We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Art Series - The Blackman
Ranked #12 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay!!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Fantastic Location, great staff and beautiful rooms. The decor, the amazing art, and stylish room... it all made my stay unique and special. Additionally, all the artwork on display throughout the hotel makes it a very interesting and exceptional experience. Very Romantic! :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Rooms Division Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
Thank you Rebecca for sharing your kind words following your stay at The Blackman. We could not be happier to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look fowrard to having you back again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,294
    530
    132
    37
    27
See reviews for
225
898
113
463
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Terrific location,friendly staff and amazing art throughout. It's wonderful to to get away from mundane and predictable hotel rooms and experience the uplifting feeling as soon as you walk through the door. Thank you Blackman for bringing art and a bit of culture to your guests.

Room Tip: Bay view room on high floor to experience the wonderful views and feel of Melbourne.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelled538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Rooms Division Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
We could not be happier to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Blackman so thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I've stayed at this hotel twice, the most recent being in April and both times I loved it. The rooms are gorgeous, the staff are friendly and it just makes for an enjoyable stay. It was my partners first time at this hotel as he enjoyed it just as much as I did. I can't wait for my next excuse to stay!!

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a Bay View Room - worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whoisbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Rooms Division Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
Many thanks for sharing your experience with us following your stay at The Blackman. I have shared your kind words with our team and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The Blackman has now become my hotel of choice when I am in Melbourne. The decor, amazing art, friendly staff, amazing room... it all made my stay unique and enjoyable. All the artwork on display throughout the hotel makes it a very interesting and intriguing experience. Bravo Blackman! Well done.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrispyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Rooms Division Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
Many thanks for sharing your experience with us following your stay. We could not be more excited to hear that we are now your hotel of choice and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My sister & I stayed in this hotel at the beginning of August for an extended weekend break in a Double Twin Suite. The room layout was perfect with two different sleeping areas separated by the bathroom and each sleeping area had its own individually controlled TV which means no-one has to compromise on what you want to watch!! The room was an excellent size for the two of us and it was great to have a small kitchenette area and the balcony was a nice addition also. Had the weather been a little warmer the balcony would have been a nice spot to sit in the afternoon. The room was very stylish in its decoration and very well maintained. The beds and pillows were extremely comfortable which seems to be quite rare these days! Internet access was quick & very reasonably priced, given it seems that all hotels in Australia seem to charge for this still. Check in was quick & efficient, albeit a little confusing at one point re the charging your credit card upfront & then refunding within 3 days of check out if you choose to avoid the credit card surcharge & settle your bill with a debit card, however I'm pleased to say it all worked out fine & it's probably just me not used to this system. The hotel is situated in a great location just off St Kilda Rd which makes getting into the city very quick and easy on public transport. On one side of the hotel is a great little Italian bar/restaurant which had a small but perfectly formed menu for both food and drink and on the other side is a great little coffee shop which does a good continental breakfast & a great coffee if that is what you are after. The Italian restaurant is very popular with both guests & locals so be sure to book to avoid disappointment, particularly on a Thursday, Friday or Saturday night. Having said that, the wait staff were very good at getting everyone seated within reasonable timeframes if you are eating early in the evening. It also has a limited take away menu if you just feel like retreating to your room. All in all a great stay in Melbourne and would thoroughly recommend this hotel. I would definitely look at staying again next time I'm in Melbourne.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKconnection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Rooms Division Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your thoughts following your stay at The Blackman. Your review is very informative and future travellers would certainly benefit from the information you have provided. Your kind words are much appreciated and I have shared them with our team. We hope to welcome you back to The Blackman again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for a room for 2adults and 2kids, this might be the one for you. The room offers 2 separate sleeping areas with their own tv's. The room also has kitchenette and lounge area.

Serviced by an above average Italian restaurant and a cool breakfast cafe, the Blackman offers something a bit different from the normal city hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank CohortMalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Rooms Division Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with a review following your stay at The Blackman. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your Deluxe Twin Suite and your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was the second time in the Blackman, we did not do so well with our room this time. The room was poorly laid out with the door opening directly on to the bed. The rest of the room was okay, but having to fight to get around the bed to bathroom or door is not so good.

I would check the room next time

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davcol_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Rooms Division Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Please let us know your room preferences on your next stay as we will do whatever we can to accomodate them. We hope to see you again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#27 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,548 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#36 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Property: Art Series - The Blackman
Address: 452 St Kilda Rd | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary, boutique interior and an enviable St Kilda Road location, just a stones throw from Melbourne’s CBD, The Blackman Hotel will inspire Melbourne’s imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne hotel boasts 209 guest accommodations and suites, a selection of which host private terraces.Built within and above the historic Airlie Mansion, The Blackman Hotel will charm and inspire guests with the works of one of Australia’s most celebrated artists, Charles Blackman, showcased throughout this unique hotel space.The Blackman Hotel is also dedicated to ensuring your visit to Melbourne is complete with dining options to tempt your tastebuds. Experience two of Melbourne’s hottest new restaurants right at your own doorstop. Couple this with our state-of-art gymnasium and your luxurious five-star experience is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing