We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as luxurious as other 5 stars in Melbourne.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crown Metropol Melbourne
Ranked #26 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not as luxurious as other 5 stars in Melbourne.”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

The Crown Metropol is lovely. It is extremely modern, well designed and clean. The staff were polite.
The amenities such as the pool and change room spa were above and beyond anything I have ever seen and used in Australia. It was pure luxury, and as we were staying midweek, it was very quiet and for some time we had the pool all to ourselves! This was very relaxing and special.

The room was nice and clean. The let down for me was the bed. It was firm to the point of being uncomfortable and the pillows weren't that great either.
I normally love a firm bed, so I was surprised that this bed was so uncomfortable.
In my opinion, this bed does not come near the comfort of the beautiful beds at Hilton South Wharf and Sofitel, and for that reason I wouldn't stay at the Crown Metropol again.

However, if you're the type of person who can sleep anywhere, then this hotel would be worth a visit!


  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MB20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

I would firstly like to extend my apologies that you found our beds too firm. We usually get great feedback about the comfort of our beds so I was naturally disappointed to read your comments. For the benefit of our readers, we also have a range of pillows available on request but I am not sure if you had the opportunity to enquire about this with our housekeeping department.

It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed other aspects of your stay, notably the pool facilities and the hospitality of our staff.

When you have a moment, please call me on 61 3 9292 8888 as it would be great to discuss your feedback in more detail.

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,081
    1,078
    307
    118
    69
See reviews for
618
1,474
123
792
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (822)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We came down from country Victoria for a one night stay at Southbank and go to the casino. The room was fantastic and the staff where very pleasant. Loved our stay and will be back thank you. We had a great weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper levels for a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 509christineb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Just recently stayed at Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne. This is a great hotel for a couple of days or more to relax. It is close to the city, and being part of a casino complex offers many dining and entertaining options. The rooms are big, clean, quiet and comfortable. It can be very busy during check inn and check out times. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Good thing about this hotel is the ability to park your car in an adjacent undercover car park for $15.00 per 24hours during week days. They charge little more on a weekend. Than you can access hotel through the undercover walkway on a first floor. If you can get this hotel on special advance purchase price it is good value.

Room Tip: Higher floor better, avoid school holidays if you can, swimming pool very crowded
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christophoros57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at the Promenade my last 3 visits to melb and wanted to try metropol but it just doesn't compare in service.

Like other reviewers, I didn't like the bathroom layout and glass doors for the toilet, also sliding screens instead of walls in bathroom is strange.

We paid extra for the 28 package, managed 3 drinks each in the 90 minutes allocated. Not worth the extra money in my opinion. Staff were really unorganised and service was really slow considering there was a limited menu to order from. Sat night we had Kylie serve us and she was fantastic! She remembered our drinks order and actually looked like she enjoyed being there. Dips is a nice touch but being there a few nights in a row, a bit of variety would've been nice.

Breakfast was a standard hotel buffet, they certainly need more toasters. I'm glad I read reviews that said to order eggs from the waiter as I don't eat scrambled and that's all they had on show. Overheard a few times that they were understaffed, but in a complex that big surely you can find an extra waiter.

30 minute wait for a bowl of hot chips was a little ridiculous, I understand that they come from the restaurant downstairs, but it's not that far away! Even with the slow elevators! When they were delivered to the bar they sat on a tray for almost 5 minutes before the lady gave them to us (They were barely warm).

Room was clean, we had room service remove items from mini bar so we could use the fridge, but it's not very cold. We had to call down an ask for our bags to be sent up, even though we'd left them with the bell desk earlier and asked to have them taken up.

Wanted to try out the pool but it was packed all weekend and being school holidays we decided to stay away from splashy kids.

You can spend your whole holiday waiting for the elevators, I'm not kidding, takes longer than anywhere else I've stayed considering there's 7 or 8 of them in total, especially coming down from 28 to your room.

We won't be back at Metropol, Promenade is a lot better and costs a lot less. Value for money is important when it costs $1000+ for a few nights accommodation. Perhaps pre dinner drinks could be from 5 - 630pm as we had football tickets two nights of our stay and had to leave before 7 to make the matches on time.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Megan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Well, the lobby is very grand and spacious. Check in was fast and good. We were on the 25th floor and yes view on south side is better than the north with the car park, which our friends had. The lift areas are very dark and a little bit of a rabbit warren to get in and out of to your rooms. The rooms themselves are very modern. I didn't really like the bathroom. It has a shower and a separate toilet next to each other in a glass cubicle!! It is all open and you use the sliding doors to block off the view from the room. It is ok if a just a couple but for a family of four or sharing with friends it made it a little awkward as there is a gap down the wall that you can see through, and it echo's!!!! The room itself is very generous. We had two double beds that were comfortable. The tea selection is all herbal, would be nice to have some normal black tea, dilmah or Lipton. You have to go searching for the tea and coffee in the drawers. Breakfast at $38pp is a little Rich. Access to casino and shops is easy through the first floor and especially good in winter so you don't have to walk outside for very much of it. It was nice but I probably wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Crown Metropol is great. The rooms are superb. A view from the South side is best as there is a car park beneath you on the City side and it spoils the views a bit. Good shopping and restaurants all in same Complex.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor room and late check out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

This was our 2nd visit to Metropol and based on our last visit we were looking forward to it. It was my husbands 59th birthday and I let Crown know this on booking. We parked in the standard Crown car park this time @ $15 for 24 hours so well worth it and an easy stroll over to Metropol. I would recommend this parking option.
On checking in to our room we had been upgraded to a room on the 26th floor with a magnificent view of the city and champagne on arrival. Room was large and modern with all the expected amenities an spotlessly clean.
Pool and spa is one of the best ever but always a little crowded.
We love staying at Crown as everything is in easy reach and just a short walk from any entertainment style whether that be dining, shopping or just a drink. Definitely be back and more often.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rosieg30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#24 of 158 in Melbourne
2,316 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
2,171 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
5,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#10 of 158 in Melbourne
1,046 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 158 in Melbourne
3,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Property: Crown Metropol Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotelopia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing