We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,666)
Filter reviews
4,666 results
Traveller rating
1,685
2,152
634
129
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,685
2,152
634
129
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsetihad stadiumsouthern cross stationaurora lanegreat locationtravel lodgeroom was cleantrain stationroom servicepublic transporteasy accesswould stay againwithin walking distancesky busgreat place to stayshort staygood sizecollins street
Filter
Updating list...
4,212 - 4,217 of 4,666 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Not a bad hotel, I mean its nice and cheap, good for an over night stay but wouldnt stay for anymorw than that. Front office staff are very friendly, special thanks to 'Jacky' for pointing out some nice places for dinner. The extra service was apappreciated. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happycamper19873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Dear happycamper19873

Thanks so much for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am pleased you recognised Jacky's exceptional guest service - I have passed your comments onto him.

Kind Regards

James Coleman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Not the type of hotel I would "choose" to stay at however bed was big, comfy and clean.

Bathroom was okay - yeah agree weird how the toilet is behind the door.

Either the aircon or me was menopausal -hot one minute cold the next.

I did get the occasional waft of sewage smell mentioned by ther guests I wonder if it is a docklands thing.

Most of the staff I came in contact with we're friendly

I was there for a conference the service for this was hot and cold too food so so

Had a backpacker hostel feel about it

Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
Thank Mumof1fromGlenIris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Dear Mumof1fromGlenIris

Thank you for reviewing Travelodge Docklands. I am pleased you found the team here friendly. They take great pride in their guest service so I am sure they will be delighted at the feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

James Coleman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Stayed on a Sunday night so the area (Docklands & Southern Cross Station) was fairly quiet once the sun set. If you approach from Collins St there's stairs to the street where the entrance is or you can do what we did, use the car park lift situated on the Collins Street level to the right of the stairs - Level 4 is Collins St & Level 1 is the ground level. As stated the rooms are very clean, its a fairly new building, comfy beds and not much more to add to other positive reviews on the hotel itself. If you go to the northern side of Southern Cross station there's plenty of food as well as the Skybus terminal in Spencer Street, so its a great location if you're using public transport. Skybus is $17 one way to Tullamarine Airport, $28 two way (Adult). There's a Coles supermarket a bit further north along Spencer St near the Lonsdale St intersection. A 15 minute walk to Crown Casino, lots of choices for food & entertainment including a Village cimema complex. Check in/check out were a breeze and the staff were very welcoming. If you need to get around don't forget to use the #35 - City Circle Free Tourist Tram. It travels in both directions along - Flinders Street - Harbour Esplanade - Docklands Drive - La Trobe Street - Victoria Street - Nicholson Street - Spring Street - Flinders Street about every 10-15 minutes. Great location if you plan to go to Etihad Stadium.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OzAverageTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Dear Tony_W60

Thanks for taking the time to submit such an informative review on Travelodge Docklands.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the location here and we hope you choose to return in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

James Coleman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Hotel is in a nice spot, we attempted to walk to DFO Docklands and we are fit and was 15min easy each way, bit to far to walk on a hot or wet day. Not many restaurants nearby especially that offer good food - so we went to Melbourne for Dinner. Checkin was a bit of a nightmare we checked in at 1.15pm (a little early) and told to come back at 2.00pm, we came back at 2.30pm and told rooms still may not be ready? luckily the room was ready. Parking is expensive, the hotel offers for $20 a day and there is a wilson parking about 200metres away which is costly also. The rooms are very small (the toilet is behind the door and you have to shut the door to use it. We had booked a King bed which was 2 singles pushed together with a seam down the middle - not comfortable at all. The rooms had everything in them and were adequate. Wouldnt want to stay any longer than 1 night being so small. The rooms were fairly clean - we found lots of stray hairs in our bed and on our towels. The coridors in the hotel are filthy and look like never cleaned. We only paid $90 for our room and was good value for that. Breakfast is available for $14 buffet or $19 on the day, we decided to dine out as the restaurant looked more like a school cafetaria. All in all a nice stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frequentoztravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Dear Frequentoztravellers

Thanks for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.

With regards to the hotels beds - they are Sleepmaker Hotel Supreme King Zip beds - which allow the hotel to change the bedding configuration if needed.

Our parking is $20 per 24 hours - this is amongst the cheapest options for parking in the CBD.

We hope you choose to stay with us again in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Coleman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Nothing significantly wrong with this hotel except it's very bland and characterless (even for a Travelodge). It's very close to Southern Cross Station and the SkyBus terminal, and an easy walk into the city. Docklands are is a grim, windswept tribute to souless urban planning so don't expect to see much life after hours or on weekends.
The King room was pretty cramped, just managing to fit the bed, a desk and a chair.
The microwave and plates/cuttelry etc were a welcome bonus.

The bathroom was quite large but lacked shelf/vanity space, the shower looked eerily like something you'd find in a morgue and there was an unpleasant odour (like sewerage) greeting you as you walked in.

Desk staff were friendly and on the ball.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Dear NoMoreBunking

We would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on Travelodge Docklands.

I hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Coleman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews