We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Work Event / Function”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Art Series - The Olsen
Ranked #27 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Awesome Work Event / Function”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We recently hired one of the Olsen penthouse suites for a work event / function.

Instead of going to a pub or restaurant, I thought it would be different if we utilized the top floor of a cool hotel. I'd stayed there a whole ago and always remembered that having a work event there would be cool and unique.

20 work colleagues and their partners had a ripping time (yes we kept it very above board and not boozy. Everyone was talking about it days after, talking about the great room, great view, great food, great service and great choice.

Highly recommend having a work party or personal party here.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowena C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Alex C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review regarding your your experience here at [The Olsen]. It sounds like you had a terrific time here hosting a work event. We love to receive guest feedback, especially on this occasion when you had an event in one of our lovely penthouses.

I am very happy to hear that your work event was a success and you loved the John Olsen Penthouse.

Thank you for your recommendation.

Kind Regards,

Rowena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,036
    405
    133
    57
    26
See reviews for
182
651
131
423
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel, both valet and public parking within 100m. Close to city and trams.
Modern rooms, good bedding and plenty of room.
Great bar and restaurant, I chose to eat here and was really impressed with the food.
I would definitely come back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dusty677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowena C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Dusty677,

Thank you for writing a wonderful review regarding your recent stay with us here at [The Olsen]. We are spoilt for choice in regards to transport. In addition we are surrounded by restaurants, cafes on the shopping precinct of Chapel Street.

We are now selling our Art Series Signature Bedding so you can take the comfort home with you!

I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the team in Spoonbill Restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,

Rowena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I really loved my stay at the Olsen. I went with a girlfriend for the weekend for a girly getaway. The hotel is very modern and comfortable with really great service. I love the location as it's walking distance to some great cafe's, restaurants and the shopping on chapel street. Will defintiley stay hear again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowena C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Susan B,

Thank you for writing a lovely review regarding your recent stay with us here at [The Olsen]. It sounds like you had a great girls weekend away.

Thank you for your kind words regarding the team, great service is defintely what we wish for our guests to experience whilst staying with us.

I am happy to hear that you loved the buzz of Chapel Street and all it has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,

Rowena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I have been staying very regularly at this 4 star hotel for several years and it's a welcoming place to stay for business or a holiday weekend. The rooms are comfortable, clean and well appointed vs luxurious and the location close to the yarra river and a short run/walk to the botanical gardens is ideal. Being on chapel street great shopping and restaurants are close by. It's not 5 star but it's very friendly team and location make it feel special and the art of John Olsen is an added bonus.
A creative persons haven.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowena C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Michael H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us here at [The Olsen]. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoy staying with us on both business and leisure.

We are very fortunate to be located in South Yarra close to shopping precinct of Chapel street and as you mentioned the Botanical Gardens is a stone throw away.

I loved that you mentioned it is a creative persons haven it is defintely something that we aspire to be.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic review.

Kind Regards,

Rowena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Sadly we only got to spend one night at this hotel during a fleeting visit to Melbourne and I could have spent a lot longer! The second we entered the hotel we were greeted with the most gorgeous scent wafting through. Whether it was scented candles or something else, it was the most beautiful scent and it set the tone for a hotel that overlooks nothing! This hotel has a cute wee smart car outside, some vintage push bikes for hire, a really cool pool area and a great cafe at the bottom. Everything you need all in one place!

Our room was stunning, beautifully appointed with a range of up to date magazines (brand new), lovely toiletries and a seriously comfortable bed. Positioned on Chapel Street you really can't ask for a better location to explore some of Melbourne's best shops on Chapel Street, Armadale etc. The staff were excellent and introduced me to Burch and Purchese, a simply divine artisan cake store next door which was the perfect place to buy a surprise birthday cake for a friend. Amazing!

Normally we stay with friends in Melbourne but we cannot wait to get back here! I would recommend this in a heartbeat and hope to return as soon as possible.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolaAlpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowena C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Nicola,

Thank you for writing a wonderful review regarding your recent stay with us here at [The Olsen]. We may have a secret for the scent in our lobby and I think it is fantastic that you have written your initial first impression arriving at [The Olsen].

Our Smart Cars and Dutch Lekker Bicycles are a popular option for guests to hire. We are very lucky to have a funky glass bottom pool that overlooks Chapel Street.

I am very happy to hear that you loved your suite! We like to provide guests with interesting magazines. We use Evo bathroom products which are fabulous!

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your experience here at [The Olsen].

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Rowena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

The staff were friendly and the room was comfortable which is why we've given 3 out of 5, but there were a number of shortcomings that we would not normally expect from a 5-star hotel:

1. They took the entire room cost plus $100 for a deposit on the Friday. It's now Monday evening and we're still waiting for our money back, so effectively the hotel is currently holding double the room charge plus $100. Assuming this was an error and not standard practice.
2. TV had a fault whereby the screen kept fading and sometimes blacking out.
3. Ipod player didn't work properly. Kept stopping briefly every few seconds.
4. Upgrade was offered a few days before our stay. However, hotel was full so it couldn't be honoured. Understand these things aren't guaranteed, but it did cheapen the offer somewhat. Why not just give the upgrade to us and then make our existing room available to another customer?
5. A few other minor details like the toiletries not being replaced.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sjs1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowena C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Sjs 1999,

I am dissapointed to hear that you experienced numerous shortcomings during your recent stay with us here at [The Olsen].

It is Art Series Hotels policy to take a preauthorisation of the accomodation plus $100.00 for incidentals. This should of been advised upon arrival, in addition if you use the same credit card on check out it will release the difference on your account.

If you did use a different credit card, eftpos or cash on check out this may be why there is still a pending charge on your account. I do apologise if this was not communicated to you.

In regards to the Television and Ipod player not working properly I have alerted our maintenance team. The toiletries should defintely be replaced on a daily basis so I do apologise as this should not of occured.

I would like to discuss with you your stay further as I do not believe you were able to enjoy the Art Series Experience we wish for our guests to have. Please do not hesitate to contact me direct rowena_collings@artserieshotels.com.au.

Kind Regards,

Rowena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We recently stayed for one night and were impressed with our room and its appointment. Our studio suite was tastefully decorated and well presented, with a spacious feel to the room. The bed was comfortable and provided us with a very good night's rest. The close proximity to Chapel St and Toorak Rd with its eateries was convenient and gives one plenty of choices in terms of dining choices. We would recommend this place even for a weekend getaway!

Room Tip: Rooms on the west and upper floors are quieter, just ask reception for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aushades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowena C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear aushades,

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review regarding your recent stay with us here at [The Olsen]. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the suite and experience that Art Series Hotels has to offer.

We are now selling the Art Series Signature Bedding so you can take the comfort home with you!

We are very fortunate to be located next to all that Chapel Street has to offer.

Once again thank you for writing a detailed review.

Kind Regards,

Rowena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Art Series - The Blackman
#12 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#15 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Olsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Olsen

Property: Art Series - The Olsen
Address: 637 - 641 Chapel St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Olsen 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Melbourne’s prestigious Chapel Street, The Olsen Hotel offers travelers premier South Yarra accommodation with 229 elegant five-star suites that are infused with the lyrical works of revered Australian Landscape artist Dr John Olsen. Breathtaking mural and sculpture greet you on arrival and large prints adorn all hallways and suites. This boutique Melbourne hotel is complimented by a day spa and two delicious restaurants; you will be reveling in the Art of [Creature Comforts]. At The Olsen Hotel, one can sleep soundly on Art Series Signature bedding, plunge into the spectacular glass bottom pool with Chapel Street shoppers below, work out in our state-of-the-art gymnasium or step out for some retail therapy. These South Yarra accommodations offer plentiful natural light and are thoughtfully appointed with 42” flatscreen televisions, wireless internet access and complete kitchenettes.For a longer stay settle into an exclusive art inspired residential suite.Olsen is regarded as one of Australia’s greatest living painters and won the Archibald Prize in 2005 for his portrait Self Portrait Janus Faced.Experience Olsen’s charm, wit and passion for life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Series - The Olsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Olsen Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing