We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crown Metropol Melbourne
Ranked #25 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Jamaica
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here did a conference at the nearby convention centre. Very convenient location for convention centre. Excellent rooms and service. Good breakfast and reliable internet. Amazing view from the swimming pool. Near tram, aquarium, restaurants. Would definitely stay here again. Friendly staff.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

I couldn't agree with you more in regard to our location. We are only a stone’s throw to the Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre and a short walk to the city centre. Very convenient!

It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy the facilities of the hotel, including the pool, which is always a highlight for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back with us soon.

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,135
    1,095
    313
    120
    68
See reviews for
631
1,507
124
811
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (838)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a luxe king on 9th floor as a sleeping base. Beautifully appointed, large shower, wonderful king bed and clean rooms. Check in was quick. Highly recommend! If staying more than 1 night, perhaps opt for corner king as these rooms have a bath and definitely ask for higher floor for views. Only negative is if staying with a friend in twin rooms, the ensuite is an open plan design (even though there is frosted glass), you won't be able to be discreet in terms of sound.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JustDegusting C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

We sincerely appreciate your recommendation - by far the best compliment in my mind!

Please let me know when you to visit our hotel next. It would be great if we could meet.

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
61 3 9292 8888
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Rooms were brilliant, we stayed in rooms with two queen beds and they were perfect. The Sky Lounge is amazing - we upgraded at check in and were able to take advantage of a great drinks package!
Pool is perfect for unwinding and also has stunning views. Would definitely recommend and stay again. Location isn't in the centre of Melbourne, but in Southbank - only a short 10 minute walk to the heart of Melbourne.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate it.

For that little bit extra, the Club Lounge package is a fantastic way to enhance your stay. I am very pleased that you took advantage of it!

We hope to welcome you back soon but in the meantime feel free to contact me if I can be of any assistance in the future.

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
61 3 9292 8888
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
264 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Located in the massive crown complex makes it a fantastic location for dining and entertainment (and gambling), however, it is a very large hotel and not very personal.

the rooms are a great size with 'sliding' walls to the bathroom, it is quite modern and everything works, good flat-screen tv with many channels to chose from. very good wifi.

the hotel location is fantastic and you can easily walk to the town center. My room was on the 24th floor and the view is amazing.

apart from the fact that it is not very 'personal' it is a very good hotel and everything works !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timetraveller64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

The Crown complex is certainly a large place with a lot on offer in terms of dining, shopping and entertainment. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

Whilst we do our best to personalise our guests' stays where possible, I am sorry this was not your overall experience.

In saying that, I would be happy to personally make your next booking with us. Please feel free to drop me a line on my direct line below.

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
+61 3 9292 8888
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We booked in early to the hotel after coming off the Spirit of Tasmania that morning, the staff were friendly, helpful and lovely to deal with. The staff took care of our bags and although our room was not ready we were invited to use the facilities and they would text us the moment our room was available.
Our room was made available only a couple of hours after dropping our bags off, and it was lovely, stunning views, clean well appointed everything you would expect of Crown. Thank you for a lovely lovely staff, the Crown staff and attention to details is faultless and we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Looking for a well appointed, quiet room with large comfortable bed and amazing views this fits the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
What a lovely review.

I really appreciate the time you have taken to let us know of your experience. Please be assured that I have thanked the team on your behalf.

I hope we have the chance to welcome you back to the hotel again soon. Don’t hesitate to contact me when you plan your next stay.

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
61 3 9292 8888
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moe, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Located in the crown complex makes it a fantastic location for dining and entertainment.

Rooms are a great size, beautifully modern and immaculately clean.

Hotel facilities are fantastic, pool is beautiful and the view is amazing.

Highly recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMac1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
173 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed here for our anniversary and felt very spoilt. Our son checked in with us for the afternoon so we could use the pool with him. We had a lovely time. It was chock full of kids as it was holidays and families were obviously having city getaways. I loved that children were welcomed (ping pong in the lobby was a lovy touch!)
The views were fantastic and the room lovely to be in.
Breakfast was fantastic and was part of our package so we felt like we had gotten a bargain!
Lovely walk to southgate and the city. Would come again and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#24 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,352 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,219 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#9 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Property: Crown Metropol Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing