We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location, Great Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Art Series - The Olsen
Ranked #27 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel, Great Location, Great Price”
Reviewed 25 May 2010

My girlfriend and I spent one night at The Olsen Hotel, Chapel Street, South Yarra, Melbourne and would recommend this hotel to everyone.

The location is perfect - close to all the bars, cafes, restaurants and shops that Chapel Street has to offer along with close proximity to public transport.

The hotel staff were extremely helpful and the art enthusiasts among you will love the art that dons most walls throughout the hotel.

I will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LagerMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Sharrock, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 14 June 2010
Thank you for your great feedback. It is always a pleasure having art enthusiasts through the hotel even if it is just to view our collection of the first level. Our whole team has extensive knowledge of the pieces throughout the hotel through monthly Training with our in-house curator, Jane O'neil, and we would love to take you on a guided tour of the pieces throughout the hotel on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,035
    405
    133
    57
    26
See reviews for
182
651
131
422
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
logatec
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Great hotel with comfortable rooms and excellent staff. The restaurant is one of the best in Melbourne, if you find yourself in Melbourne you have to to try the food there, it is absolutely
fantastic. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank in31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Sharrock, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 14 June 2010
I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the service and thank you for your great feedback. I have passed your positive comments onto our restaurant manager and Guest Experience team. We look forward to having you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2010

I travel around Australia on an ongoing basis. This brand new hotel would be the best i have stayed in It has great art...really great service...abslutely fantastic. It has a great feel ...the staff make you feel very welcome...i am a wheelchair guy so for me the room has to have alterations so that i can cope. ....and it certainly did allow me to cope well.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hollandsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Sharrock, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 14 June 2010
Thanks for the great feedback Mr. Holland. It was a pleasure having you at our hotel and we look forward to having you back again soon. I will pass on your positive comments to the team at the next staff meeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

I loved the building, the hotel itself is beautifully furnished in one of the best locations for great shopping and great resturants, the staff were lovely providing great customer service and were very personable. My room was gorgeous, spacious, I particuly loved the decor and the great bathroom products! The bedding was very luxurious and so comfortable, I slept like a baby. The Bluebottle resturant was also fantastic with lovely staff. Look no further, this is the place to stay when in Melbourne!

Dee Brown, Sydney

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deebeeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Sharrock, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 14 June 2010
Thanks for the great response Dee. We regularly receive great feedback on our beds. Please let me know if you are interested in purchasing one as all of our bedding is available for purchase . I will pass on your comments to the team at the next staff meeting. Look forward to seeing you at the Olsen again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

I recently had a brilliant stay at The Olsen with my husband and son. The room was spacious, decor stunning and service without fault.
Overnight stays are common to us although we normally stick to the city to be in the middle of it all. The Olsen changed my perspective. Our view included the new soccer centre, the Yarra and the city scape. It was stunning!
Being a big Olsen fan I was is my element. Please stay here, you wont regret it.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hael77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Sharrock, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 14 June 2010
Thank you for your great feedback. We also really enjoy having fans of Dr Olsen stay (could talk how we enjoy hearing about the works that they have at home or stories they tell about John etc) . Please feel free to contact myself or our guest experience team to arrange an art tour of the property on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

* Describe the service you experienced
The staff at The Olsen were always helpful.
* Tell us how you liked the room
The rooms was beautiful, decor gorgeous, the bed was SO comfortable which is so important when you are away from home.
* Talk about the location & amenities
Close to train station and Chapel street. The pool was also gorgeous.
* Say what you liked best & least
Overall loved the whole experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PerthCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Sharrock, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 15 May 2010
Thank you for your positive review. Your review has just put the Olsen into the top ten hotels in Melbourne. Hope you can come back and visit soon.

Regards

James Sharrock
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

This hotel combines two of my favourite things, art and luxury. We stayed in a deluxe suite with balcony and it was divine. The furnishings are beautiful and the artwork outstanding. A huge plus is you can hire the cutest "smartcar" (adorned with an Olsen artwork) for just $10/hr or $55/day. What a fantastically simple idea! Another great thing about the Olsen is the staff ,they are very friendly and accommodating and have a great knowledge of the local area. Jason was a very wise choice as guest services manager, he is incredibly helpful and easy to deal with. The only slight glitch we found was the Bluebottle restaurant which also provides the room service. It delivered coffee to the room in paper cups,which is definately not in the 5 star mould, and when we ate at the restaurant, although the food was ok ( I think food in Melbourne is generally v.v.good) , the service was not very polished.e.g. during lunch they unloaded a trolley of beer over the bar into the fridge. Although not a crime, this sort of thing shouldn't occur in a restaurant attached to a 5 star hotel. However, these were very minor incidents in a fantastic long weekend stay. We will definately be back as we travel to Melbourne frequently and can't wait to visit the other hotels in the art series as the open.
( Tried both restaurants at The Cullen,both great,dumplings outstanding.)
So go and stay now and get out of the standarad 5star drudgery!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Sharrock, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 15 May 2010
Thank you for the great feedback Sarah. I was a pleasure having you visit the hotel last week. I have been in touch with the restaurant manager about your comments and he is looking forward to impressing you on your next visit.

Regards

James Sharrock
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Art Series - The Blackman
#12 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#15 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Olsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Olsen

Property: Art Series - The Olsen
Address: 637 - 641 Chapel St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Olsen 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Melbourne’s prestigious Chapel Street, The Olsen Hotel offers travelers premier South Yarra accommodation with 229 elegant five-star suites that are infused with the lyrical works of revered Australian Landscape artist Dr John Olsen. Breathtaking mural and sculpture greet you on arrival and large prints adorn all hallways and suites. This boutique Melbourne hotel is complimented by a day spa and two delicious restaurants; you will be reveling in the Art of [Creature Comforts]. At The Olsen Hotel, one can sleep soundly on Art Series Signature bedding, plunge into the spectacular glass bottom pool with Chapel Street shoppers below, work out in our state-of-the-art gymnasium or step out for some retail therapy. These South Yarra accommodations offer plentiful natural light and are thoughtfully appointed with 42” flatscreen televisions, wireless internet access and complete kitchenettes.For a longer stay settle into an exclusive art inspired residential suite.Olsen is regarded as one of Australia’s greatest living painters and won the Archibald Prize in 2005 for his portrait Self Portrait Janus Faced.Experience Olsen’s charm, wit and passion for life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Series - The Olsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Olsen Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing