We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid and dependable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Terra Rossa Restaurant & Bar

Terra Rossa Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with
Terra Rossa Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #98 of 3,851 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$22
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Description: ou might have seen us down Flinders Lane, in the historic Swiss House building. It's the red brick building on the corner of Duckboard Place (ACDC Lane). You can walk or tram to a number of theatres, concert and sporting venues from our front door, which means we're actually the perfect stop for drinks and a bite to eat before or after the show/concert/match. Plus, we take bookings which can be hard to find in our neck of the woods. This is our story... Pizza, pasta and mozzarella are our thing. We love having guests over to visit. You can come in off the street or give us a shout beforehand to book a spot. We're very accommodating, and not to blow our own horn, have a certain something something. Oh, and we have one of the most handsome Italian's in Melbourne as our pizza chef. Fact.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
595 reviews
352 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Solid and dependable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Been here about half a dozen times. It's solid and dependable. Smallish scallop dish as the lunch special today. No matter, it was very tasty indeed. Service a tad uneven on occasions. Sometimes excellent, sometimes a bit
distracted. No matter. I like the place and will certainly keep coming here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TwoSheds57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    175
    43
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
152 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Really yum food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is a great restaurant. Went on a Wednesady night and the place was packed. Food great - we got a selection of share plates which satisfied the appetite and left room for dessert:) Service is friendly and reasonably prompt - given it was a full house. The lighting is a little dim which makes some of the smaller print on the menu hard to read - had to use the torch app on the phone to read the really small print for the dessert share plate. A really nice experience though and I would definitely eat there again - sample some more of the share plates and desserts. They also have a fairly good choice of vegetarian meals.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CheetahgirlBris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Bustling cozy atmosphere and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Ate here twice while in Melbourne and loved it both times. Everything we ordered was really great and the pizza was the best we've had in a long time. Service is good considering how busy they are. Tables are packed tight so best for friends and family dinning and not for formal business dinners. Overall excellent we will definitely go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank talk2mrjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
84 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Terra Rossa has a very nice warm atmosphere on a very cold night. We were greeted by a friendly waiter and sat at would could be best described as a communal table. Granted it was quite busy but we were then ignored for 15 minutes so went on the hunt ourselves for some menus. We eventually ordered six share plates and some drinks. The drinks took 10 minutes to arrive and the dishes all arrived at the same time. The problem was that they took up just about all of the available table space and one of the dishes was stone cold. The decor is nice and the menu is quite decent but the service is very mediocre. When we went to pay the $180 bill we were told that we couldn't use a Credit Card (not sure if this was a technical issue or they just don't accept cards) so luckily we had the cash on us. There are much better options close to Terra Rosa.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dustin09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“great location, atmosphere & food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Had lunch for four here on Good Friday. Beautiful and cozy interior. Really great menu for sharing. Try the Milanese artichoke hearts! Definitely recommend this spot. super convenient location on Flinders Lane.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bagwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Terra Rossa Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Terra Rossa Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing