We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still can't beat this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Art Series - The Blackman
Ranked #13 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Still my one of my favorite hotels and would choose to stay here everytime If given a choice ! Lovely stay from start to finish. Great polite service upon check in and a beautiful large corner suite, perfect when travelling with a toddler in tow. The bathrooms can be a little small, but this is never an issue for us, we don't stay here based on the bathroom size. We choose to stay here for the luxurious surroundings, the peaceful location and because it always feels like home not a hotel!! The coffee was superb from Fleur downstairs, however the girl who served me was extremely rude and I waited at least 5 mins before she bothered to notice me and take my order, she did however manage to serve the next customer an obvious regular in a flash. The only negative in an otherwise fantastic stay!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank cherryred55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

I could not be happier to hear of your enjoyable stay with us, so thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Please accept my apologies for the service your received in Fleur and know that I have followed this up with the Restaurant Manager. We look forward to welcoming you home again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,042 - 1,048 of 2,140 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

A Really comfortable bed.. Stayed here for the first time and found it great. Close to the CBD and very close to the tram. Good value also- suggest join as member to reduce the cost. The view from our room on the 15th floor was also very nice looking over Albert Lake. We will stay again. We are seriously thinking of buying the bed. The only negative was our room was too small to put 2 comfortable chairs in. the other plastic chairs are a bit " cheap" and the TV was on the side wall of our room, so you have to twist your head from the bed to see it. Room 1510.

Room Tip: Ask to go on the top floors to get good view of Albert Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Many thanks Andrew for sharing your feedback with us following your stay at The Blackman. If you would like any further information regarding our beds then please do not hesitate to contact me. We have a number of room types available that have the tv placed in front of the bed so please feel free to share your room preferences with us on your next stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Fantastic place to stay, close to city, trams etc. Staff were really friendly and most helpful. Rooms are soo clean and decorated beautifully. The beds are amazing (you won't want to get out of them). Definately a 5 star rating.... There is nothing you can fault with this hotel......it's just a "Wow Factor" all over!!!! Will Definately stay again - We strongly recommend it :)))

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you Betty for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your stay at The Blackman. I have shared your kind words with our team. All of our bedding is available for purchase so please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like any further information. We look forward to having you stay again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

It was very refreshing to be surrounded by art, books and little touches that made the stay more memorable than other 5 star hotels.
Our room was a good size, and the bed was amazingly comfortable. The lighting in the bathroom is quite dim, not good for makeup, but other than that no complaints.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank CeeWarrni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Blackman with us. I could not be happier to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to having you stay again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Had the most amazing stay here
Firstly - we were upgraded in our room
Followed by champagne on arrival!
Everything was a 5 star dream and was perfect as it was my partner and my selves anniversary. With the room service being prompt and extremely polite to the front of house staff going above and beyond to make it a memorable occasion for the both of us. could not recommend a better place to stay in melbourne ..

Not to mention the extremely comfortable beds

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Zoe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

You are more than welcome to come and live with us Zoe as we do have some amazing long stay rates! I am so happy to hear that you had an enjoyable anniversary stay at The Blackman so thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed at The Blackman for 11 nights as my husband was there on business and it is close to the business area. We also stayed on for a few days as a holiday and it is also ideal for this too. As it is slightly out of the main city it is quieter, but easily accessible with a tram stop closely. The trams into the city centre run very frequently and also out to the beach and other areas of Melbourne. We had a junior suite with a kitchenette which was ideal for preparing our own breakfasts and a some main meals if we didn't want to eat out. Also a balcony and dining area.
I would thoroughly recommend The Blackman either for a holiday or business trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdavis2459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of our property. Your kind words are very much appreciated and we look forward to having you stay again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed at the Blackman as I had work in the St Kilda area and was an easy walk. Its about 30 minute walk into town or a tram ride away.
Room was nice and spacious and having a full fridge and kitchen facilities was great as I was there for a week.
Cons would be big lump in the middle of bed, obviously two mattresses pushed together.
Also when ever I came back from work there would be a strange smell in the corridor and room, not sure what it was, think it must of been one of the cleaning products.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GazzaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your Blackman experience with us. Please feel free to share your room preferences with us on your next stay so we can ensure an enjoyable stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#26 of 161 in Melbourne
1,748 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
5,782 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 161 in Melbourne
8,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Address: 452 St Kilda Rd | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £99 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary, boutique interior and an enviable St Kilda Road location, just a stones throw from Melbourne’s CBD, The Blackman Hotel will inspire Melbourne’s imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne hotel boasts 209 guest accommodations and suites, a selection of which host private terraces.Built within and above the historic Airlie Mansion, The Blackman Hotel will charm and inspire guests with the works of one of Australia’s most celebrated artists, Charles Blackman, showcased throughout this unique hotel space.The Blackman Hotel is also dedicated to ensuring your visit to Melbourne is complete with dining options to tempt your tastebuds. Experience two of Melbourne’s hottest new restaurants right at your own doorstop. Couple this with our state-of-art gymnasium and your luxurious five-star experience is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Splitty, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing