We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Sleep I've Had!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Art Series - The Olsen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Art Series - The Olsen
Ranked #25 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Sleep I've Had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Beautiful Boutique hotel with lovely spacious rooms and amazing beds (they are that good that you can actually buy the type of beds from the hotel). My only regret was that I had a busy weekend so didn't get to spend as much time relaxing in the room as I would have liked! Recommend Spoonbill for a pre dinner drink and snack also.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Little_Miss_Madam82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowena C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
"Little_Miss_Mada . . . "

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review regarding your recent stay with us here at [The Olsen].

We certainly do sell our Art Series Signature Bedding so you can take the comfort home with you!

Perhaps next stay with us you can relax and unwind in one of our suites.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Rowena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    992
    389
    129
    53
    25
See reviews for
174
627
129
397
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Very friendly chatty staff, at all hours of day and night.
Quirky nature of hotel is refreshing. Rooms are lovely but ours was a little cramped with no where designated for your suitcase. Price pretty expensive, so only a one night treat!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jusses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowena C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Jusses,

Thank you for the kind words regarding the team here at [The Olsen]. We really do appreciate all guest feedback.

I am delighted to hear that you had a lovely time while staying with us.

Kind Regards,

Rowena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

The Olsen in Melbourne is a fine hotel. Unpretensious, but dedinitely attentive to detail, room full of interesting art, excellent bed, all room and bath features working perfectly, brilliant location. Breakfast is OK and reasonably priced and just next to the hotel is a fine steak house. Staff is friendly and professional. A hotel as hotels should be. All the post modern works of art and books, the design furniture and objects do not interfere with a nice home away from home feeling. I will be back.

Room Tip: High floors have a nice view and are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MPoloSolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowena C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
"MPoloSolo"

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review regardng your recent stay with us here at [The Olsen].

It is always very rewarding to hear fantastic feedback regarding a guest stay. I really appreciate that you mentioned the team here at [The Olsen].

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,

Rowena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

The art work around the hotel is lovely, but it is really all the lovely little touches that make this hotel such a lovely place to stay. The bed and pillows are so comfortable, the shower is good and the service is attentive and friendly. Everything was done well and made our stay very relaxing and enjoyable.

Being on Chapel Street was a great location, plenty to see and do, plus easy access to other parts of Melbourne if you need. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowena C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Nicole,

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review regarding your recent stay here at [The Olsen].

I am delighted to hear that you made comment regarding the little touches you noticed throughout the hotel. We wish for our guests to have a unique and inspiring experience.

We are now selling our Art Series Signature Bedding so you can take the comfort home with you!

I would also like to thank you for the kind words regarding the team here at [The Olsen]. We love to receive guest feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,

Rowena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
166 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Well located close to Sth Yarra station and trams, many apartment developments coming up around the hotel, try to get one with a semi decent view, variable service levels, parking can be a challenge but manageable

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Plain_Truth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowena C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
"Plain_Truth"

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us here at [The Olsen].

We are very fortunate to be located in a fantastic location close to public transport and the buzz of Chapel Street.

I am dissapointed to hear that the service levels you experienced were mixed.

If you would like to discuss your recent stay with us, I would be happy for you to contact me direct.

Kind Regards,

Rowena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

I've stayed at the Olsen twice now, and have loved it both times.

Here's what I love about it — Wonderful staff who allowed an early check-in after traveling for 22 hours by plane; the incredible art hanging everywhere; the super comfortable beds and nice linens; strong WiFi; the kitchenette in my room; plenty of coffee and tea (as in more than two packs); the fact that when I asked for a quieter room (because of construction noise) they gave me one without any hesitation; the food at their restaurant Spoonbill; the Chapel St. district with its great shops, cool cafes and markets; being close to the running trail along the Yarra river.

Some thoughts to make it even better — Put a door on the gym so we don't freeze in the winter months (it's basically open to the outside); the wait staff in Spoonbill could be more attentive and friendlier; make WiFi free; more channels on the TV (e.g. CNN, BBC News).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StorytellerBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowena C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Bill,

Thank you for your fantastic review regarding your return stay with us here at [The Olsen]. I am delighted to hear that you were impressed with the team.

We are now selling our Art Series Signature Bedding so you can take the comfort home with you!

I would also like to thank you for your feedback regarding improvements with the hotel. I have passed this onto each department mentioned in order to strive for improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,

Rowena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived very late at night and were greeted in a warm and friendly manner , our room was beautiful and with the best beds we've ever had the pleasure of sleeping in , lovely room decor, excellent customer service, recommend breakfast at spoon bill restaurant and dinner at steers was very good, pricey but you get what you pay for and we were very happy with our stay

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowena C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Deborah B,

I am very happy to hear that you felt a warm welcome from the team here at [The Olsen]. We are now selling our Art Series Signature Bedding so you can take the comfort home with you!

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed dining in both of our restaurants Spoonbill and Steer.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Rowena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Art Series - The Blackman
#15 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,971 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,167 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#13 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Olsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Olsen

Property: Art Series - The Olsen
Address: 637 - 641 Chapel St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Olsen 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Melbourne’s prestigious Chapel Street, The Olsen Hotel offers travelers premier South Yarra accommodation with 229 elegant five-star suites that are infused with the lyrical works of revered Australian Landscape artist Dr John Olsen. Breathtaking mural and sculpture greet you on arrival and large prints adorn all hallways and suites. This boutique Melbourne hotel is complimented by a day spa and two delicious restaurants; you will be reveling in the Art of [Creature Comforts]. At The Olsen Hotel, one can sleep soundly on Art Series Signature bedding, plunge into the spectacular glass bottom pool with Chapel Street shoppers below, work out in our state-of-the-art gymnasium or step out for some retail therapy. These South Yarra accommodations offer plentiful natural light and are thoughtfully appointed with 42” flatscreen televisions, wireless internet access and complete kitchenettes.For a longer stay settle into an exclusive art inspired residential suite.Olsen is regarded as one of Australia’s greatest living painters and won the Archibald Prize in 2005 for his portrait Self Portrait Janus Faced.Experience Olsen’s charm, wit and passion for life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Art Series - The Olsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Olsen Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing