We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crown Metropol Melbourne
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Oaks on Lonsdale(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$173
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
US$103
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$198
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$179
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$169
US$138
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$96
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$82
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Claremont(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$53
US$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Art Series - The Blackman(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$191
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$148
US$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (4,128)
Filter reviews
4,128 results
Traveller rating
2,349
1,215
347
136
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,349
1,215
347
136
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmr hiveluxe roominfinity poolcasino complexvalet parkingpre dinner drinksshower and toiletfloor to ceiling windowssteam roomtop floorroom servicebuffet breakfastmodern hotelcity viewcorner roomsouth bankyarra river
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,668 - 2,673 of 4,128 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Great 5 star hotel, friendly and helpful staff. Large clean well designed room with most comfortable bed. Fantastic gym and pool. The venue is walking distance to cafés, restaurants, shops and even cinemas within the Crown Casino Complex. Perfect place to stay in Melbourne. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tweedie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I stayed at the crown metropol in January for the Australian open. The location is perfect. There are plenty of cafés and restaurants and taxi rides where only 10.00 to 15.00 dollars.The rooms where amazing , I was also given late check out at no extra cost. Highly recommend it

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dimitra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

First time stay at this hotel but I have booked fellow team members in here and they were impressed.
I had a weekend business trip in Melbourne and due to the location being so close to the Melbourne Exhibition Centre - I decided to try the Crown Metropol.
Upon checking in very early on a Sat morning, I was greeted with a the best smelling guest services area I've ever come across! There was nothing overwhelming about the main entrance and the hotel is for those that love contemporary decor.

My room was amazing - stayed in a Luxe King room where there was plenty of space and due to the bathroom being intergrated with the rest of the room, it made it look so much bigger (I hope to add some photos sometime soon). If you are someone who needs complete privacy when it comes to the bathroom, there are sliding doors to close it off.

Being in the travel industry for over 20years, I must stay I was impressed to see that the mini-bar stocked woman's deodorant, mouth wash and there was even an option to get pantyhose!!!! Finally a hotel that can look after female travellers!!!!!

After travelling for most of the week, it was also great to have a shower that was strong and not trickling with water. This room does not have a bathtub, so for those of you who want to soak yourselves - then upgrade to a room that caters for this.

My colleagues and I had breakfast in the Mr Hives Kitchen and bar. It also great to see an option to either do full buffet or have a simple breakfast. Due to an early start, I took the simple breakfast option of toast and eggs and it did not cost the earth!! I pleasantly surprised.

This hotel also gives the guest easy access to the Crown Casino, which was great to be able to source various other shops, restaurants and bars for the evening without having to go too far. Especially when one is exhausted after a long day.

I would definitely come back and hope to stay again on either business or personal reasons.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tasia15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I stayed at the Crown Metropol Melbourne for a girls long weekend and we loved it! The rooms were a good size and clean although the carpet is a bit outdated. The pool on level 27 was amazing, especially since the weekend averaged 40 degree days. It was great staying at the casino as everything was close by, there are great restaurants and shops all down stairs and it was only a 10 min walk to the centre of Melbourne. The only thing I would fault if I was to be picky would be the bathroom layout. It was quite open but some people wouldn't find that to be a problem. We would happily stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you for your review.

Thrilled to read you had a great stay with us!
The pool is definitely a fantastic place to escape the heat wave Melbourne has been having.

It is great to hear you will be back, look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We have stayed at the metropol several times now and have always enjoyed our stay.
It is a great location - Away from the main streets of the city but still within walking distance. Plenty to do and lots of places to eat downstairs at the casino complex. Short walk to DFO at south wharf and tram stops across the road from the hotel which will take you to st kilda or into the city
Clean rooms and quiet too. Nice pool upstairs with a view of the city.
Will definitely stay again when in Melbourne next.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katiegirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you for your review.

It is always lovely to hear from our regular guests, as this is by far the best compliment.
We appreciate your continued patronage with us and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews