We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel...very convenient” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Ranked #31 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel...very convenient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed a 3 nights in February. Second time here. The staff were great. We had booked the wrong nights on the internet and we were not expected to turn up until the next night. We were helped with a smile.
The best thing is the location, close to our favourite bar Madame Brussels.
The rooms are not serviced on Sundays. I would have made the bed if I had realised! They probably did tell us but we forgot.
Couldn't everyone just buy their beds from the same place that the Sheraton does? I suppose they would charge more though.
The restaurant on site does the best breakfast. It takes an excellent chef to be able to make the perfect poached egg. A very rare skill throughout five star hotels world over.
We will be back in August.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrannyWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Hello GrannyWanderer,

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to read our staff served you with a smile and were able to assist you when you arrived earlier than expected. Thank you for your praise of our location and Heirloom Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back in August!

Kind regards,

Ruthie H.
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    878
    826
    185
    49
    21
See reviews for
390
707
111
370
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Stayed for a business trip, the room was small, and no window can be opened for fresh air.

More depressing was that the staff was not helpful. There was a guy at reception I went for help to call my coworker's room, he gave me sort of evil look, and said couldn't find his name, I have to find his room number from my boss .. Finally I could talk to him, during the conversation, the guy at reception keep chatting with the girl besides him,and laughing and have chosen to browsing internet instead of helping me, I even could see his Internet page through the mirror.
When I checked out on the 18th, it was the same guy, same couldn't be brother to help me look.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan L, Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear bee B,

Warm greetings from Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, and thank you for sharing your insights below concerning your recent stay with us.

I am sorry that your experience was unsatisfactory, and I would greatly appreciate if you would provide me with the details of your booking at bryan.loh@the-ascott.com to enable me to investigate and address this matter in the appropriate manner.

Thank you for your patronage, and I look forward to hearing from you at your convenience.

Yours sincerely,

Bryan Loh
Assistant Residence Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne Apart'Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

My family of 5 A and 2 C stayed for 3 nights. But due to my own oversight, I had booked 4 nights. I arrived on 14 June ( had booked 13 June too) and tried to explain my situation. Staff at front front desk flatly refused. Had no tone of sympathetic too. I am not asking for a downright deduction of one night, but staff didn't even bother to make a concession of a slight discount. The stay was AUD 320 a night. If I couldn't afford it, i wouldn't have booked Citadines.
Ended up paying an extra night for nothing. I understand it is company policy to give 24 hrs notice but the unsympathetic attitude of Citadines have just caused them one less customer.
Having said that, I will be fair and give my review if the apartment. The 2 bed room was good size for my family and kids. The location was fantastic , steps away from food and shopping. Hotel breakfast was expensive for AUD 20 pp. so my family just ate outside at the eating places easily available.
Room service was not good though . Asked for 2 extra towels but never got them.
We liked the self service laundry . Also asked for postcards, but sadly and strangely, they said they ran out if it. The staff didn't even bother asking for my room number to pass me one once they had it.
I'm not a picky person, but I have traveled quite a bit, and this citadines is a disappointment in terms of service.
Oh, and my airport transfer didn't come. My friend's came and I had to ask the driver( also from citadines) to call for one for me.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pamela_flen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan L, Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear pamela_flen77,

Warm greetings from Melbourne, and the Citadines on Bourke.

Thank you for your recent stay with us, and also for your review.

Further to our separate e-mail correspondence, we regret that as the first night of your stay was neither cancelled or amended, the room rate applies as booked. The room was held in good faith (and not cancelled) for you, and therefore could not be leased to another guest during this high demand period. We regret if this was not appropriately conveyed by our Guest Service team, and your comments have been shared with them as a training enhancement to ensure all guests are fully informed .

We thank you once again for your patronage and are pleased that your stay with comfortable and cozy .

Yours sincerely,

Bryan Loh
Assistant Residence Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne Apart'Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Corner room on the 16th floor has amazing views over the city. Huge apartment with beautiful, spacious interior, more than adequate for a week's stay. No tea or coffee however, which would have been a nice touch given my 11pm arrival. Internet was extremely slow, sometimes not working at all which was inconvenient when trying to prepare for meetings. Staff were not very helpful and it seemed like if you weren't part of a large organised tour group, you were ignored. Regardless, the room was spectacular in its size and comfort.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tashaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights and was really impressed with the size of the room, it's cleanliness and comfort levels. Also very quiet on the 19th floor. Desk staff polite and helpful. The only downside was the Internet connection..if you are here on business and need to do work you need a faster connection than this - both cable and wireless was pedestrian!

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Robscanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Hi Robscanb,

I am delighted to read you were impressed with both our spacious suites and friendly team. I will certainly pass along your praise to the Front Office Team.

I am happy to say we are one of very few properties in Australia to offer complimentary internet to all our guests. Since the introduction of complimentary usage we understand that during peak periods the speed can be slightly slower, and we are currently reviewing this to ensure the speed is at an acceptable level for all. This process is taking a little longer than expected, we are however hoping it will be resolved shortly.

Thank you for your review.

Kind regards,

Ruthie H.
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Just stayed at Citadines for the first time. My girlfriends & I make an annual shopping trip to Melbourne for 2 nights - always trying out different accommodation around the CBD area (not anymore!). This hotel ticks so many boxes. Location - amazing - great when u need to unload all those heavy shopping bags & head back for more! Staff - couldn't be any friendlier and helpful. I have not experienced this kind of customer service for a long time! The room was spacious enough with an extremely well stocked kitchen (even though we ate out for every meal!). The fridge wasn't stocked but that didn't bother me - its usually over priced anyway! Bathroom clean & tidy - shower was huge! Hand basin outside of the shower/toilet room which is a bonus when staying with people other than family. The beds were really comfortable and warm enough. We stayed on a really high floor - so no street noise either. There's not a lot more than can be said about this great inner-city hotel in Melbourne.

Room Tip: Because it's so central - which equals busy - I would try and choose a room on a higher level ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rinnie2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Hi Rinnie2307,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Citadines on Bourke Melbourne when you were in town for your annual shopping trip. After a long day traipsing through stores you certainly want to come home to smiling faces, a spacious suite and a comfortable bed. It is great to read you received outstanding service and I thank you for your wonderful review. From everyone at Citadines, we look forward to welcoming you and your girlfriends back on your next shopping trip.

Kind regards,

Ruthie H.
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Excellent, large, modern, quiet, serviced apartments in Bourke St. Very convenient location providing easy walking access to most of the CBD. The pricing is very reasonable for the standard of the apartments - Highly recommended. Stayed here by coincidence as my usual hotel wasn't available - will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrcharters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Hello Fussykitty,

What a great review- thank you! We are thrilled we provided everything you required for such a wonderful stay. Thank you for making mention of our great facilities and friendly team, we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Ruthie H
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#30 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,405 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#39 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#38 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,050 reviews
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Property: Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, in the heart of the city's CBD, offers access to major business and financial offices as well as many world-renowned restaurants, entertainment areas, shopping districts and theatres. Designed for international and domestic travellers on business or leisure, each vibrant apartment has modern amenities along with access to the business corner and fitness corner for efficiency and convenience. Explore Melbourne and relax in the privacy and comfort of your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing