We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crown Metropol Melbourne
Ranked #26 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Morwell, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Huge Rooms”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

A very well presented large hotel whose rooms are very large. With a sixties feel, the room had sliding panels which opened the bathroom into the bedroom area - great for watching TV while dressing. The room has all facilities you would expect and had a great view over the Melbourne Exhibition Centre. Breakfast was comprehensive, but the restaurant very busy and staff struggled to keep up with tea service and dish clearing.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Graeme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,176
    1,121
    320
    122
    72
See reviews for
651
1,532
126
838
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (843)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great location, within walking distance to Tram stop, can walk to Melbourne CBD. Colonial Tramcar Diner stops just down the road. Lots of restaurants and shopping without even going outside. Lovely decor, nice clean and modern room. Housekeeping is excellent, reception staff and valets friendly and helpful. Like this hotel would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineS848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Our visit recently was outstanding. The pool and facilities were world class and the service was commendable. The staff were all very friendly and the room was modern and clean. We were able to check in well ahead of time and staff were helpful and we'll accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gianna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benalla, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I have stayed here numerous times for business, and have always been happy with the rooms I have stayed in. This trip, I had just spent 5 days in hospital after surgery, and wanted a night in luxury before heading home. I know the Metropol is not for those on a tight budget, but sometimes you need to spoil yourself.

The check in was seamless and pleasant as always, but there was no mention of my having stayed there before. I also mentioned the reason for my stay and the fact that I was looking forward to some peace and luxury, and no response. It would have been at least polite to acknowledge my comments.

I brought a media drive with me so that I could relax and watch a few of my favourite movies, but the in-room media centre wouldn't recognise it. Minor disappointment, but when all of the pay-per-view movies are vastly overpriced, it does make a difference.

When I went to take a shower to wash the hospital off me, I noticed that most of the amenities (shampoo, conditioner etc) that were normally in place were not there. I had brought my own, but that's not the point.

Last but not least, I ordered room service breakfast as a treat before leaving for home. The quality was good as always, but the temperature was not. Cold scrambled eggs might be a delicacy in some cultures, but this is not one of them.

Overall, my stay was a little disappointing. I am having surgery again within a few weeks, and will seriously have to consider where I want to stay - the Metropol is no longer my go-to place.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify whether you want a smoking or non-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel and we hope that your recovery is going well.

It seems like we missed the mark in a number of areas and can understand your disappointment with your recent stay.

I would welcome the opportunity to be able to address each of the points you have raised. When you have a moment please feel free to contact me directly on +61 3 9292 8888.

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Crown Metropol Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed over the weekend and had such a lovely stay. This is by far one of the best hotels we have stayed. The place was spotless and the staff at the check-in desk were very friendly. I stayed with my husband and two small children. It was perfect for us. The weather outside was cold and windy but because of its connection to the crown complex we didn't need to go outside if we didn't want to.
To make the stay more affordable we parked in the Crown complex and joined the Crown signature club which made our parking free for 24hours. We also walked to the food court for breaky each morning.
The pool is great, the only negative aspect was the amount of people that were staying made for a very murky hot tub. Understand this is out of the control of Crown. We also lots a baby blanket, it as difficult talking to the cleaning staff about dropping it somewhere between our room and the pool. Their English was poor, but they tried. Our blanket turned up nonetheless and they phoned straight away and held onto it.
Highly recommend this hotel for families and couples. its swishy but good also for families.

Room Tip: Rooms are large, our family of four had plenty of room in a room with two Queen beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldfish20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I have stayed many times at this hotel and have found it to be one of the best in Melbourne.
Very friendly staff and modern
Up to date rooms. The convenience to all the amenities
And restaurants in the Casino is
A huge bonus-as is its closeness to the CBD

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

For a purported high end hotel, the customer service at the crown metropol leaves a lot to be desired. From being held up at the check-in whilst they "check" your room, even after you have given them pre notice of arrival, to the lack of the attention to detail and having to remind staffs as to the lack of complimentary items, only detracted to what is a quality room. The views unfortunately, of what is the "upgraded" room ( at extra cost) leave a lot to be desired. Sweeping "city views" are dominated by lower level car parks and the city lights of South Melbourne are hardly that. After putting all that aside and enjoying the evening, the customer service element eroded the experience, for waiting 15 minutes for luggage retrieval after check out and a car windscreen full of bird excrement, after paying an extra $50 for valet service, only led to more souring of what should have been a "special" occasion.
Thank you crown metropol for making me feel like I lost out and paying a premium for it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJS9669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I was very disappointed to hear of your experiences. I would value the opportunity to discuss your stay further so that we can restore your faith in our hotel. Please call me at your convenience on +61 3 9292 8888.

Kind Regards

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Crown Metropol Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#24 of 160 in Melbourne
2,408 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
2,298 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pan Pacific Melbourne
#20 of 160 in Melbourne
3,649 reviews
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#82 of 160 in Melbourne
1,452 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#12 of 160 in Melbourne
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Property: Crown Metropol Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing