We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Art Series - The Olsen
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Novotel Melbourne on Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$148
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$101
US$95
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$138
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$213
US$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$94
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$82
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$156
US$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$319
US$257
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,928)
Filter reviews
1,928 results
Traveller rating
1,186
480
162
69
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,186
480
162
69
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschapel streetsouth yarraspoonbill restaurantglass bottomsmart cardeluxe studio suitesun decktoorak roadboutique hotelrestaurant downstairsroom servicemini barlittle thingslocation is greatlate checkoutgreat roomcomfy bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,060 - 1,065 of 1,928 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I really loved my stay at the Olsen. I went with a girlfriend for the weekend for a girly getaway. The hotel is very modern and comfortable with really great service. I love the location as it's walking distance to some great cafe's, restaurants and the shopping on chapel street. Will defintiley stay hear again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowena C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Susan B,

Thank you for writing a lovely review regarding your recent stay with us here at [The Olsen]. It sounds like you had a great girls weekend away.

Thank you for your kind words regarding the team, great service is defintely what we wish for our guests to experience whilst staying with us.

I am happy to hear that you loved the buzz of Chapel Street and all it has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,

Rowena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I have been staying very regularly at this 4 star hotel for several years and it's a welcoming place to stay for business or a holiday weekend. The rooms are comfortable, clean and well appointed vs luxurious and the location close to the yarra river and a short run/walk to the botanical gardens is ideal. Being on chapel street great shopping and restaurants are close by. It's not 5 star but it's very friendly team and location make it feel special and the art of John Olsen is an added bonus.
A creative persons haven.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowena C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Michael H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us here at [The Olsen]. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoy staying with us on both business and leisure.

We are very fortunate to be located in South Yarra close to shopping precinct of Chapel street and as you mentioned the Botanical Gardens is a stone throw away.

I loved that you mentioned it is a creative persons haven it is defintely something that we aspire to be.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic review.

Kind Regards,

Rowena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Sadly we only got to spend one night at this hotel during a fleeting visit to Melbourne and I could have spent a lot longer! The second we entered the hotel we were greeted with the most gorgeous scent wafting through. Whether it was scented candles or something else, it was the most beautiful scent and it set the tone for a hotel that overlooks nothing! This hotel has a cute wee smart car outside, some vintage push bikes for hire, a really cool pool area and a great cafe at the bottom. Everything you need all in one place!

Our room was stunning, beautifully appointed with a range of up to date magazines (brand new), lovely toiletries and a seriously comfortable bed. Positioned on Chapel Street you really can't ask for a better location to explore some of Melbourne's best shops on Chapel Street, Armadale etc. The staff were excellent and introduced me to Burch and Purchese, a simply divine artisan cake store next door which was the perfect place to buy a surprise birthday cake for a friend. Amazing!

Normally we stay with friends in Melbourne but we cannot wait to get back here! I would recommend this in a heartbeat and hope to return as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NicolaAlpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowena C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Nicola,

Thank you for writing a wonderful review regarding your recent stay with us here at [The Olsen]. We may have a secret for the scent in our lobby and I think it is fantastic that you have written your initial first impression arriving at [The Olsen].

Our Smart Cars and Dutch Lekker Bicycles are a popular option for guests to hire. We are very lucky to have a funky glass bottom pool that overlooks Chapel Street.

I am very happy to hear that you loved your suite! We like to provide guests with interesting magazines. We use Evo bathroom products which are fabulous!

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your experience here at [The Olsen].

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Rowena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

The staff were friendly and the room was comfortable which is why we've given 3 out of 5, but there were a number of shortcomings that we would not normally expect from a 5-star hotel:

1. They took the entire room cost plus $100 for a deposit on the Friday. It's now Monday evening and we're still waiting for our money back, so effectively the hotel is currently holding double the room charge plus $100. Assuming this was an error and not standard practice.
2. TV had a fault whereby the screen kept fading and sometimes blacking out.
3. Ipod player didn't work properly. Kept stopping briefly every few seconds.
4. Upgrade was offered a few days before our stay. However, hotel was full so it couldn't be honoured. Understand these things aren't guaranteed, but it did cheapen the offer somewhat. Why not just give the upgrade to us and then make our existing room available to another customer?
5. A few other minor details like the toiletries not being replaced.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Sjs1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowena C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Sjs 1999,

I am dissapointed to hear that you experienced numerous shortcomings during your recent stay with us here at [The Olsen].

It is Art Series Hotels policy to take a preauthorisation of the accomodation plus $100.00 for incidentals. This should of been advised upon arrival, in addition if you use the same credit card on check out it will release the difference on your account.

If you did use a different credit card, eftpos or cash on check out this may be why there is still a pending charge on your account. I do apologise if this was not communicated to you.

In regards to the Television and Ipod player not working properly I have alerted our maintenance team. The toiletries should defintely be replaced on a daily basis so I do apologise as this should not of occured.

I would like to discuss with you your stay further as I do not believe you were able to enjoy the Art Series Experience we wish for our guests to have. Please do not hesitate to contact me direct rowena_collings@artserieshotels.com.au.

Kind Regards,

Rowena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We recently stayed for one night and were impressed with our room and its appointment. Our studio suite was tastefully decorated and well presented, with a spacious feel to the room. The bed was comfortable and provided us with a very good night's rest. The close proximity to Chapel St and Toorak Rd with its eateries was convenient and gives one plenty of choices in terms of dining choices. We would recommend this place even for a weekend getaway!

Room Tip: Rooms on the west and upper floors are quieter, just ask reception for a quiet room.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank aushades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowena C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear aushades,

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review regarding your recent stay with us here at [The Olsen]. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the suite and experience that Art Series Hotels has to offer.

We are now selling the Art Series Signature Bedding so you can take the comfort home with you!

We are very fortunate to be located next to all that Chapel Street has to offer.

Once again thank you for writing a detailed review.

Kind Regards,

Rowena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews