We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not really 4.5 stars....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Ranked #32 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not really 4.5 stars....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

We had a 1 bedroom apartment for 3 nights. The decor is very basic, however the kitchen was very nice. The aircon did not seem to stay on all night and the bedroom was incredibly hot even when we set the a/c to 18 before bed. There was one flat, thin pillow for each of us and only 1 spare. We had to ask for another pillow and another set of towels. There are no toiletries provided in the room, but you can ask for them at the front desk. While the staff was very friendly and helpful, I just kept getting more annoyed every time we had to ask for something that is standard at other hotels. I chose this hotel as it was good value for an apartment at the same price as a hotel room, but in the end, a luxurious hotel room would have been better. I'll pass on this one on my next trip to Melbourne.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magsinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan L, Front Office Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Dear Magasinoz,

Thank you for recent stay at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, and for your feedback.

I regret to hear that our streamlined and contemporary decor was not to your liking, which is intended to maximise living space while conveying a sense of calm.

Toiletries comprising a hair and body wash are dispensed from our new environmentally-friendly units, which reduce the amount of plastic waste generated by the "traditional" miniature bottles. Conditioner and bar soap are available on request.

Please accept my apology for the inconvenience arising from the air-conditioning in your particular apartment. It would be greatly appreciated if you would advise me (bryan.loh@the-ascott.com), as to which apartment you occupied, so that I may have the air-conditioning checked, and any necessary repairs undertaken, by our Maintenance team.

It is most encouraging to hear of the friendly and efficient care provided by our Guest Service team. However, I acknowledge that your overall experience fell short of your expectations, and I hope that you will afford us another opportunity to welcome your return.

Thank you once again for your patronage, and please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of future assistance.

Yours sincerely,

Bryan Loh
Assistant Residence Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne Apart'Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    903
    844
    187
    51
    21
See reviews for
401
721
113
380
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a great location in theCbd, close to public transport and great food.

The room was large and had a kitchenette, as well as a sofa and study desk for work. The bed was two singles put together which was ok.

By biggest qualm about this place was that there was no room service on Sunday. Since we checked in on Saturday and out on Monday, we therefore didn't get any room service the entire weekend. It just made our bathroom look sloppy. Luckily we were allowed to request fresh towels.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cake_decor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Hello Cake_Decor,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne! We are thrilled you enjoyed the central location of our property.

Thank-you for your feedback in regards to the Sunday servicing, we do this to provide minimal disturbance to guests over the weekend period to assist you to feel more at home and leave you free to relax and not be disturbed. We take your feedback on board and will look at reviewing our weekend servicing offerings.

Thanks again for providing a review about your stay at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Ruthie Hunt
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

We had a standard room on the 21st floor. The room was bigger than we expected and it was spotlessly clean - it had the basic kitchen amenities which allowed us the choice of eating in if we wanted to. The reception desk staff were friendly and helpful with information for our stay. And we shared the lift on a number of occations with the room service staff and they were always courteous and friendly and had a chat about the day - which was lovely.
The hotel location is nice and central to CBD and only a 20 minute walk to the Australian Open tennis. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ochaye_aw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan L, Front Office Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Dear Ochaye_aw,

Warm greetings, from Citadines on Bourke, and thank you for making us your home away from home during your recent visit to Melbourne!

We are delighted to hear that our location, design and facilities were perfect for your needs, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Bryan Loh
Assistant Residence Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne Apart'Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

We spent our time in Melbourne at the studio apartment. Having the kitchenette was so wonderful to be able to cook breakfast every morning. Service was excellent. My only draw back was a huge stain of wine or some type of purple liquid was on the carpet.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zomgitsonyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

Comfortable stylish apartment for my 6 night stay in Melbourne. Efficient and polite check in. All the facilities in the apartment made it a home from home. Stunning views were a bonus. Would stay here again. It's location is ideal. On a tram stop, within walking distance of fed sq and Southbank. Great value too. Loved it. .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcrich66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

The studio I had on the 17th floor was very clean, large, quiet (even located right in front of the elevators) and bright. Service is helpful and friendly. Location is really convenient, in CBD. overall, it was above my expectations.
I would definitely come back and recommend to all this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sissiburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan L, Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear Sissiburger,

Warm greetings from Citadines on Bourke Melbourne Apart'Hotel!

Thank you for choosing us as your home during your recent sojourn, and we are so delighted that our central location, facilities and service enhanced your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, and wish you safe travels always.

Kind regards,

Bryan Loh
Assistant Residence Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne Apart'Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

We had three nights in a 2 bed apartment with our two young kids. Everything was fantastic. I phoned the hotel the week before to confirm the babycot and ask about airport pickups. They arranged a car to collect us compete with baby seats - all was done with minimal fuss and confirmed minutes after me calling them.

On arrival our driver was prompt, great company with a beautiful big comfy car. The reception was just so efficient and polite, our room was ready even though it was only 11am. They gave balloons to the kids and a toy to our daughter all of which were greatly appreciated in an apartment with few things to entertain kids!

The apartment was lovely, great size, right up the top so amazing view over Melbourne, 2 excellent bathrooms, comfy beds, nice bath, great kitchen......everything we needed. And quiet! Pool and gym area was excellent too as was my lunch in the Japanese rest downstairs.

Honestly, I cant fault this hotel......service, cleanliness, amenities, All brilliant. Location just fantatsic, close to everything we wanted. Much prefer this area than the other end of the city (Spencer St end). Tha you Citadines for a great few days.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank or_elsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#34 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,546 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#42 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#40 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,188 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Property: Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, in the heart of the city's CBD, offers access to major business and financial offices as well as many world-renowned restaurants, entertainment areas, shopping districts and theatres. Designed for international and domestic travellers on business or leisure, each vibrant apartment has modern amenities along with access to the business corner and fitness corner for efficiency and convenience. Explore Melbourne and relax in the privacy and comfort of your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing