We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Art Series - The Blackman
Ranked #12 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Girls Weekend”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Blackman was a wonderful hotel to stay in.
My best friend stayed for two night, this was our first time at the Blackman but not first time in Melbourne.
The beds are very very comfortable, the heating is great, the rooms are spacious, modern and well looked after.
The only negative I could state would be the lighting in the bathroom (this is from a females perspective - trying to get ready to go out) and possibly the late night room service menu - but these are really not big issues.

Overall our stay was excellent!! The service is polite and efficient.
May I add, this hotel is fantastic value for money for what you pay and what you get.

Ps. The restaurant downstairs does a lovely beef salad.

Room Tip: Upgrade when in doubt - all the rooms are beutiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKPL87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Rooms Division Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We could not be happier to hear that you had an "excellent stay". We have just installed LED lighting in all of our guest rooms so this will definately assist with getting ready to go out on your next stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,293
    530
    132
    37
    27
See reviews for
225
897
113
463
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just had a single night's stay at this hotel. Everything efficient and friendly from arrival to departure. Great boutique feel to the hotel from the - room was spotless with a great view. Will definitely stay here when I am back in Melbourne.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ColmSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Rooms Division Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with a review following your stay. We are excited to hear that you had an "excellent stay" and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Our room was stylish, extremely comfortable, spacious and very well designed with a nook that created a virtual second bedroom with double bed for our daughter (10) and a compact kitchenette that would have made a longer stay great. Our balcony fronted St Kilda Rd so there was traffic noise but felt buzzy and it was winter so did not spend long beyond admiring the view. Bed extremely plush and comfy. Really good breakfast downstairs (not included and I'm not sure even related) in a Scandinavia feeling cafe. Very handy for the city and botanic gardens. Parking underneath reasonably priced. Highly recommended,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBunnetGull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Rooms Division Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us following your stay at The Blackman. Your kind words are very much appreciated and we are excited to hear that you "cannot wait to go back". We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I have stayed at the Blackman around 30 times in the last 3 or so years and I always look forward to it. The rooms are comfortable and the service is always efficient and friendly. Both restaurants on the premises are great (Classico - Italian and Depot De Pain - French Cafe) and I always look forward to dinner at Classico and Breakfast at Depot De Pain during my stay. On my most recent occasion there was a mix up with the room I was allocated and I had to go back down to reception as my card wouldn't work and I was allocated a different room however this is probably the first time I have ever had an issue like this. Overall a great mid size place to stay in Melbourne particularly for business trips to South Melbourne or St Kilda (short cab ride away).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Rooms Division Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
Many thanks Mark for sharing your experience with us. We absolutely treasure our return guests so we could not be happier to hear that you always look forward to your stays with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I stayed at the Blackman for one night in July 2014. It is located not far out of the CBD, on the way to St Kilda, which was perfect for me as I was spending time at both locations. The hotel is located a 10 minute and very easy tram ride to the CBD and is simple to find. If you want to stay exclusively in the city, it may not be the best bet, but I loved where it was.

The staff were friendly and helpful, the restaurants downstairs were both great and the hotel has an overall fairly cool vibe (without sacraficing the comfort and functionality that you expect of a top notch hotel).

The rooms were stylishly decorated, exceptionally comfortable and spotlessly clean. The beds and bedding made sleep a pleasure and there was no noise at all that I could perceive in my room.

I thought the value was exceptional. The weekend I was in town was a busy one for Melbourne and I found that rates at many other hotels I had stayed at previously were up significantly. The Blackman was very competitively priced in comparison.

The final word in any rhotel eview has to be whether you would stay there again. From now on when I visit Melbourne, the Blackman will be my hotel of choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JD41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Rooms Division Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your stay at The Blackman. I have shared your lovely comments with our team. We could not be more excited to hear that we are now your hotel of choice and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This hotel lives up to its "Art Series" name. This is a stunning looking hotel from the inside out and the colours of the room are beautiful. $5 tray charge for room service, not cool. I don't see how you can justify that charge. Besides that, this is a lovely hotel with fantastic service, nice location and beautiful rooms. The room with the one queen double bed could be very romantic. Close to trams and parks too. Few minutes tram ride to the CBD.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josef B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Rooms Division Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
Thank you Josef for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your stay at The Blackman. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so thank you for your kind words. The Classico restaurant is managed/owned independant of the hotel but I have shared your feedback with their team. We look forward to having you stay again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights. This was my first stay at an Art Series hotel.

I enjoyed staying here. The staff are lovely and accommodating. The room was nice, clean and well maintained. The bed was super comfortable.

From a travel perspective, there are trams operating nearby though, it can 15-25 minutes to get right into the CBD. There are not a huge amount of street dining options.

Not sure about the WiFi. I didn't ask the staff but I saw that it required you login and pay!

I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Rooms Division Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
Many thanks Josh for sharing your experience with us. We pride ourselves on our delivery of exceptional customer service so your kind words are much appreciated. We are in the process of providing our WiFi complimentary so hopefully this will be up & running for your next stay.

Lauren Hodder
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#27 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#30 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,534 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#34 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Property: Art Series - The Blackman
Address: 452 St Kilda Rd | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary, boutique interior and an enviable St Kilda Road location, just a stones throw from Melbourne’s CBD, The Blackman Hotel will inspire Melbourne’s imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne hotel boasts 209 guest accommodations and suites, a selection of which host private terraces.Built within and above the historic Airlie Mansion, The Blackman Hotel will charm and inspire guests with the works of one of Australia’s most celebrated artists, Charles Blackman, showcased throughout this unique hotel space.The Blackman Hotel is also dedicated to ensuring your visit to Melbourne is complete with dining options to tempt your tastebuds. Experience two of Melbourne’s hottest new restaurants right at your own doorstop. Couple this with our state-of-art gymnasium and your luxurious five-star experience is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing