We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value with a great Docklands Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Ranked #54 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed here for one night after an event in Docklands. It was well located, and close for us to return to the hotel. The hotel is reasonably new, rooms are spacious enough and comfortable. It would be perfect if you had an event in Docklands, or were looking for somewhere to stay after an event at Etihad Stadium.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Thanks for your positive review. We would agree that you cannot find a more handy position if you have something to go to at Etihad Stadium!

We hope you return soon.

Kind Regards

James Coleman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,807 - 3,813 of 4,126 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2012

The location of this hotels great for short stays- I stayed overnight on my way overseas, so that I was close to the skybus terminal. One downside though is that the hotel is really hard to find! I walk one way before realising I should have cut through the terminal. You then have to locate the lift to get down to the bottom floor and cut down a lane.
Room was clean and well equipped, staff we helpful. Definitely a good base to stay at, and the price is great.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank poptartlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Thank you for your positive comments. We are delighted you found our team friendly - they do take pride in their guest service. We are pleased you also liked the location. We think this is a great spot to be.

We hope you return soon.

Kind Regards

James Coleman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

The Travelodge brand is certainly in better shape in Australia than in the UK. There are no similarities at all, which of course means this hotel is clean, comfortable, well staffed and maintained.

Location in the Docklands area means you will stay in the western end of the CBD, where the banks and financial institutions are. Across the tracks (and accessible from a walkway) from Southern Cross Station, the hotel is very close to the Etihad football stadium, walking distance from the casino, and right near the station where the airport bus stops. Trains and tram stops are very close by, so you can access all of Melbourne from this position. Location is a bit industrial though, not as much street action as St Kilda or east Collins St for instance.

A fairly new build, the hotel is clean, fresh, functional, with characterless decor and furnishings built on a three-star budget. Smallish rooms, decent bathrooms, comfortable bed. Just no wow-factor.

Hotel staff are very pleasant and helpful. Wifi costs $20 per day which is a disgrace yet completely normal for Australia, where hotels are in a price-fixing cartel to milk millions, selling air to customers.

Whatevs...

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clownshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We always appreciate when someone takes the time to let us know what they think - and when it is positive it is even better!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Docklands in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Coleman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed at the Travelodge Docklands for 2 nights due to it's location next to Southern Cross station and good price that we got from Wotif. The hotel is in a fantastic location, only a couple of minutes from the station and a short walk from a number of tram stops and restaurants.

Check-in and out was quick and easy and the staff were friendly. The lobby was large with lots of couches to sit and wait for our friends to pick us up. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable and it was very handy having a small fridge and microwave so we could have our own breakfast.

The room was mostly quiet except for the PA system from the station one night announcing the last train!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank londonbound09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Thank you for your positive review. Our team take great pride in their exceptional service so it is greatly appreciated when someone takes the time to recognise it.

We hope you will return in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Coleman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I stayed 1 night at the Travelodge Docklands in March this year and it was a very comfortable stay. I was allocated a corner room on a higher floor and I had a wonderful view of the CBD. The room was very clean and modern and had everything I needed. There was also a microwave which would be great for longer stays. The queen size bed was very comfortable and the shower had great water pressure. The buffet breakfast was included in my stay and it was more than adequate and the addition of a coffee making machine will be very welcomed by most guests. I will be staying there again on 7 May and am looking forward to it.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on a high floor for a lovely view of the CBD.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KittySoftPaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future!

Kind Regards

James Coleman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This hotel is in a fantastic location, just metres from a major train station, close to the docklands tourist area and easy access to the city centre. The hotel is near new and comfortable.
What should have been a great stay was ruined by the room staff. Despite 3 people staying in the room we were given only 2 towels for half of the days we were there (even when a note was placed on file). There was 1 day when the room was not serviced at all, despite "Please make up my room" sign on the door.
They offer a "green clean" if you place a note on your bed (i.e. they re-make your bed and wipe down the sink using no electricity or checmicals in your room). We found that the staff performed this 'green clean' whether requested or not!
Staying with a baby many times the sheets needed to be cleaned due to the baby spitting up milk etc, so we didn't use the sign, expecting a full service. It got to the stage where we had to strip the sheets ourselves and put them into the shower so they would be changed. We even wrote "please wipe down" in the dust in the bathroom to get the shelf cleaned. We had problems 5 out of 7 nights and even then, for 1 of those 'good' nights we weren't given a tea towel.
I travel often and am used to the occasional hiccup, but this was night after night and really ruined what should have been a great stay experience. The hotel and reception staff were both great (especially Samantha - thank you for your help). . if they train their room service staff properly I would give it 5 out of 5!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aly0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Dear Aly0808

At Travelodge Docklands the team takes great pride in their guest service. It is unfortunate on this occasion we have been let down by our cleaning contract company. From our supplier we expect our guests to receive a clean room and a thorough servicing every day and this clearly hasn't happened.

I thank you for your feedback as it has given me a true picture of the guest experience. I would also greatly appreciate the opportunity to speak with you in person so that I can have some further details to allow me to follow up and to invite you back to Travelodge Docklands.

If possible, please contact me on (03) 8615 1000.

Kind Regards

James Coleman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Got onto secret hotels and travelodge docklands came up at $129.00 a night with a cooked breakfast. probably the best deal we have had in melbourne ever. service excellent, staff very friendly, room lovely and clean, great king size bed, and great buffet breakfast, will be our only stopover anytime we go to melbourne.

Room Tip: I would say they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thanks for your review. The team at Travelodge Docklands are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

James Coleman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#27 of 161 in Melbourne
3,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#40 of 161 in Melbourne
3,473 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#60 of 161 in Melbourne
3,803 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands

Address: 66 Aurora Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £58 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Docklands Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing