We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apartments Melbourne Domain Docklands
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not very clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment on the 18th floor. Given that I was required to give a $300 pre-authorisation on check in, I expected the apartment to be well maintained and spotless. It was not! The door was extremely hard to open and close because it had shifted on its hinges. The carpet was very stained. The apartment smelled stale. The linen on the beds was greyish and the beds had been roughly made up. Greasy fingerprints were evident on the leather lounges and the furniture was dusty. Some glasses and crockery had been put back into the cupboards without being washed. The kitchen sink was particularly dirty. I was contacted by text message during the 2 night stay to ask if I needed anything, and I really should have expressed my concerns about the cleanliness, however, I simply did not want the same supercilious treatment that I was offered on check-in when I expressed my concern about their process of photocopying my credit card and licence - which I was informed they would keep for 3 months! I am not likely to stay at this property again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Darcy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    34
    18
    18
    13
See reviews for
61
9
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

My partner and I stayed 2 weeks ago in a 2 bedroom apartment. You could smell the rubbish from the chute room upon exiting outside the lift. Entering our room lovely furniture though was a few stains on carpet including burn marks. I did mention should we take pics but were distracted by the view. There was a stale smell in the kitchen from the dishwasher the toaster was putrid and the bed linen had blood stains. Upon exiting it was mentioned about the cleanliness to management and one week later the bond was taken as we were blamed for the burns in the carpet and neither of us smoke. BEWARE!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Princess_Rachael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

3 bedroom apartment overlooking the water. Could've been a lot cleaner. I think the glass doors were overlooked, couldn't see out due to either vomit or some type of liquid.
Once again signage is very poor around docklands to find where your apartment is especially the under ground car park.
Other than that very handy to the city and the restaurants. Catch tram 86 to and from spencer street station.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacinta M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in a 1 bedroom +study (the study has been made into a bedroom and serves perfectly well including a queen-size bed). The building is new, quite "funky" and quiet.
The kitchenette is well equipped with everything you'd want.
There are lots of shops including a supermarket and chemist right next door if you need them along with heaps of bars and restaurants.
The only thing we suggested was blockout blinds in the lounge as, without it, you have to close the doors to the bedroom to keep out morning light (there's lots of it) which then also blocks the AC/Heat to that room.
Great location if you are doing business or parties, etc. at the Docklands/South Wharf.

Room Tip: Rooms on the city side would be more expensive but may be worth it. Its a tall building so take adva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarknOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Perfection location. We all loved the night harbour view. The free 'city circle' tram is two minutes walk from the building. Great security and facilities. Foxtel cable channels are fantastic, kept the kids entertained.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonta, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment with family was fantastic. Perfect location. Great value close to shops at harbour town, restaurants, great public transport and free secure car parking if needed. Rooms very spacious, clean, three toilets, two bathrooms and laundry also a full kitchen. Some blinds and bathroom fixtures would benefit with some maintenance. Highly recommended

Room Tip: The apartments are over several different buildings so check you have water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Opal2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Our apartment in docklands had an awesome water view, an easy access to city with free tram rides, and it's very spacious and clean!! Kitchen was so good - there was salt and pepper for cooking haha
We really enjoyed the view and wind blows from the water - very very relaxing! I'll def recommend this place to friends get always or family holidays.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
The Sebel Melbourne Docklands
The Sebel Melbourne Docklands
#56 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Docklands
Accommodation Corporate Docklands
Docklands
Apartments at Docklands
Apartments at Docklands
#39 of 132 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Docklands Prestige Apartments Melbourne
Docklands
Docklands Private Collection of Apartments
Docklands
Accent Accommodation at Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Melbourne Domain Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Melbourne Domain Docklands

Property: Apartments Melbourne Domain Docklands
Address: 13 Caravel Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 132 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apartments Melbourne Domain Docklands 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation Star Docklands Apartments is located in the heart of New Quay, Docklands, the newest cultural and entertainment precinct of Melbourne and only a few minutes walk from the city centre. Accommodation Star Docklands Apartments offer a range of 1, 2 or 3 bedrooms, each of apartments successfully blends spacious interiors, fabulous views of the marina, outdoor balconies and spectacular views. For guest convenience each booking includes: swimming pool, gymnasium, WiFi, security entrance and secure undercover car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartments Melbourne Domain Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing