We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Twin Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Art Series - The Blackman
Ranked #16 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My sister & I stayed in this hotel at the beginning of August for an extended weekend break in a Double Twin Suite. The room layout was perfect with two different sleeping areas separated by the bathroom and each sleeping area had its own individually controlled TV which means no-one has to compromise on what you want to watch!! The room was an excellent size for the two of us and it was great to have a small kitchenette area and the balcony was a nice addition also. Had the weather been a little warmer the balcony would have been a nice spot to sit in the afternoon. The room was very stylish in its decoration and very well maintained. The beds and pillows were extremely comfortable which seems to be quite rare these days! Internet access was quick & very reasonably priced, given it seems that all hotels in Australia seem to charge for this still. Check in was quick & efficient, albeit a little confusing at one point re the charging your credit card upfront & then refunding within 3 days of check out if you choose to avoid the credit card surcharge & settle your bill with a debit card, however I'm pleased to say it all worked out fine & it's probably just me not used to this system. The hotel is situated in a great location just off St Kilda Rd which makes getting into the city very quick and easy on public transport. On one side of the hotel is a great little Italian bar/restaurant which had a small but perfectly formed menu for both food and drink and on the other side is a great little coffee shop which does a good continental breakfast & a great coffee if that is what you are after. The Italian restaurant is very popular with both guests & locals so be sure to book to avoid disappointment, particularly on a Thursday, Friday or Saturday night. Having said that, the wait staff were very good at getting everyone seated within reasonable timeframes if you are eating early in the evening. It also has a limited take away menu if you just feel like retreating to your room. All in all a great stay in Melbourne and would thoroughly recommend this hotel. I would definitely look at staying again next time I'm in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKconnection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Rooms Division Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your thoughts following your stay at The Blackman. Your review is very informative and future travellers would certainly benefit from the information you have provided. Your kind words are much appreciated and I have shared them with our team. We hope to welcome you back to The Blackman again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,146 - 1,152 of 2,285 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for a room for 2adults and 2kids, this might be the one for you. The room offers 2 separate sleeping areas with their own tv's. The room also has kitchenette and lounge area.

Serviced by an above average Italian restaurant and a cool breakfast cafe, the Blackman offers something a bit different from the normal city hotel.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank CohortMalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Rooms Division Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with a review following your stay at The Blackman. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your Deluxe Twin Suite and your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was the second time in the Blackman, we did not do so well with our room this time. The room was poorly laid out with the door opening directly on to the bed. The rest of the room was okay, but having to fight to get around the bed to bathroom or door is not so good.

I would check the room next time

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davcol_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Rooms Division Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Please let us know your room preferences on your next stay as we will do whatever we can to accomodate them. We hope to see you again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Blackman was a wonderful hotel to stay in.
My best friend stayed for two night, this was our first time at the Blackman but not first time in Melbourne.
The beds are very very comfortable, the heating is great, the rooms are spacious, modern and well looked after.
The only negative I could state would be the lighting in the bathroom (this is from a females perspective - trying to get ready to go out) and possibly the late night room service menu - but these are really not big issues.

Overall our stay was excellent!! The service is polite and efficient.
May I add, this hotel is fantastic value for money for what you pay and what you get.

Ps. The restaurant downstairs does a lovely beef salad.

Room Tip: Upgrade when in doubt - all the rooms are beutiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AKPL87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Rooms Division Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We could not be happier to hear that you had an "excellent stay". We have just installed LED lighting in all of our guest rooms so this will definately assist with getting ready to go out on your next stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just had a single night's stay at this hotel. Everything efficient and friendly from arrival to departure. Great boutique feel to the hotel from the - room was spotless with a great view. Will definitely stay here when I am back in Melbourne.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ColmSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Rooms Division Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with a review following your stay. We are excited to hear that you had an "excellent stay" and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Our room was stylish, extremely comfortable, spacious and very well designed with a nook that created a virtual second bedroom with double bed for our daughter (10) and a compact kitchenette that would have made a longer stay great. Our balcony fronted St Kilda Rd so there was traffic noise but felt buzzy and it was winter so did not spend long beyond admiring the view. Bed extremely plush and comfy. Really good breakfast downstairs (not included and I'm not sure even related) in a Scandinavia feeling cafe. Very handy for the city and botanic gardens. Parking underneath reasonably priced. Highly recommended,

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TheBunnetGull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Rooms Division Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us following your stay at The Blackman. Your kind words are very much appreciated and we are excited to hear that you "cannot wait to go back". We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I have stayed at the Blackman around 30 times in the last 3 or so years and I always look forward to it. The rooms are comfortable and the service is always efficient and friendly. Both restaurants on the premises are great (Classico - Italian and Depot De Pain - French Cafe) and I always look forward to dinner at Classico and Breakfast at Depot De Pain during my stay. On my most recent occasion there was a mix up with the room I was allocated and I had to go back down to reception as my card wouldn't work and I was allocated a different room however this is probably the first time I have ever had an issue like this. Overall a great mid size place to stay in Melbourne particularly for business trips to South Melbourne or St Kilda (short cab ride away).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Rooms Division Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2014

Many thanks Mark for sharing your experience with us. We absolutely treasure our return guests so we could not be happier to hear that you always look forward to your stays with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#2 of 161 in Melbourne
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 161 in Melbourne
1,621 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#26 of 161 in Melbourne
8,720 reviews
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#31 of 161 in Melbourne
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Address: 452 St Kilda Rd | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £89 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary, boutique interior and an enviable St Kilda Road location, just a stones throw from Melbourne’s CBD, The Blackman Hotel will inspire Melbourne’s imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne hotel boasts 209 guest accommodations and suites, a selection of which host private terraces.Built within and above the historic Airlie Mansion, The Blackman Hotel will charm and inspire guests with the works of one of Australia’s most celebrated artists, Charles Blackman, showcased throughout this unique hotel space.The Blackman Hotel is also dedicated to ensuring your visit to Melbourne is complete with dining options to tempt your tastebuds. Experience two of Melbourne’s hottest new restaurants right at your own doorstop. Couple this with our state-of-art gymnasium and your luxurious five-star experience is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing