. And the staff in the two cafe's, Fleur and Classico were so amazing and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. The bride and groom booked the penthouse for their wedding night. A more beautiful Melbourne location would be hard to find, with its two walls of glass and the views of the Lake and the Bay, not to mention the balcony spa bath. The location was perfect for all our interstate guests. A five minute tram ride to the city. A short walk to Albert Park Lake. And St Kilda a ten minute tram ride also and the best part of all, we all walked to our wedding venue in one very happy group. Thank you Blackman Hotel. As they say in the classics..... I shall return.

Room Tip: High up and corner suite. Just speak to the wonderful staff. They will help you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 258WendyR258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you Wendy for providing us with your feedback following your stay over Easter. I could not be happier to hear that you consider us to be "the best hotel you have ever stayed at". We pride ourselves of our exceptional delivery of customer service so your wonderful comments about Brian and our team are very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Blackman soon.

Lauren Hodder
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Overall we had a good stay. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The beds are comfy and the décor is very tasteful. We stayed in a Deluxe Studio Suite (Balcony) on the 7th floor.

The only negative thing I'd say is that it's lucky my husband and I have been together for a long time and feel comfortable with one another. I would imagine that if you were a new couple it could get quite awkward when one of you has to go to the toilet because the bathroom lacks the privacy of most hotel bathrooms I've experienced i.e. when the frosted glass bathroom door is shut there is still a reasonably large crack between it and the frosted glass wall. This would make me feel very uncomfortable if I was in a new relationship with the other guest in the room.

I also found it odd that there was no chopping knife provided in the kitchen, just a bread knife and normal butter knives. If we wanted to cook our own dinner, this would have made it challenging (however we ate out on each of the 3 nights we stayed at the hotel).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ssm2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your recent stay at The Blackman. Customer service is our main focus so I was very happy to hear that you found our staff helpful & friendly. While the design of our bathrooms is one with the aim of complementing the wonderful Charles Blackman artwork I can understand the point you made.
While there is no large chopping knife provided in our rooms, we can provide them on request. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Blackman! Stayed for 2 nights over the Anzac long weekend. Check in was a breeze, we arrived at 11am which is before the 2pm checkin, however, only had to wait 15 minutes while having a coffee in the cafe and the very helpful lady at the front desk came to us to advice our room was ready and they had already taken our bag up to the room! We stayed in a Bay Studio Suite Room on the 17th floor (there are only 18 floors) and the room was very large with two balconies and floor to ceiling doors overlooking Albert Park and towards St Kilda beach. Hotel is very centrally located, only a 4 minute drive from the CBD. We preferred the location as it was away from the hussle and bussle of the city, but close enough to it and South Yarra. If driving and staying over the weekend, don't pay for parking in the hotel, there is plenty of street parking right out the front of the hotel which is free on weekends which we took advantage of!

Both restaurants in the hotel were lovely with prompt service. Unfortunately the same can't be said for the restaurant at the Blackmans sister hotel The Olsen. We had dinner there on the Sunday night, and although the food was nice, the service was terrible, meals taking an extremely long time to come, noise and fuss in the kitchen filtering into the restaurant, and the waiter being forced to offer us complimentary drinks to appease. Do yourself a favour and stay at the Blackman over the Olsen.

The only two negatives I have, and they are small and could happen at any hotel is that my pet hate is king size beds that are made up of two singles! They put an underlay over the top so you can't feel the gap, but you can, and they can easily fix this by having seperate rooms for singles and kings. Secondly, the two gentlemen that were on the front desk are obviously the ones that people keep mentioning on trip advisor that are quite abrupt and not helpful, because they stayed true to their reputation (so obviously the really nice and helpful staff are on the front desk on weekends). This didn't bother me too much as we were checking out and it was a 2 minute process, the checking in process matters to me much more and that was second to none.

A fantastic stay at the Blackman, will definitely return and will recommend to family and friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room on the right hand side of the elevators, this way you will get a good view of Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loddi990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following you recent stay at The Blackman. I could not be happier to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. I have passed your comments regarding your dining experience at The Olsen on to their team. We could not place a higher importance on our delivery of customer service so I would very much like to discuss your check out experience further if you are able to contact me. It is great to hear that you will definitely return to The Blackman so we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed at the Blackman Hotel for 6 nights, the location is 10/10; the rooms 10/10; the beds n a special mention for the pillows 20/10; the staff were friendly n helpful when asked. The decor of the hotel is amazing with the art displayed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Many thanks Kim for providing us with your wonderful feedback following your stay at The Blackman. You might be excited to learn that we sell our pillows so please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like any further details. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my wife and 4 year old daughter over the Anzac weekend for four nights. On arrival a lovely and helpful Italian girl (sorry I can't recall your name) checked us in and enthusiastically and patiently showed us a number of rooms (we are fussy). She then helped us personally with our luggage. Thank you.

The rooms are modern, clean and nicely arty themed, quality bedding and bathroom products. Nice views from many and close to trams. The rooms seemed quiet as we didn't notice noise transmission. The only problem was that around midnight Saturday we noticed party noises coming from the penthouse above. Went back to sleep to be woken at 2am. Called reception and spoke to Paul who swiftly and efficiently dealt with the problem and didn't make us feel petty for contacting him. Apparently there was a party of 40 or so going on. This no nonsense approach is appreciated as we have stayed places where similar problems have not been addressed.

Food in the two eateries was excellent and staff generally relaxed and efficient.

The housekeeping staff were polite and helpful, credit to them doing a difficult job so well. The desk staff are young and professional, know their job, and are friendly and polite. Nothing was a problem.

Thank you for mankind our stay very pleasant and memorable.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you Darren for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your stay at The Blackman over the Anzac day weekend. Your lovely comments about Michela are fantastic and I have passed these on to her and our team. I apologise that you were disturbed during your stay but was very happy to hear that Paul looked after you to resolve the issue. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 159 in Melbourne
5,415 reviews
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#27 of 159 in Melbourne
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 159 in Melbourne
1,498 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 159 in Melbourne
7,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Property: Art Series - The Blackman
Address: 452 St Kilda Rd | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary, boutique interior and an enviable St Kilda Road location, just a stones throw from Melbourne’s CBD, The Blackman Hotel will inspire Melbourne’s imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne hotel boasts 209 guest accommodations and suites, a selection of which host private terraces.Built within and above the historic Airlie Mansion, The Blackman Hotel will charm and inspire guests with the works of one of Australia’s most celebrated artists, Charles Blackman, showcased throughout this unique hotel space.The Blackman Hotel is also dedicated to ensuring your visit to Melbourne is complete with dining options to tempt your tastebuds. Experience two of Melbourne’s hottest new restaurants right at your own doorstop. Couple this with our state-of-art gymnasium and your luxurious five-star experience is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing