We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Art Series - The Blackman
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$206
US$157
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$97
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$189
US$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$85
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$245
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Mantra Southbank Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$148
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$324
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$257
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (2,340)
Filter reviews
2,340 results
Traveller rating
1,508
601
155
45
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,508
601
155
45
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsst kildafrench cafedeluxe studio suitealbert parkdepot de painrestaurants downstairssmart cartram stopsmall kitchenettebotanical gardensloved this hotelchapel streetthe ground floormini barspa bathcomfy bedmodern hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,262 - 1,267 of 2,340 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We wanted to be close to the CBD but not right in the heart of the action and traffic so the Blackman's location, just off St Kilda Rd was ideal, also being close to South Yarra. I always tend to prefer a boutique hotel, nice fast check in and personalised service.
Our room was spacious and comfortable with two queen size beds, some kitchen facilities, a bath and a balcony.
Room service meals were delicious and fast. There's also a great French cafe downstairs with the best croissants!
We had a fabulous stay and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your stay at The Blackman. We pride ourselves on the delivery of personalised service so thank you for your kind words. I have passed your lovely comments on to our team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Booked a night in the Blackman for our Anniversary getaway. Location was ok. Short drive or tram into the city. It was nice and quiet. Upon check in, we were upgraded to a studio suite on the 11th floor. Room was nice and spacious. Bed was comfy but a bit too soft for me.

But loved the blinds and curtains. Totally blocked out the sun and allowed me to have a much needed sleep in the next morning. French bakery on the ground floor serves very nice pastries and a decent coffee.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beerbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed your anniversary stay with us. We look forward to having you back at The Blackman soon.

Lauren Hodder
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great location to all melbourne has to offer. This hotel has a great edge to it. Staff are more than happy to help. Rooms were very clean spacious and well presented, beds and pillows are super comfy.Great restaurant and coffee bar downstairs.
Will be back for sure.

Leigh T

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leigh t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickGouin, General Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you Leigh T for offering us your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed there on our wedding night at the start of May. It was a mix of nice room, bathrooms in need of maintenance, and various levels of service.

The room was nice, and no doubt, on a clear morning, the views out onto Albert Park and the lake are great.

However, for a hotel in the upper tier, there were quite a lot of things amiss - in the bathroom, the bottom of the towel rack had come clean off, and was unfixed to the wall! There were other little details - a soap holder with rust in the shower, a bin with a pedal that didn't work, and neither did the switch between shower and tap mode. We were newlyweds staying one night, so of course we weren't about to spend our night complaining to hotel staff - we ended up filling our bath up from the shower head, And the test of the things didn't phase us at the time, but are all pretty disappointing in hindsight, especially for the price.

The staff were good and bad - we had room service staff who just responded with a 'no' when asked for any wheat-free options (maybe you could suggest something?) - we ended up walking to Cafe Vue for breakfast, which was great. On the other hand, we had some lovely front desk staff.

While we had a lovely time, it probably wasn't due to the hotel.

Feel free to get in touch to discuss.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you Martin for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your recent stay at The Blackman. The maintenance issues in the bathroom that you mentioned are certainly not up to the standard that we pride ourselves on so I apologise for these. With regards to the bath tap, this is something that we could have fixed for you on the night but I understand why you chose not to contact reception. I was very happy to hear of the lovely service that you received from our front desk team. I apologise for the disappointing service that your received from a room service staff member. Classico is managed independtly from the hotel and I have passed your comments on to their manager. I would very much like to welcome you back to The Blackman again so we can ensure a perfect stay so please contact me directly if I can assist in organising a future booking.

Lauren Hodder
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Such a great apartment - amazing views over Albert Park and views to the bay. Love the artworks of Charles Blackman - and they have inserted his works throughout the hotel - very well done. Love the furniture and layout of the large apartment. Me and my wife really had a great time here relaxing - awesome pillows and bed - the shampoo and conditioners were superb. The whole weekend there was awesome. Probably a bit out of the city - but you are closer to St Kilda and Chapel St so that is a plus.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Llewster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your stay at The Blackman. It was lovely to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your weekend with us so many thanks for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you both back to The Blackman soon.

Lauren Hodder
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews