We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel and relaxing ISIKA Spa - lacks great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crown Metropol Melbourne
Ranked #26 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and relaxing ISIKA Spa - lacks great service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed overnight in a City Luxe King room as a present.
Room was nice and clean but the automatic curtains were broken so I had to call maintenance and was greeted on the phone by a rude lady.
Had an amazing deep tissue massage & pedicure at the Isika Spa but skipped on the pool - too crowded.
Mr Hives room service was nice - Buffet breakfast the following morning was nice too.
Upon checking out with my little one who greeted me the next morning I was not assisted with my 3 bags at valet parking. I waited but no one helped so had to carry them myself with my child too!
Crown you can do better surely especially for the amount you charge!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catalienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,089
    1,079
    307
    119
    69
See reviews for
622
1,477
124
792
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (823)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gippsland, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Love staying at the Metropol. Great location, comfy beds and those awesome thick black out curtains. My only disappointment this stay was the in room dining from Mr Hives. The dessert options were limited and our choices were very disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarrah817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We had an overnight stay at Crown Metropol in a regular Luxe king room. The reception staff were very helpful and the room on the 25th floor was spacious and well appointed. I would recommend this hotel highly. It is conveniently located to many outstanding restaurants and a short pleasant walk to galleries, theatre and the city centre.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wombara1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

This was my second stay at the Crown Metropol in the past three months while I attended a large travel industry trade show at MCEC. The rooms at the Metropol are fantastic - spacious, quiet, modern with really comfy beds and very well appointed. However, after spending three nights here and dining in the Mr Hive restaurant on several occasions, I started to wonder if they only have two staff employed. Went to Mr Hive for drinks on two evenings after our trade show around 5.30pm. Both times the bar was not overly busy but on both occasions service was very slow and the staff looked harassed, almost like they weren't expecting any customers at that time. It was a comedy of errors - wrong drinks, sauces for the chips were brought out 30 minutes after the chips. A colleague and I decided to Mr Hive's for breakfast one morning where it took them nearly 30 minutes to bring two pieces of toast we ordered off the a la carte menu. The toast eventually arrived without any butter or condiments, so I then had to wait for that also. On the morning I checked out I called for assistance with my luggage. After waiting over 20 minutes I gave up and loaded myself up with three suitcases, a laptop bag and a hand bag and made my own way to the lobby. I was never once offered assistance, even as I struggled across the lobby to get a taxi. In summary I would definitely recommend staying at the Metropol if you enjoy a lovely room in a great location. However, unless you have the patience of a saint I would steer clear of the restaurant and not expect any services. Like many five star rated hotels in Australia they simply do not have the staff to offer five star service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiwiofOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

I regularly stay here for business and can say it has probably the most comfortable beds I have every slept in, and the rooms are very nice even with the orange carpet. Would recommend to anyone who likes a nice hotel for business or pleasure.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your review.

It is always great to hear from one of our regular business guests!
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We booked the sky lounge package for a weekend couple escape. The room was comfortable and well appointed, but did not have a bath. No matter as we were busy with cruising Crown, swimming in the amazing pool, and enjoying the pre-dinner drinks. Unfortunately a wedding had booked out the Sky Lounge so we had to settle for Level 3 amidst the concrete, but watching the Restaurant Trams kept us distracted as they loaded nearby.

We had dinner at Mr Hive Kitchen and Bar where the food was excellent, the prices reasonable and the live music coming from the bar great.

Breakfast next morning was up in the Sky Lounge and the best buffet cooked breakfast I have enjoyed bar one (see Indigo Pearl review). Top quality produce and good variety. We had valet parking and despite hundreds leaving at 11am Sunday, their retrieval system was efficient and timely.

Only surprise was the random newspaper. We were not asked which we would prefer in the morning. There was one outside the door as we arrived, and another arrived the next morning but not what I would choose to read.

Our kids would love this place and we plan to return with them sometime.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Only had two nights here on a business trip but will stay here every time in the future. Courteous staff, light and airy room which is very nicely furnished, and a great leisure area on Level 27 - gym, pool and steam room with great views over Melbourne. Free wi-fi a bonus.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acharacle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#24 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#10 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Property: Crown Metropol Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotelopia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing