We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE THIS PLACE !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crown Metropol Melbourne
Ranked #32 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Have stayed here again for the 3rd time! & staying again in September...Love this hotel. Although can only afford to stay here when I am able to get specials. Had a relaxing small breakfast at Mr Hive Resturant & Bar, with a very friendly & accomodating staff member serving us...Unfortunatly didn't get her name, would have loved to thank her personally. See you in September For my birthday Metropol :-)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank elle2461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,070)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,362 - 2,368 of 4,070 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

My husband and I had a lovely night at the Crown Metropole. The reception staff were very professional both on checking in and out. The room was lovely! It was a good size as it was a luxe room with a great view over Melbourne. The bathroom was wonderful. We were impressed with the design for the bathroom. We had a good selections of tea and coffee. The desk and couch were also excellent. We have stayed at other similar hotels in Melbourne and we would stay here in preference to them. No shower over the bath, more space in the room and so quiet!

We did not think to take our bathers so were very disappointed as the pool looked very inviting! And very popular with other guests. The bar on the 28th floor was great for a pre-dinner drink. Again, great views over Melbourne.

The location is wonderful and an easy walk to restaurants and public transport.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Naomi1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The rooms are great, very spacious and comfortable and service is also generally excellent however this place is seriously let down by the breakfast and especially the coffee situation. At about $270/night and being in Melbourne I expect good coffee at my breakfast. Instead for some bizarre reason they wheel out a couple of instant coffee machines in the breakfast restaurant. Trying to get real coffee is a very hit and miss affair with many staff outright denying it is available (despite clear evidence to the contrary, i.e. a large espresso machine). When you do manage to convince a staff member that real coffee is available it's an extra charge. This would not normally bother me but combined with the nightly rate, the bizarre instant coffee situation, denials of the availability of real coffee and being in Melbourne of all places I find this very irritating.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Rooms are comfortable and clean and the staff are unfailingly helpful and polite. Mr Hive Restaurant & Bar is always pleasant as is the bar on L28. I'm not sure about the orangey-brown carpet though and the shower is really disappointing - like something from a beachside fibro shack. Perhaps I've been spoilt though because I've stayed at Crown Towers, which is spectacular!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tamara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The rooms were spacious, modern great views, the staff were professional.
The bars were excellent, the pool was heaven, breakfast was wonderful.
And late checkout!
Most certainly recommend this fine Hotel

Room Tip: Higher room on north side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Nooshie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Wow - One of the best hotels I have stayed in for service.
Room was on the 17th floor and facing the city - wall to wall windows so the view is fantastic.
Kids loved looking out at night. The hive was a fantastic full breakfast and they don't charge for the kids to eat. The Pool as seen in Offspring is the best thing ever you must go to this.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Trisha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel was amazing. Its right in the center of the city close to everything. I suggest paying for a room that includes the breakfast and cocktails in the evening. The view from the top of the hotel is amazing. Also, the pool and hotub in this hotel is incredible. Its certainly dangerous being so close to the casino, but if you are looking for a fun time then this is the place. The room itself was spacious and had a wonderful view of the city. I love Melbourne. By the way, if you are in the city and love cocktails, Visit the speakeasy Eau Da Vi. One of the coolest spots I have been too for drinks.

Room Tip: Id suggest a room where you have a good view. I stayed on 9 and was very happy with it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Dr_hotel72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#29 of 161 in Melbourne
2,595 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 161 in Melbourne
2,507 reviews
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#83 of 161 in Melbourne
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
6,054 reviews
Pan Pacific Melbourne
#22 of 161 in Melbourne
3,892 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#25 of 161 in Melbourne
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £135 - £414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing