We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the location, staff and bed!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Art Series - The Olsen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Art Series - The Olsen
Ranked #25 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Loved the location, staff and bed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 7 weeks for work and had long stay rates. The location was fantastic. A few hundred metres from the train station, and tram stops just up the road. Supermarket, bottle shop and newsagents over the road made getting supplies easy. I had the family come and stay a couple of weekends and they used the funky pool. It is definitely a cool hotel, with great staff and awesomely comfortable beds.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank chickdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy_Moylan, Assistant Experience Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Chickdale,

I loved reading your review! It is nice to see that you really got to enjoy living at [The Olsen] as a resident and enjoyed the benefits that went along with it.

It is lovely that you had your family come and stay during your time here. The pool is such a great place to cool off and soak up the culture of Chapel Street. The comfortable beds make all the difference! We sell all of our bedding merchandise so you can take the comfort home with you.


Kind Regards,

Rowena Collings
Assistant Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    992
    389
    129
    53
    25
See reviews for
174
627
129
397
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

I have recently returned from a long weekend stay at the Oslen. Perfectly situated on Chapel St for food, shops etc. Upon check in we were able to organise an earlier released room so that myself and 7 gf's were able to unwind after a red eye flight from Perth. The young guy at reception informed us of local restaurants which turned out to be some of the best! Top Paddock was a 10min walk away and everyone of us enjoyed it, the food was amazing as was the service and most importantly... the coffee! The Olsen staff were informative, friendly and also allowed us to stay past checkout for a late flight at $30ph room hire. The rooms were stunning, we stayed on penthouse level. Spacious, clean, modern and lovely in room treats you can buy. One of the girls organised a taxi through reception to a wedding dress shop and later that night they sent us up complimentary champas! nice touch! The only downfall was the Olsen coffee, go elsewhere for a nice brew. Thanks Olsen for a great holiday :)

Room Tip: penthouse floor was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helenefromoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy_Moylan, Assistant Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Helenefromoz,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review! It was excellent that you were able to check in earlier and get off to an early start to your girls long weekend. Our friendly staff here at [The Olsen] enjoy recommeding local cafes and restaurants that we think our guests will love.

Top Paddock does tend to be a favourite amoungst the team! They also have a sister property Two Birds One Stone located even closer to the hotel - maybe one to try for next time?

The penthouse level is definitely a bonus with fantastic views. It is nice to hear that a staff member sent up a celebratory bottle of champagne - wedding or no wedding!

I am sad to hear that our coffee did not make the cut - perhaps next time we can make you something else that can take your fancy.

Kind Regards,

Rowena Collings



I am disspointed to hear that our coffee did not make the cut. Perhaps we can
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

I wanted a special place in Melbourne to spend time with my daughter & her partner (who both work in the world of design) before they headed off to live overseas. Staying in the fabulous Penthouse at the Olsen, surrounded by beautiful Olsen artwork, was perfect for this! It is very stylishly & luxuriously appointed with so many gorgeous spaces to enjoy - from drinks on the balcony, taking in the amazing Melbourne city skyline, to relaxing on the comfy couches. It was fun swimming in the pool watching the world go by down in groovy Chapel Street. The service was friendly and attentive, no task was too difficult. We just wished we had more time to spend there!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cass60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy_Moylan, Assistant Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Cass60,

The John Olsen Penthouse is defintely a fabulous way to see Melbourne's city skyline!

The pool is defintely a great way to see the buzz of Chapel Street.

I am happy to hear that our staff were able to not only meet but exceed your expectations.

Hopefully we will be welcoming you back in 2014.

Kind Regards,

Rowena Collings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a wedding on the weekend and could not have asked for a better experience. Not only a great stay, but great value!

The rooms are just lovely. Well fitted out and exactly what you need. The studio room we had even had a kitcenette and dining table. The bathroom is lovely and products high quality - the bed amongst the best I have slept in any hotel in the world!
It was 42 degrees on one day when we were there and the air conditioning was great. The gym was good and the pool beautiful. My only regret was not having more time to enjoy the hotel.

From the water provided at the front door to the service and fit out - this is one of the trendiest and best places I have ever stayed. We also enjoyed breakfast here and felt it was a really nice option, more than just your standard hotel cafe.

It is in a great location, right on Chappel street and Toorak road for shopping, a short walk into Richmond for wonderful gastro pubs and right near South Yarra train station to get into the city.

I will try and always stay here from now on, whether in town for business or pleasure!

Room Tip: We joined the membership of the art series hotels and got 10% off our room rate and 20% off meals...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EddyCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy_Moylan, Assistant Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear EddyCS,

I am delighted to read such a glowing review and I thankyou for taking the time to write such an informative review of [The Olsen].

We are very lucky to offer full kitchenette facilities in all of our lovely hotel rooms. The beds are defintely a talking point for guests staying with us! We do actually sell all bedding merchandise at Art Series if you wish to take the comfort home with you.

We do not often experience such high temperatures in Melbourne so I am happy to hear you got to make the most of the sunshine! The pool would of defintely been a cool option during your stay.

[The Olsen] is in such a great location like you mentioned near restaurants, shops and public transport. I am glad to hear that you were able to make the most of it.

Kind Regards,

Rowena Collings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Beautiful hotel, friendly and helpful staff .. great location on Chapel Street, near shops, cafes and restaurants, quick tram ride to the city and casino area. Supermarket & bottle shop just across the road. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe studio which was perfect for a couple. Not really room to add a roll-away bed if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yan669902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy_Moylan, Assistant Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Yan66902,

Thankyou for your glowing review from your recent stay with us we were all thrilled to read such terrific feedback.

We are delighted some of our staff really made a valuable impression on your stay, we are very lucky to have great employee that love thier jobs. It sounds like you defintely made the most of the fantastic location surrounding [The Olsen].

We look forward to seeing more of you in 2014!

Kind Regards,

Rowena Collings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Having seen the Olsen advertising its Pool Club from 2-7pm, and Melbourne's heatwave going on, I thought this would be a great alternative to the usual beach trip and headed up to the pool this weekend.

I was expecting something like I'd experienced in LA, or Vegas - sunbeds, fluffy towels, chilled tunes, waiters bringing me drinks and sunloungers.... all for a chilled pool experience.

When we arrived, there was noone there. There were no towels and we had to ask a maid for some. The towels were standard room towels, and quite worn. The pool itself is quite nice, but the sun lounge areas are up a set of black metal stairs which in the 40C+ heat was roasting. Who thought that was a good idea? The lounge areas were dismal - 6 lounges on one side, and three round beds on the other. To order food or drinks, we had to telephone someone! The music started up and with the speakers at head level for the loungers, so you couldn't have a conversation.

This was supremely disappointing. I really urge the Olsen to make this Pool Club what it ought to be, not some marketing afterthough with poor execution.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rahrahsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We came here for a family birthday celebration (3 rooms and 10 people) and couldn't have been happier. Location is perfect, rooms and facilities excellent, but best of all was the service. The staff were sensational and went out of their way to assist with our numerous requests and were proactive in anticipating things we might need. I stay at a lot of hotels for my job and would rate the service here as good as anywhere that I have experienced. I wish I could remember the name on the concierge desk because he deserves special mention. Highly recommended and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tripper4007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Chief Concierge at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
We are delighted to hear you had such a great stay with us here at the Olsen Hotel. We love our location and are happy to hear you enjoyed our rooms and facilities! Thank you for your positive comments on our service we provided to you. We look forward to welcoming you all back to the Olsen Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Art Series - The Blackman
#15 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,971 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,169 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#13 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Olsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Olsen

Property: Art Series - The Olsen
Address: 637 - 641 Chapel St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Olsen 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Melbourne’s prestigious Chapel Street, The Olsen Hotel offers travelers premier South Yarra accommodation with 229 elegant five-star suites that are infused with the lyrical works of revered Australian Landscape artist Dr John Olsen. Breathtaking mural and sculpture greet you on arrival and large prints adorn all hallways and suites. This boutique Melbourne hotel is complimented by a day spa and two delicious restaurants; you will be reveling in the Art of [Creature Comforts]. At The Olsen Hotel, one can sleep soundly on Art Series Signature bedding, plunge into the spectacular glass bottom pool with Chapel Street shoppers below, work out in our state-of-the-art gymnasium or step out for some retail therapy. These South Yarra accommodations offer plentiful natural light and are thoughtfully appointed with 42” flatscreen televisions, wireless internet access and complete kitchenettes.For a longer stay settle into an exclusive art inspired residential suite.Olsen is regarded as one of Australia’s greatest living painters and won the Archibald Prize in 2005 for his portrait Self Portrait Janus Faced.Experience Olsen’s charm, wit and passion for life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Art Series - The Olsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Olsen Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing