We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, great value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Ranked #30 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Loved this Hotel. The location was fantastic, right on Bourke St, central to everything - shopping, museums, casino etc etc. The room was beautifully furnished and very welcoming. Staff were exceptionally helpful. They even organised the room for a very much appreciated early check-in.

Room Tip: Perhaps choose a room higher than level 2. No view and could very softly hear the nightclub next do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbhad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Hello Barbhad,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne! It is wonderful to hear your enjoyed your time with us and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. I will ensure to pass along your kind feedback to our front office team.

Thanks again Barbhad and happy travels.

Kind Regards,

Ruthie Hunt
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,587 - 1,593 of 2,190 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2013

Having stayed at a number of the Citadines worlwide the standard is exactly as you would expect from an Aparthotel. I stayed here on business for 3 nights/4 days on a corporate rate.

The room sizes are generous and comfortable for the studio and includes a seperate lounge area. The apartment is centrally loctaed and has a well stocked kitchen ie. stove stop, microwave, fridge etc. Bed is comfortable but the on two nights of the stay there was an issue with an alarm in the fire escape ( next to my room) that kept beeping at intermittent times throughout the night/day.

Only downside is that you should insist on a room on the upper levels if staying more than one night. Similar to other travellers comments I stayed on Level 3 looking out on a brick wall which is fine for overnight but not for longer than that.

Not sure how they allocate rooms but a colleague of mine checked in later the same day ( after me) and for a 2 night stay on got a room on the 24th floor.

Room Tip: Request the upper floors if staying formore than one night!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Hello Rebecca G,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne. It is wonderful to hear you have stayed with our other properties around the world and enjoyed your stay with us just as much! Our rooms are certainly spacious and designed to cater to our guests every need.

Thanks again for your review Rebecca G and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Ruthie Hunt
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

While this hotel is ok, it certainly isn't great. There are a number of factors that really let it down. The 1 bed apartment we stayed in for 2 weeks was nice. Bed was comfortable and kitchen was functional. However the shower screen has obviously been broken before and was only half the required size - water everywhere every time you showered. On top of that our dishwasher was broken which took 4 days to get fixed. There is Foxtel here but a very poor offering (3 sport channels, Fox 8 & Sky News). We stayed on the 5th floor and you could well and truly hear the night clubs on a Saturday night and every random yelling out on Russell St.

Finally, the reason I really wanted to leave was the customer service. We had paid an extra $30 a day for parking and informed upon check in that if you had an orange ticket for your car you would be guaranteed a space. Come Saturday night there were no car parks. The manager of the hotel was very passive agressive about the issue, suddenly parking was not guaranteed and it was just too bad that there were no parks. For $30 a day you would think they could count the number of car parks and the number of cars they promised car parks and see if they are overbooked.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor - significant night club noise on a weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan L, Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Dear Melissa L,

Warm greetings from Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, and thank you for taking the time and effort to share your experience with us.

We are sorry for the inconvenience which you encountered, and please rest assured that measures have been put in place to prevent a repeat of these issues. We appreciate your patience and understanding that certain technical issues require specialist attention which is not readily available from our own Maintenance team.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback, and we hope that you will afford us the opportunity to welcome your return.

Yours sincerely,

Bryan Loh
Assistant Residence Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne Apart'Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Place is pretty clean and the pool and gym facilities are good. Some staff are somewhat unfriendly and make you feel like you are an inconvenience by even approaching them.
The worst thing about this hotel, particularly for business and long stay guests, is the internet connection. If you need to be online to work from your room forget about it! The internet connection is as slow as old school dial-up and sometimes worse. It's a joke for a hotel which is in the middle of the CBD of one of Australia's technology hubs - there has got to be availability to high speed internet lines in such a location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank a_kel_112222222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan L, Front Office Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Dear a_kel_112222222,

Warm greetings from Citadines on Bourke Melbourne Apart'Hotel, and thank you for your feedback.

I regret that you were inconvenienced by the Internet service. Since the introduction of complimentary Internet usage to enhance the value to all our guests this year, the usage has increased significantly. At the same time, we have worked with our Internet service provider to substantially improve the connectivity, and I am pleased to share that the system has recently been tested with very positive results.

In spite of your experience, I do hope that you will afford us the opportunity to welcome your return,

Yours sincerely,

Bryan Loh
Assistant Residence Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne Apart'Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

This hotel is fantastic. The rooms are so clean, the beds are heavenly and if you are high up, then you can have a good view of the city. The facilities are excellent and the location is so ideal, so close to everything and right close to the shops and good restaurants.

The only complaint I had was the staff member who checked us in was very rude and arrogant. They put a hold on your credit card and charge you when you leave. When authorising the hold on your credit card you have to sign and fill in the necessary paperwork, however, unlike other hotels that work the same way, they do not give you a receipt or a copy of the paperwork you sign. When we asked the receptionist for a copy of the signed receipt for proof that the money was being held on our credit card (we didn't understand why we didn't receive one automatically), she got angry with us and just keep telling us off saying that we didn’t need a receipt because there was no charge and basically told us to stop questioning her honesty. All we asked for is a copy of our receipt!!! Whenever anyone does anything to your credit card it is the customer’s right to request one and not be denied a copy of anything that they have signed.

We came back to the reception desk later and asked another staff member. He agreed that they don’t usually provide a receipt but he was more than happy to print a copy out for us. What a difference!! The rest of the staff were so nice.

So if you stay here and you get a rude staff member, then demand to speak to someone else as they are not all like that.

Apart from that, I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CitySlicker_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Hello CitySlicker_13,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne! It is great to hear you enjoyed our central location and took advantage of all the facilities we have to offer.

We take pride in customer service and apologise you experienced an issue with our pre-authorisation processes. It is great to hear however the issue was resolved that same day.

Thank you once again for your review CitySlicker_13 and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind Regards,

Ruthie Hunt
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Nice central location being close to CBD, eateries and entertainment. I have stayed here twice - so far. Studio room was spacious and clean, and room layout was refreshingly different. Room was comfortable and quiet. I checked out the 2 bedroom layout and this would be a perfect stay for my small family. Staff have been knowledgeable, courteous and obliging. Just catch the SkyBus from Melbourne Airport to Southern Cross stations, and very short tram ride up Bourke Street - easy as!

Room Tip: Web site has good diagrams of the room layouts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danny829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Hello Danny829,

Thank you for your review and we are delighted you chose to stay with Citadines on Bourke Melbourne again.

It is great to hear that our central location and room design are suited perfectly to your needs, and we look forward to welcoming you and your family in the near future.

We take pride in customer service and I will certainly pass on your kind words to the front office team.

Thank you again Danny829 and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Ruthie Hunt
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We booked through webjet and ended up getting a great deal on the overall price for our five night stay. Overall we were satisfied with the citadines. The location is very central and our room was neat and tidy. The fitness room on level 1 was a great additionand I made use of this. My only complaints are that they are d bit low on customer sevice although their staff are generally friendly when you approach them at the reception. Also the view from our room wasn't that great, over the tops of other buildings (we were on the 18th floor) but we didn't mind so much as we spent a lot of time outside the room. Also there is no room service on Sundays which I found strange in such a busy hotel. If you are looking for a clean and cozy place to stay in the heart of Melbourne then this is a great option, especially since there are cooking facilities if you so desire to use them.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank claudcrause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan L, Front Office Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Dear claudcrause,

Warm greetings from Citadines on Bourke Melbourne Apart'Hotel, and what a delight to hear of your very enjoyable stay with us.

We will share your valuable insights with our team, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Wishing you safe and exciting travels always!

Kind regards,

Bryan Loh
Assistant Residence Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne Apart'Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 162 in Melbourne
1,556 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#14 of 162 in Melbourne
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 162 in Melbourne
2,357 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#27 of 162 in Melbourne
1,941 reviews
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £95 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke is the epitome of Melbourne; vibrant and modern. Located in the heart of the city, the Apart’hotel is in the perfect location to experience all the world’s most livable city has to offer. Enjoy some retail therapy in the Bourke Street Mall, Melbourne Central and Emporium Melbourne; discover the magic of Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) and Rod Laver Arena with the Australian Football league (AFL), cricket, tennis, as well as world-class concerts. Relax and take a culinary journey with Melbourne’s unique dining experiences, all this and more, right on your doorstep. Though if it’s business that brings you to town, Citadines is located close to Parliament House, Collins Street and the SX1 and SX2 buildings, right within the Central Business District. Citadines boasts 380 serviced apartments, each with separate living and dining areas, fully-equipped kitchenettes and modern amenities. At Citadines, you will have the privacy of your own apartment, while enjoying the convenience of a hotel. The property also features a fully-equipped gym, indoor pool, sauna and outdoor sundeck; as well as conference and meeting rooms, business corner and complimentary wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing