We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Ranked #32 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Work visit”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel was booked for me by my company, I was very impressed with the apartment style accommodation. Excellent as I was here for a week of business. Great layout and amenities. No restaurant but plenty in surrounding areas.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Janice D,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us feedback on your recent at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne. It is very pleasing to read that you had comfortable stay and enjoyed the layout and amenities provided in our apartments whilst travelling on business. We are sorry to read however you missed out on dining at Heirloom Restaurant and Bar located on the ground floor of our Apart’hotel, hopefully next time you are in town on business you may get the time to try their modern take on Japanese cuisine!

From all the team at Citadines, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    968
    870
    193
    52
    22
See reviews for
424
755
121
403
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The hotel is centrally located, very clean and spacious with a good view of the city. The two small reading lights on the headboard are good. The two twin beds are a bit smallish but comfy and bedding is stark white crispy clean.

It is right in the heart of Melbourne's CBD, close to Parliament House, and is an easy access to major shopping like all the famous brands you can think of. Walk 7-8 minutes and you reach big department stores like Target; David Jones ; Myer and their newest mall --- The Emporium that opened on 16th April. H & M just newly opened and there's forever a long long queue snaking outside the store, even on a pouring day. China Town is just 3 minutes walk away. Trams,bus stops and train stations are all there. Taxis are forever there right in front of the hotel. Free tourist tram rides are like those hop on hop off buses, and are forever very crowded, but when they are free you don't complain.

Our room is on 22/F and comes with a fully equipped kitchenette including a flameless cooker hob and hood, convection microwave oven, refrigerator, dishwasher, glassware, crockery, cutlery and utensils. Also provided are 2 big bathroom towels, 1 medium sized and 1 small sized towel, which I think they should provide 2 of each when they know there're two staying in the room. They have limited toiletries and bottles are small. Ironing board + iron and a safe provided. Broadband internet access is very efficient and WiFi is free. The home entertainment system includes cable TV, DVD, CD and iPod player. There is a coin-fed launderette right across our room.

Everyone at the front desk is efficient; nice and friendly. Tanya especially stands out to be very pleasant; sweet ; helpful and affable who provides clear and succinct info to help us navigate around the city with minimal fuss. She also suggested a full day Yarra Valley wine tasting cum Puffing Billy excursion which was good, relaxing and interesting.

The shower cubible ( no tub ) however has much room for improvement. Water pressure from shower is not the strongest and the hand basin drainage is slow if you want to drain a full basin. Only one very small shower caddy so we had to put bigger bottles / stuff on the floor. They could do with a few more hooks in th shower area for your clothes. No bathrobes. They should have a bin and a hand basin next to the toilet,instead of having people take the rubbish out to throw and wash the hands outside in the open area. Definitely NOT hygenic enough. The shower door also didn't close properly on the 1st night and water leaked out so the entire stone floor was all wet. Told Tanya the next day and the handyman Chris attempted to fix it but only a little better thereafter.

Since we didn't use the kitchenette apart from the kettle, we will probably opt for another hotel next time in order to put the money to better use. Only provided bags of black tea, no other tea choices like Earl Grey or Green Tea that are so common in hotel rooms these days. They didn't replace our used glasses / tea cups after cleaning our room.

This hotel is very clean and close to everything a tourist needs. Everything provided is very basic / functional and that's about it. I would say it is generally good but don't expect something more than 4 star.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G1G1MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

First couple of times my partner and i stayed in Melbourne we have booked citadines on bourke. Great clean rooms. Check in a breeze and location is great. Close to main malls and Chinatown. Room sizes are nice and spacious and the amenities are clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faiiint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear faiiint,

Welcome back to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, thank you for choosing to stay with again!
It is wonderful to read that you and your partner enjoyed all aspects of your stay, from our speedy check-in process to our spacious and clean apartments.

From all the team at Citadines, we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel very recently with my wife and some friends. Hotel was very clean and spacious. The location was central to everything and the perfect location for a weekend away in Melbourne. Staff were very friendly and helpful, the small kitchenette and washing facilities meant a longer stay would be possible and cost effective.

Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Matt S,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne. It is lovely to read that you and your wife enjoyed your weekend away and found our central location perfect for your plans in the city. Our Guest Service Team will be very happy to know you found their service both friendly and helpful.

We hope to welcome you back to Citadines again soon!

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This was our first trip to Melbourne as a family and our choice of accommodation was definately a true winner on so many levels. The apartment we booked was a 1 bedroom apartment and from the moment we checked we were so impressed. The concierge and reception staff couldn't do enough for us. The room was outstanding, spacious and super clean. The room design allowed us to feel at home and not on top of one another (like when you stay in a hotel room) especially when there is a 4 year old to consider. The location was excellent with a tram stop right out the very front of the hotel which made accessing the City and surrounding areas an absolute breeze. We would definately stay at the Citadines on Bourke again, it was the best family holiday ever!

Room Tip: Nothing really to add other than try for a room from level 5 upwards, at least that way you get a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Kristen K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Citadines experience with our Trip Advisor community. It is great to read that you and your family experienced a wonderful trip to Melbourne. We are pleased our one-bedroom apartment provided a comfortable and spacious setting for you all to enjoy.

Our Guest Service Team will be delighted to know you felt at home during your stay; and that they assisted in making your first family holiday a memorable one.

Thank you Kristen K, from all the team at Citadines we hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We spent four nights in a very comfortable 1 bedroom apartment which had plenty of room for three of us. The room was very clean and the kitchen was equipped with all the basics. The beds were comfortable - even the rollaway- and it was also extremely quiet. The only draw back to the room was that there wasn't much natural light as we were at the side of the building so you needed the lights on when you were there. All the staff we dealt with were very pleasant and accommodating and they seemed to genuinely want to help. Great central location and easy access to trams, also within walking distance of many of Melbourne's great attractions. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Booper97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Booper97,

Thank you for sharing your Citadines experience with our Trip Advisor community. We are delighted to read that you had a comfortable stay in our spacious one-bedroom apartment and found our central location perfect for getting around the city. Our Guest Service Team will be very happy you were pleased with their friendly and helpful service.

Next time you are visiting you may like to try one of our Executive apartments; which are located on a higher level and offer unobstructed views of the city.

Thank you Booper97, from all the team at Citadines we hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My husband and I had a great experience at this hotel. The rooms are spotlessly clean, modern, comfortable, very quiet, and have all the amenities needed. Free Wi-Fi was speedy and reliable. The staff was friendly, accommodating, and helpful concerning directions, restaurant recommendations, etc. As many reviewers have mentioned, the location is extremely convenient to transportation, shopping, and restaurants, and is only a 10 minute walk to Federation Square. Chinatown is a short half-block walk, and there are many restaurants up and down Bourke Street. A 7-11 across the street is convenient for coffee or snacks. Our Studio Executive apartment on the 20th floor afforded us plenty of space and a nice view of Melbourne. Elevators were always readily available. We did not use the pool or fitness facilities, but they looked nice and were easy to access. The laundry facilities were easily accessible, but were a bit pricey at $4 Australian for the washer, $4 for the dryer, and $2 for soap. Still, if we ever return to Melbourne, we would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryga12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear maryga12,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Citadines experience with us. It is lovely to read that you and your husband enjoyed all aspects of your stay; from the cleanliness and style of our apartments to our central location on Bourke Street. We agree the view from the 20th floor is most impressive!

We appreciate your feedback regarding the cost of the laundry facilities; it is very helpful when guests provide ways we can improve our product for us to investigate. It will be a great pleasure to share your feedback with the Guest Service Team; they will be happy to know they assisted in making your stay more enjoyable.

If you are ever visiting Melbourne again soon, we hope to welcome you back to Citadines.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 160 in Melbourne
1,515 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#45 of 160 in Melbourne
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 160 in Melbourne
2,965 reviews
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#44 of 160 in Melbourne
4,528 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#31 of 160 in Melbourne
1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Property: Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke is the epitome of Melbourne; vibrant and modern. Located in the heart of the city, the Apart’hotel is in the perfect location to experience all the world’s most livable city has to offer. Enjoy some retail therapy in the Bourke Street Mall, Melbourne Central and Emporium Melbourne; discover the magic of Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) and Rod Laver Arena with the Australian Football league (AFL), cricket, tennis, as well as world-class concerts. Relax and take a culinary journey with Melbourne’s unique dining experiences, all this and more, right on your doorstep. Though if it’s business that brings you to town, Citadines is located close to Parliament House, Collins Street and the SX1 and SX2 buildings, right within the Central Business District. Citadines boasts 380 serviced apartments, each with separate living and dining areas, fully-equipped kitchenettes and modern amenities. At Citadines, you will have the privacy of your own apartment, while enjoying the convenience of a hotel. The property also features a fully-equipped gym, indoor pool, sauna and outdoor sundeck; as well as conference and meeting rooms, business corner and complimentary wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing