We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury without the price tag.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crown Metropol Melbourne
Ranked #32 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Its not quite 5 star but close. Large spacious rooms, great bed, good views. Dark interior, japanese style which we liked. bathroom looked fancy but was not entirely practical and it was hard not getting water in a lot of places.
Loved the fact you were at far end of casino and didn't have to go through it if you didn't want to.
Good cheap shops at this end as well.
The sky bar is worth a vista and the pool looks great but sooooo many kids when we stayed.
Great value, parking and breakfast in the package. Brekky was really good (buffet style) but there is no way you would pay the price they charge for brekky!!!! So get a package.
Service was high, as you expect from this establishment.

Room Tip: Go the package deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnMikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,962)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,700 - 2,706 of 3,963 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

We just had 3 nights in Melbourne and the hotel looks just like it does online. Rooms are big and clean. Staff at front desk are very helpful. Easy 15 min wall to the CBD. You can walk through the crown complex without needing to go through the casino to get to the nice restaurants. Room service was good and reasonably priced. We had a fantastic time.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Munlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is a very clean hotel the rooms are very clean and comfortable, I did have to ask for a firmer pillow and got one without hesitation. Check in was efficient and friendly with everything about the hotel explained on arrival. Staff noted that I did limp due to an old injury and offered assistance in a way that caused no embarrassment. In room dining could have a few more choices. Mr Hives; I noted a comment that it was expensive, my opinion it was what you would usually pay in a large hotel. The food was excellent as was the service and wine selection very good. The 28th floor bar, excellent service and alfresco was great to chat with my cousin over a couple of drinks and some nibbles. Location is very convenient and a quick ride in a cab to anywhere in the city if you are unable to walk far. Checkout was efficient and friendly, indeed a little humour asking if I would like to stay on as there were plenty of rooms available. Smoking rooms are available on certain floors which i prefer rather than being discriminated against. I doubt you would find a better hotel at a reasonable price, look at other web pages as you can often get a better price for the hotel as I did. All up recommended, heaven only knows how many hotels I have stayed in over the years and this one stands out for me. Himself 10

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank himself_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Hotel staff were extremely friendly on check in and check out. The rooms are modern and clean. We stayed in a room on the 12th floor which didn't have much of a view, but we didn't spend alot of time in there anyway.
We got the room rate on promotion for $199 including late checkout of 1pm, so the stay was extremely affordable and good value. We had pre-dinner drinks on Level 28 that night and the service up there is REALLY slow, but it has a lovely view at night time.
We stayed for our anniversary, but didn't realize that it was school holidays, so the pool was overrun by 100 children, but that's not the fault of the hotel.
The only bad thing that happened during our stay is that housekeeping and mini bar came into our room whilst my husband and I were both undressed, but we just had a little laugh about it. It was more a language barrier than anything. My husband yelled out "we are coming", and they thought he said "come in".

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We have stayed at many hotels in Melbourne and this would rate at the top for service. From the moment they open the car door until you leave nothing is a problem at all, this kind of service is hard to find! I had a glass break in our room and when l reported to the front desk the GM was on the phone within five minutes to see if l needed a doctor!
Pool area is amazing and worth spending sometime there.
Loved and will return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Quality service in all of Crown Metropol. The staff are friendly, smiling and polite. Third time guest and will return regularly. Highly recommend to all to experience the best service in Melbourne, VIC.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JodieandGene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This is the perfect spot to stay in Melbourne. It is close to everything and is a very sharp and clean hotel. The pool is beautiful and the staff are all very friendly. Would highly reccomend for families and or couples.

Room Tip: Have had different rooms each time, all have great but different views which makes for an interestin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#31 of 161 in Melbourne
2,524 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 161 in Melbourne
2,413 reviews
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#81 of 161 in Melbourne
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#7 of 161 in Melbourne
5,788 reviews
Pan Pacific Melbourne
#21 of 161 in Melbourne
3,745 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 161 in Melbourne
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £136 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing