We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel. Great service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Art Series - The Olsen
Ranked #27 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel. Great service.”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at The Olsen for a weekend away from Sydney. What a fantastic hotel. Greeted by lovely staff including my personal favorite Jarrod who was always helpful and smiling. The artwork and decor put the finishing touches on a great hotel!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowena C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Andrew B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic review regarding your recent stay with us. Thank you for your kind words regarding the team here at [The Olsen]. I will be sure to pass on feedback to Jarrod who will be extreemly happy that he was able to assist in making your stay more enjoyable.
We are very fortunate to have an array of John Olsen artwork on display for our guests.

Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you again!

Kind Regards,

Rowena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,036
    405
    133
    57
    26
See reviews for
182
651
131
423
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Had a one night stay at this hotel while on a business trip. Very clean and well maintained hotel. Charming too. Rooms are cosy and comfortable. Good quality supplies of all kinds in the room.

But what I really want to mention is the customer service displayed by their staff member at reception on 19/6 morning. My colleague and I had requested a shuttle service to take us to our office ( complimentary with our corporate package). But someone else from our own company took the shuttle/car that Olsen booked for us. The lady at the reception was extremely apologetic although fault lies with those who just got into our car without a prior booking. She got us a reliable taxi driver who knew exactly where our office was and would drop us there without further delay. I was impressed by her sense of responsibility and level of customer service. This is what the hospitality industry should be all about. I hopes the hotel recognises this amazing staff member.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatMelody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowena C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear PatMelody,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. I am very happy to hear that you loved your room. I am delighted to hear that you received such fantastic service from a member of our team. I have found out who you spoke with and told her your kind words, you have really made the teams day!

In regards to the morning transfer, It is fantastic that my colleague was able to assist and ensure that you were able to get to your office on time. I am also impressed by her sense of responsibility and level of customer care. We defintely do acknowledge and recognise this amazing staff member.

Kind Regards,

Rowena


Kind Regards,

Rowena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I was celebrating my mother's birthday and we had a beautiful spacious room with fire place. Friendly service from the front desk staff who made us feel very welcome and an extra touch of kindness with complimentary sparkling wine and sweets in the room on arrival.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alana-GraceH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowena C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear alana-GraceH,

I would like to wish your mother a belated "Happy Birthday" I hope she enjoyed her special day here at [The Olsen]. We are very fortunate hear to have an array of rooms and one with a fire place is defintely a nice touch now that winter is approaching.

I am delighted to hear that the staff made you feel very welcome and that you received a treat on behalf of the hotel.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a wonderful review.

Kind Regards,

Rowena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at the Olsen on the Sunday night of the long weekend on the 8th floor. Having read all the good reviews we were looking forward to a relaxing night away from the kids. Unfortunately we would have had more sleep had we have stayed home. It was very very noisy many many times through the night and it was very smokey to the point we both woke with sore throats. The reception staff were nice through out our stay but when we told them about our bad night their reply to us was why didn't you call us and yes we had some trouble on the 8th floor last night they were young and the hotel is non smoking someone must have been smoking through the vents. I didn't want to stay somewhere where I would have to be making calls to the reception in the middle of the night complaining about guests which was why I chose a boutique hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowena C, Public Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Sarena C,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review regarding your recent stay with us. In regards to the issues you experienced during your stay I can only apologise for any noise you experienced. In addition you are absolutely correct we are a non smoking hotel.

I would like to discuss this further with you as I do not believe you were able to receive the Art Series Experience we wish our guests to receive. Please do not hesitate to contact me direct.

Kind Regards,

Rowena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The location of the Olsen Hotel is perfect and the staff were very professional and friendly and understand service.
Although our room was a little small and our request for a balcony room somehow got lost!
However this sort of new boutique hotels are getting it right.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowena C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Louise C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us here at [The Olsen]. I am delighted to hear that were impressed by our team here.

I apologise if you were unable to get the balcony request during your stay, perhaps we can allocate it ahead of time for your next stay with us. Once again thank you for writing a fantastic review.

Kind Regards,

Rowena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My Melbourne home! Amazing room, friendly staff and the resident restaurants are simply delicious! You dont need to leave! But if you do, you only have to walk a few steps and you're on Chapel st- one of Melbourne's best hsopping strips with everything at your finger tips!

Have to mention Jarrod who is always a pleasure to deal with and always makes me feel welcome. He remembers every little detail which makes me feel valued and not a number in the system.

Well done guys!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowena C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Christian C,

What a fabulous review to receive! I am absolutely thrilled that you have enjoyed a return visit to [The Olsen]. It sounds like you have explored and enjoyed all that South Yarra has to offer.

Jarrod is one our of Duty Managers here at [The Olsen] and I am delighted to hear that he has made your stay one to remember.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Kind Regards,

Rowena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel because I liked the look and classy vibe. Was bitterly disappointed. 275 dollars and they still charge for EVERYTHING including wifi for three dollars and hour and plastic water bottles on the bedside table for three dollars. Just looks cheap to have the price on everything in an expensive hotel room. Yuk. We were on the 10th floor the windows were filthy and the restaurant menu and hotel instruction booklet had greased finger prints all over it. The kitchenette was dirty and the electricity sockets were moldy. It was a sad surprise to find the hotel in such dire straights. The kicker was my spa experience were I was told I wasn't allowed to take the bathrobe back to my room (???) So was made put my clothes back on after an oil massage. The receptionist was a sour faced lady who made our welcome to the place pretty dire. What a dizzappointment I was so looking forward to this place.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tollu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowena C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear tollu,

I have found your feedback and recommendations to be most helpful, and the details that were overlooked throughout your stay shouldn’t have occurred.

I do sincerely apologise we didn’t achieve the level of service we do strive for when it comes to meeting your needs, with regard to the clear problems in your suite with the cleaning issues I can only appologise as it is not the the impession we wish for our guests to receive.

Again your feedback was most helpful, Please feel free to contact me direct as I would like to further discuss your recent stay in more detail.

Kind Regards,

Rowena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Art Series - The Blackman
#12 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#15 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Olsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Olsen

Property: Art Series - The Olsen
Address: 637 - 641 Chapel St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Olsen 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Melbourne’s prestigious Chapel Street, The Olsen Hotel offers travelers premier South Yarra accommodation with 229 elegant five-star suites that are infused with the lyrical works of revered Australian Landscape artist Dr John Olsen. Breathtaking mural and sculpture greet you on arrival and large prints adorn all hallways and suites. This boutique Melbourne hotel is complimented by a day spa and two delicious restaurants; you will be reveling in the Art of [Creature Comforts]. At The Olsen Hotel, one can sleep soundly on Art Series Signature bedding, plunge into the spectacular glass bottom pool with Chapel Street shoppers below, work out in our state-of-the-art gymnasium or step out for some retail therapy. These South Yarra accommodations offer plentiful natural light and are thoughtfully appointed with 42” flatscreen televisions, wireless internet access and complete kitchenettes.For a longer stay settle into an exclusive art inspired residential suite.Olsen is regarded as one of Australia’s greatest living painters and won the Archibald Prize in 2005 for his portrait Self Portrait Janus Faced.Experience Olsen’s charm, wit and passion for life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Series - The Olsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Olsen Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing