We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As quirky as Melbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Art Series - The Olsen
Ranked #26 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“As quirky as Melbourne”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The Olsen is the perfect boutique property located in the heart of Melbourne's South Yarra. The hotel is the perfect base for a stay in Melbourne, located on the famed Chapel St, it's also a couple stops from Flinders St station. Themed around the art of John Olsen, the hotel has a quirky, boutique feel without being too designer that it takes away from the practicality of the room.

We stayed in the Kimberley Suite, a 2-Bedroom Deluxe Balcony Suite on the 9th floor. The room was flawless. The Olsen's website accurately describes the room and the photos are a true reflection of what you are going to walk into. It really felt like a 'home away from home' - if only my own home was so perfect.

The glass pool was really cool, and interesting seeing peoples reaction when they see you swimming above them.

Had breakfast at Spoonbill which was really good. We usually tend to avoid hotel breakfasts but the one at The Olsen was up there with the best of them.

The Olsen set the benchmark and I don't think I'll be able to stay in another Melbourne hotel again.

Room Tip: Higher floors with views over Chapel St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joedolpire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
We value all feedback that we receive from our guest and we thank you for taking the time to write such an informative review!
The Kimberley Suite is one amazing suite that is correct. The Two Bedroom Deluxe Suites are excellent for many occasions with the lounge room and two separate bedrooms. Hearing that we set the benchmark for hotels in Melbourne is exactly the feedback we want to read and we hope to see your family and yourself again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,033
    405
    133
    56
    26
See reviews for
182
649
131
421
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Located in the heart of Melbourne's South Yarra boutique shopping area, this hotel proves a very easy base for a weekend stay in this shopaholics and foodies heaven. It's also sufficiently close to the city to make diversions there an easy addition to any stay. Themed around the art of John Olsen, the hotel has a boutique feel - its not just another Hyatt, Intercontinental, undifferentiated international chain. This is reflected in the choice of materials (both solid and soft) and furnishings - which are not standard chain 5 star fare. So the benefits are a quirky feel, pleasant staff and a great location. On the flip side, there is limited parking (the small 2 storey underground car park was very full during our visit - the staff will solve this by valet parking offsite for you, but it all adds time when you go to collect your car. Note there is other parking close by if you want to walk across the road) and small rooms (we had a standard Queen bed "suite" which is really simply a small standard room by any measure with a sink and microwave so you can prepare snacks in your room) and limited public spaces (no big lobby areas for instance, poor congested driveway and as a result, no 'statement' entrance). A couple of issues we noted - the staff (or the electronics?) turn off the room A/C during the day. When we went to bed, the room was a perfect temperature and we failed to notice the a/c was off - by morning, with the sun hitting the side of the building the room was on, it was baking, we dehydrated badly and woke with headaches; so just remember to turn the a/c on before sleeping...). The bathrooms are small but clean and adequate - really one person at a time. Staff use guest lifts to move trolleys and the like for domestic chores - unlike most larger 5 star places where service lifts separate guests and staff). We only tried the in-house dining for breakfast. The pricing was fair but quality slightly disappointing (Eggs Benedict had congealed hollandaise seemingly from a bottle, slightly greasy ham, over toasted bun etc.). Coffee was average by Melbourne's high standards. Wifi internet is an extra charge. Overall, this would be 5 star 'lite', especially at the price and doubly so when compared to 5 star in Asia.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cosmas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night whilst attending an engagement party. Picked the hotel based on its location, but got so much more. The rooms are large and well appointed, the staff literally tripped over each other to help us. I very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Semisential
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Overall we were really pleased with The Olsen.
Chapel Street is great for shopping, but if you want to head into the city that's fine too as the 'South Yarra' train station is only about 5 mins walk, and you're only about 3 stops from Flinders St station.

A couple of things to note about our stay:
- When we checked in, we were a bit early so the receptionist said she would give us a call when our room was ready. We actually didn't hear back but when we popped by later the room was ready.. this didn't really bother us, but not the best first impression.
- Our room was nice and spacious for the two of us. We booked the Deluxe Studio Suite.
- The bed was really comfortable, and the bathroom had a great shower. Everything was spotless, as it should be! We stayed over new years, so the free movies on demand were great when we were feeling a little bit under the weather from a few too many drinks.
- The shampoo and conditioner provided were a top quality brand - 'evo', which is one of my favourite brands .. might not be a big deal to many, but I think it's the little things that count.
- The hotel restaurant 'Spoon Bill' served good quality food, but their coffee let it down. I love a good coffee, and if you do too, I would recommend heading to 'The Final Step' which is a few mins walk away. I would also recommend checking out 'Two Birds One Stone' for breakie/coffee.
- We ended our stay on a positive note, as the gentleman who helped us check out, was really friendly and very genuine and it's people like him that make all the difference.

So if you are thinking about staying at The Olsen, I say go ahead!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_good_life_1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
585 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed in a suite on the top floor for two days. The view is great. The room, decor, service, everything was great. The mattress of the bed was excellent.The staff were always very polite and friendly. The location is great and close to everything. The wifi in the room is not free, but is inexpensive. Many small sidewalk restaurants in the area. However the best of all was the hotels' own Spoonbill restaurant, with an excellent menu, well prepared food and very reasonable prices.The restaurant staff were also very friendly and a great place to stay and eat.

Room Tip: Go for the suite, the room is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dajoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave [The Olsen] this review.

The hotel can offer terrific views especially from the top few levels. Exciting to read you had such an amazing stay. Our team members are very passionate individuals and this is on display for all to see here at the hotel.

Spoonbill is really starting to make a name in and around South Yarra. You summed up the restaurant perfectly and the team also thanks you for this valuable feedback.

We will all look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

The olsen is a beautiful hotel!! Great Location! Great Service! Great Views! Great pool!... I have no complaints at all!

I Have been very very impressed with the Olsen hotel and I cannot wait to stay there again! The rooms are just so nice and the bed and pillows are the most comfortable I have ever slept in!

I am very happy!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank you kindly for your feedback in regards to your recent stay here with us at [The Olsen].

It was ‘Great’ to read that you had no complaints and had such a wonderful stay. The bedding certainly is amazing. Our signature beds combined with our specially designed pillows always make for a great night’s sleep!

We look forward to you sleeping over again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Arrived on a friday afternoon the driveway entrance was blocked and we waited for car to be valet parked and waited and waited...ended up geting out of the car and going into reception and asking them to please park the car being new to the area we had no clue where the best parking was so we had preplanned and called ahead to use hotel valet parking. This caused a small drama for the Concierge staff as they couldnt find the keys to the car that was blocking the driveway and because this was highlighted by our arrival the concierge member of staff was a behaving a bit like a very good looking "brat" to say the least. So checked in no smiles at reception and we were rushed through check in with no info given about the hotel where brekky was etc. Mmmm ok not a good start! Staff seemed reluctant to interact or be friendly Im not sure if they just dont work well under pressure or couldnt be bothered I hope the first, as this hotel is unique and they would do it a grave diservice. A word comes to mind its called ATTITUDE and this hotel oozes it! Room was amazing funky small but well designed clean lines and user friendly decor and if you love art you will love this hotel its like a floating canvas! Bed good linen fresh clean and it was cosy. I loved this hotel and may return due to the quality and visual experience if only the staff were friendly?However that being said its the little things like LED lights in the shower along the wall, silver "paint droplet" coat hooks on the back of the door, skin/eco friendly toiletries and giant freckles in the mini bar. They have decent herbal teas in the room they stock quality products in the mini bar even vitamins (yes vitamins) and this made this hotels room for us a delightful discovery. I compliment this hotel on its attention to detail and supporting and promoting the use of local prouducts alot of the big chains could take a lesson form The Olsen. The room was a visual delight. Didnt use the facilities as we had an event to go to and were late only 1 min walk has you in busy Chapel st and right near the Como centre - perfect location if you are attending an event in this area. We booked through WOTIF but if you book DIRECTLY THRU the hotel website they wil do a better deal which they honored at check in as was their current special regardless of where we purchased our accomodation. Id stay again my only compliant would be STAFF the reception and conceirge staff let us down. Being from out of town when we travel we like to feel welcome and we make use of a Concierge. The Concierge can help make or break your trip and theres nothing like local knowledge. The valet parking was a pain in the butt and made a bad first impression and when we asked for directions later before heading out it was like we had interupted the same concierge staff member from his very important business which clearly was not us!LOL I travel alot and felt like saying" Hey champ if you dont like to be hospitable then dont work in the hospitality industry - its that simple" when we didnt just go away after his intial fob off another concierge staff member came over and assisted him in helping us?? I anticipate a pretentious attitude at the big hotels in capital cities and you do get it but usually they can be won over in a heartbeat this guys frown wasnt going to budge, like I said attitude ...and due to this lack of interaction it left me wondering:" perhaps the Olsen is all show no go? Anyways for $200 a night in the heart of chapel st on a Friday night it was a DEAL you cant go wrong. I cant comment on hotel facilities or room service as was a flying visit. However I would go back the enviornment location and price were purrfect perhaps the staff were having a bad day?Give them a try and let me know!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McGorgey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
The Olsen Management team and I would sincerely like to thank you for this very valuable feedback. Thank you for these positive comments you mentioned in regards to the bedding, décor, hotel facilities and the location. These certainly are terrific points that we are proud.
However in regards to the various negative incidents you encountered with our Front Office team members in which you were extremely dissatisfied, this simply is not the way we operate here at [The Olsen]. This is not a level we expect of ourselves and pride our reputation on. providing genuine, professional and welcoming service is one of the most important goals for the entire Olsen Team and it seems we certainly let ourselves down during your visit.
We would appreciate if you could contact the Front Office Manager - Amy Moylan directly on 9040 1222 to discuss further in detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#15 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Olsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Olsen

Property: Art Series - The Olsen
Address: 637 - 641 Chapel St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Olsen 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Melbourne’s prestigious Chapel Street, The Olsen Hotel offers travelers premier South Yarra accommodation with 229 elegant five-star suites that are infused with the lyrical works of revered Australian Landscape artist Dr John Olsen. Breathtaking mural and sculpture greet you on arrival and large prints adorn all hallways and suites. This boutique Melbourne hotel is complimented by a day spa and two delicious restaurants; you will be reveling in the Art of [Creature Comforts]. At The Olsen Hotel, one can sleep soundly on Art Series Signature bedding, plunge into the spectacular glass bottom pool with Chapel Street shoppers below, work out in our state-of-the-art gymnasium or step out for some retail therapy. These South Yarra accommodations offer plentiful natural light and are thoughtfully appointed with 42” flatscreen televisions, wireless internet access and complete kitchenettes.For a longer stay settle into an exclusive art inspired residential suite.Olsen is regarded as one of Australia’s greatest living painters and won the Archibald Prize in 2005 for his portrait Self Portrait Janus Faced.Experience Olsen’s charm, wit and passion for life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Series - The Olsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Olsen Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing