We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upscale and Clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown Metropol Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crown Metropol Melbourne
Ranked #22 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Los Altos Hills, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Upscale and Clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed here for three nights while on business. The overall experience was positive and the service in all parts of the hotel is excellent. The complex that houses the hotel is sort of an entertainment hub with a casino, other crown hotels, shops, and many high-end restaurants. The river walk is five minutes away. Rooms are well appointed and slow speed wi-fi is free. The gym on the top floor has reasonable equipment and views of the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RajivT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,057
    1,061
    300
    114
    68
See reviews for
609
1,449
122
779
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (813)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Modern hotel with great amenities well located towards the SW corner of the city. Extremely comfortable bed, electric curtains exposing views from the city down to the bay at Albert Park. Wish I could have stayed longer than 1 night.

Had the buffet breakfast in the morning which was tasty, albeit expensive.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warragul, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed in a twin room with our teenage kids to catch some of the comedy festival. The rooms were spacious, stylish and very comfortable. We went to have a swim but the swimming pool was packed to the brim with little kids and families. (It was the school holidays) The casino isn't my scene at all, but once you get into the hotel it is all forgotten. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Twin rooms were very big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fussy_foodie_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed just for one night in the loft suite for my birthday. At first we were very disappointed with the view, but after a quick call we were moved to a higher level and it was beautiful. The room was big and the bathroom stunning. Even though we live in Melbourne it is a great position for tourists.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruthie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

This hotel is certainly nice, and the rooms are very comfortable. One issue with the rooms is that the open bathroom leaves little privacy, as there is only a glass enclosure for the toilet.

The service at the hotel is adequate, but nothing special. Your needs are met, however there is no sense of being a valued guest nor the staff would go out of their way for you.

The pool is quite special, with the ability to relax in the spa overlooking the Melbourne skyline.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We are Melbournians, lived in Docklands, and are avid Spa enthusiasts. So we book a night to enjoy the Spa facilities through lastminute.com. During check-in, we were asked by the staff if we like to have breakfast. We asked if it is included in the room price and was told it was. It was a bit of a nice surprise we thought, because it was not stated when we made the booking via lastminute.com but since Reception asked and confirmed breakfast was included, we thought why not.

Later that day, I rang reception again to ask about the breakfast time and once more reconfirm if breakfast was included in our room booking and was again told it was.

To our horror, when we checked out via Express Check Out Service, we received a bill in the mail few days later and was charged for the breakfast.

I called up and spoke to a guy in Accounts, which was really rude and extremely lacking in customer service, who sarcastically told me that surely with the price Im paying for the room, which is close to $300, I should have guessed that breakfast would not be included! I said it is not because we cannot afford the $90 we got charged for breakfast, but we really felt cheated by Crown since we were told twice by two different staff at Reception that breakfast was included. But I ended up paying anyway coz I got fed up with this Accounts guy and since it was small price for us and he seems as if he needed the $90 more than us, I just said "whatever". They can be sure we will NEVER return to this Hotel again and will pass this message on to every single person we know to be BEWARE if the Hotel asked if you like to have breakfast and told you its included, IT IS NOT!!! Also, the breakfast was really poor quality with minimal selection, it is not worth it!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bearsticky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
291 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Beautiful luxury hotel. We were in a King Room, lovely views, spacious room, great bathroom, quiet, central. Wish I'd bought my swimwear as the pool looked amazing. Bar on 28th floor fantastic, just needs to stay open a little longer than 10pm!! Valet parking a little pricy at $50. Would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazm76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#23 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,281 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#10 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#21 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Property: Crown Metropol Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotelopia and Agoda so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing