We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice and modern”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crown Metropol Melbourne
Ranked #24 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
264 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“nice and modern”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Located in the massive crown complex makes it a fantastic location for dining and entertainment (and gambling), however, it is a very large hotel and not very personal.

the rooms are a great size with 'sliding' walls to the bathroom, it is quite modern and everything works, good flat-screen tv with many channels to chose from. very good wifi.

the hotel location is fantastic and you can easily walk to the town center. My room was on the 24th floor and the view is amazing.

apart from the fact that it is not very 'personal' it is a very good hotel and everything works !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timetraveller64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

The Crown complex is certainly a large place with a lot on offer in terms of dining, shopping and entertainment. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

Whilst we do our best to personalise our guests' stays where possible, I am sorry this was not your overall experience.

In saying that, I would be happy to personally make your next booking with us. Please feel free to drop me a line on my direct line below.

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
+61 3 9292 8888
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,137
    1,097
    313
    120
    68
See reviews for
632
1,507
124
813
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (839)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We booked in early to the hotel after coming off the Spirit of Tasmania that morning, the staff were friendly, helpful and lovely to deal with. The staff took care of our bags and although our room was not ready we were invited to use the facilities and they would text us the moment our room was available.
Our room was made available only a couple of hours after dropping our bags off, and it was lovely, stunning views, clean well appointed everything you would expect of Crown. Thank you for a lovely lovely staff, the Crown staff and attention to details is faultless and we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Looking for a well appointed, quiet room with large comfortable bed and amazing views this fits the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
What a lovely review.

I really appreciate the time you have taken to let us know of your experience. Please be assured that I have thanked the team on your behalf.

I hope we have the chance to welcome you back to the hotel again soon. Don’t hesitate to contact me when you plan your next stay.

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
61 3 9292 8888
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moe, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Located in the crown complex makes it a fantastic location for dining and entertainment.

Rooms are a great size, beautifully modern and immaculately clean.

Hotel facilities are fantastic, pool is beautiful and the view is amazing.

Highly recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMac1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
173 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed here for our anniversary and felt very spoilt. Our son checked in with us for the afternoon so we could use the pool with him. We had a lovely time. It was chock full of kids as it was holidays and families were obviously having city getaways. I loved that children were welcomed (ping pong in the lobby was a lovy touch!)
The views were fantastic and the room lovely to be in.
Breakfast was fantastic and was part of our package so we felt like we had gotten a bargain!
Lovely walk to southgate and the city. Would come again and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed again just for the night to make it easier for my hubby to get to work after our friends wedding.

Check in was a little bit frustrating as we wanted to check in quickly so my husband could have a nap before the wedding (he works 2am -11am). We made it to the lift with our hands full of luggage and our keys didn't work 3 times.

Not once did anyone offer to take our bags up, it was lunchtime on a Monday so it wasn't busy. On my 3rd trip back to the desk I was told he had given me a key for a concierge level room and wasn't that what we had booked. I told him that this time we had booked a standard room but we'd be happy to accept it if he was comping it due to all the fuss we had gone through. He nervously laughed and said no then reallocated us to another room.

This use to be our favourite hotel but the last 3 stays have been very disappointing and service isn't at the level it use to be. I think we will just stay at towers or somewhere else in the future.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Regine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

One of the better hotel stays in Melbourne CBD. Excellent and spacious rooms, wonderful facilities with Crown Casino and Melbourne at your doorstep. The only negative would be to take care of when you intend to book your stay as during the recent Easter break you will find what would normally be an excellent modern business style hotel turned into a children's theme park. Nothing wrong with kids on holidays been there and done that, but when the pool area can't be used at all because it is full, then there is a facilities problem for other hotel guests.
I would also be cautious of check in as this proved to be disorganised and unprofessional. Other than that, I would highly recommend staying here as long as it during a business week and not in school holidays.

Room Tip: Any room above 20th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fezzMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I stayed in a luxe twin room with my mum for her birthday and we just had the best time! The room was modern, luxurious and spotless. The open plan bathroom may not work for some travellers but we were fine with it. We were only on the 12th floor but as we'd booked breakfast on the 28th and could enjoy the pool on the 27th floor we weren't too stressed about that. Oh my goodness the pool!! absolute heaven. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and made us feel very special. The twin room had a queen bed for each of us which was an amazing surprise The breakfast buffet was perfect and the bathrobes were a cute touch. Its a very stylish hotel, we loved the decor.

We enjoyed being so close to the buzz of the casino and all the bars and restaurants. Lots of choice for cocktails and food! As well as being a short tram ride away from the CBD shops and a short walk to the Factory outlet shops on the wharf.

Cannot complain at all. Perfect stay, highly recommend. Definitely a hotel to spoil yourself.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ab20167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#25 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,358 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#9 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Property: Crown Metropol Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing