We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Art Series - The Olsen
Ranked #27 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Really enjoyed staying at this hotel - great position - staff fantastic - able to hire a Smart Car - sensational - Rooms good size with a good view along Chapel St - Love the bar - good service (maybe too good our first night!!) Breakfast a little haphazard - but good coffee.

Room Tip: ask for a room with view over Chapel St
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huntjudy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear HuntJudy66
Thank you for your terrific review, we are thrilled you enjoyed our time with us at the Olsen.
Great to see you spotted our smart cars which can be hired for the day or even hourly for just $10! Our cars along with bikes are great way for our guests to get around town.
Hope to see you back soon,
Amy Moylan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,056
    414
    135
    60
    26
See reviews for
185
668
133
432
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I chose to take my crew to Spoonbill for lunch last Sunday. My paella was delicious, the Mojito refreshing and the pear dessert amazing. One of guests enjoyed the Snapper (whole) and the presentation was perfect.

After sharing a great meal, we stayed in the spacious two bedroom apartment overnight. From the balcony my partner and I enjoyed views over the city. Comfy bed, quick room service (the best tasting burger - ever!). Try the vegetarian breakfast - so nourishing.

The service was friendly and efficient - nothing was too much trouble.

I love The Olsen. It's unearthed a sizeable nugget of Australian pride knowing that the hotel features the amazing artistic talents of Dr John Olsen.

I could go on, but I'll just say, you must experience the hotel yourself.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hermina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Hi HerminaB,
Thankyou for taking the time to review the Olsen Hotel and tell us about your stay.
We are delighted to hear you had a brilliant lunch in Spoonbill our Head Chef was happy to read your comments as we are very proud of our current menu and of course our paella which is our signature dish. Glad you had such a terrific time surrounded by our beautiful artwork.
We would love to see you back soon over summer,
Kind Regards
Amy Moylan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Great hotel stay at The Olsen for two nights this weekend. Especially enjoyed the art and the modern interesting rooms and the very pleasant and efficient dealings with all staff members I encountered.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmcp47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for your review on the Olsen, So thrilled to hear you had a great time with us and found our staff helpful, we are proud to have a wonderful team on board.
Hope to see you again soon!
Regards
Amy Moylan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Got a good last minute price at the Olsen. Great location in S Yarra among restaurant, coffee shops and bars. Great service at the front desk. Room a bit blinged out - clear plastic chairs and lot of chrome - not really my style but looks good. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Hello PaulV,
Thank you for your review, we appreciate it!
We are thrilled that your enjoyed your time with us and loved the location of the Olsen.
Certainly there are amazing cafes, shops bars and restaurants popping up all around the Olsen and it’s a great location to truly explore all that South Yarra/ Richmond has to offer.
We look forward to seeing you again soon,
Regards,
Amy Moylan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here over the Derby Day weekend and couldn't have asked for a better experience. Even though it was one of the busiest times of the year in Melbourne, all the staff were extremely friendly, attentive and if we asked or enquired about anything they were onto it straight away. Overall an excellent experience, The Olsen will definitely be our first choice when we are next in Melbourne.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Hello DebbieM,
Thankyou for your awesome review, we love hearing that you had a terrific time at the Olsen and our staff looked after your needs.
Although it would have been a busy time in Melbourne over the Spring Carnival we love these fun event times here at the Olsen and we are glad we could have shared this with you and your boyfriend.
Cheers!
Amy Moylan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I've had a few people tell me this is a good hotel so I decided to give it a try on a recent business trip. Whilst I only stayed one night, I really didn't rate the hotel and won't be rushing back.

Why?

Firstly, the check-in experience was annoying - after 10pm at night the lobby had music blaring to the point where the staff member had to ask me to speak up as he couldn't hear me!

The room I was in was bizarre in its layout. The bed was basically crammed into a corner which made the whole room feel small. I really don't get the plastic furniture trend either.

Whilst the room was clean, the tap in the kitchenette sink was split and sprayed water everywhere but down when used. Overall it just didn't have a comfortable feel to it.

And yet more overly loud club music at reception the next morning...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Hi MarkP,
Thankyou very much for taking the time to review your Olsen stay, we appreciate your feedback.
Myself and Management have taken on your feedback and made some permanent changes with regard to the music, we revamped our playlist so it’s more time of day relative and we have amended the volume levels of our in-house PA system.
Thankyou again for your advice we do hope to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

We don't often stay in Melbourne: if we do it is usually in the Westin or the Langham. This last weekend we were going to dinner with friends just along the road in Toorak and, rather than driving all the way home we decided to stay at the Olsen in South Yarra. And how nice it was! Just right for what we wanted - not too overwhelming - just the right amount of care and service.
Would I go there again? Certainly!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesmW3102FS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Hi jm747,
Thankyou for reviewing us and your stay at the Olsen, we really appreciate your great feedback.
Great to hear you tried a Hotel outside of the city and it worked well for you and your plans, certainly beats the cab ride home!
Thanks again for your great feedback; we love to hear it,
Kind Regards,
Amy Moylan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 160 in Melbourne
2,057 reviews
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#14 of 160 in Melbourne
1,070 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 160 in Melbourne
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Olsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Olsen

Property: Art Series - The Olsen
Address: 637 - 641 Chapel St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Olsen 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Melbourne’s prestigious Chapel Street, The Olsen Hotel offers travelers premier South Yarra accommodation with 229 elegant five-star suites that are infused with the lyrical works of revered Australian Landscape artist Dr John Olsen. Breathtaking mural and sculpture greet you on arrival and large prints adorn all hallways and suites. This boutique Melbourne hotel is complimented by a day spa and two delicious restaurants; you will be reveling in the Art of [Creature Comforts]. At The Olsen Hotel, one can sleep soundly on Art Series Signature bedding, plunge into the spectacular glass bottom pool with Chapel Street shoppers below, work out in our state-of-the-art gymnasium or step out for some retail therapy. These South Yarra accommodations offer plentiful natural light and are thoughtfully appointed with 42” flatscreen televisions, wireless internet access and complete kitchenettes.For a longer stay settle into an exclusive art inspired residential suite.Olsen is regarded as one of Australia’s greatest living painters and won the Archibald Prize in 2005 for his portrait Self Portrait Janus Faced.Experience Olsen’s charm, wit and passion for life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Art Series - The Olsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Olsen Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing