We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great city access and good service and facilities” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Ranked #31 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great city access and good service and facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment at the end or our family holiday to the snow, with our son staying in a studio executive room. Rooms were all excellent, clean and comfortable with the secure access via lifts from the lobby making it feel very safe. Laundrette on the same floor was so convenient. A pleasant buffet breakfast was included at the Heirloom restaurant and whilst not the best one we have ever had, certainly was acceptable, and it included a bar area to meet with friends later in the day. The location is excellent for walking into the shopping precinct and the free city trams. Public transport systems in all directions were all within walking distance and there was a good range of brochure material available to access for the touristy things if desired. Reception staff were all helpful and efficient - we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Corner apartments facing Bourke and Russell have better views, but some apartments have a more open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn59_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Lyn59_13,

Thank you for sharing your comments with our TripAdvisor community on your recent stay. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed the space and safety our serviced apartment provided you and felt our Guest Service Team were friendly and helpful. We feel very fortunate to be located in the heart of Melbourne as there are so many wonderful attractions close by, we hope you enjoyed discovering our exciting city.

From all the team at Citadines, we hope you had a safe journey home, and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    878
    826
    185
    49
    21
See reviews for
390
707
111
370
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide South Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We have decided to take a couple of children free days for ourselves and see les miserables. We are staying in a deluxe studio apartment at citadines on bourke. I've read some of the reviews and wonder if we are in the same hotel. We had no problems at all. The room was perfect for an intimate base for two. The staff were extremely friendly and obliging - nothing was too much effort. The buffet breakfast was well worth the $20 tariff.
But the best part is her majesty's theatre is 5 minutes walk away, old Melbourne gaol 15 minute and Queen Victoria markets an easy 20-25 minutes walk. Would I stay here again and recommend it to friends? In a heartbeat.....
For a meal try thr elephant and wheelbarrow hotel 50m up Bourke st!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Paul C,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your amazing review. It is wonderful to read you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with Citadines! It sounds like you were able to explore so much of our beautiful city; thank you for providing the great tips on what to see and do, to our TripAdvisor community. Our Guest Service Team will be very happy to know your stay was made more enjoyable by the friendly and attentive service you received.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in town, and wish you safe travels home.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

I booked this hotel after doing extensive research on tripadvisor. It did not disappoint! The trip was an 18th birthday present for our daughter, who wanted to see the band "Twenty One Pilots". They were performing at the venue 170 Russell, which was literally around the corner. While she lined up at the venue for four hours, (sitting on a cold concrete footpath in ripped jeans!!) we felt safe in the knowledge that she was within a few minutes walk from us at all times as we wandered around Bourke Street mall and the CBD. Later while the concert was in full swing, we returned from the footy (just a quick tram ride to the MCG) and could see out of our hotel room on the 24th floor (thanks reception for a great room with an awesome view!) that there were plenty of people around even at midnight. Our room was perfect for our family of four, with two bedrooms, two bathrooms, lounge / dining area and kitchen. We were able to walk a little way along the street for the best New York style panned pizza available by the slice, or one block down to yum cha in Chinatown. We also walked to the Pancake Parlour at Melbourne Central. Although it was freezing compared to Perth, we were able to survive by either walking very briskly or hopping on a nice warm tram, located right outside our hotel. We even walked to the DFO to grab some bargains. it was always nice to return to our comfortable room with a view, where everyone had their own space. The staff at reception always greeted us warmly. Oh and I must be the best mum in the world because I managed to pick THE hotel that Twenty One Pilots were staying at! Our daughter loved the concert and couldn't stop talking about it. We all had a fantastic time in Melbourne and can't wait for the next holiday.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maree41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Citadines has all the comforts you would expect from a apartment hotel and the room I had was spacious and very clean.
The kitchen is small but has everything you need when away from home and it was also a lot cleaner than kitchens I had experienced in other hotels.
Bed was quite comfortable but was two single beds pushed together which is not ideal. As in a lot of hotels one side of the bed is used more than the other so one side was firm and the other sagged a bit from lots of usage.
There is no mini bar or the range of snacks usually found in a hotel room and the room service is provided by the hotels Japanese restaurant and is basic and quite unimaginative.
The location of the hotel is very good and is within walking distance of many fine restaurants and bars and close to Chinatown. The main shopping centre is at the top of the road.
I found the hotel to be very quiet at night which was fantastic - I was on the 21st floor and could hear no street sounds and there wasn't a lot of the usual hotel door banging noises you have to expect when staying in a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adelaide1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Dawn B,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay. We are most pleased to read that you enjoyed your time at our Apart'hotel, and found our central location and modern apartments provided everything you needed for a productive business trip.

We also appreciate your feedback on our beds; you may be pleased to know we are currently reviewing the mattress overlays to enhance the comfort of our king-split beds. You are correct, our Studio apartments do only have a kitchenette, next time you stay you may like to try our One-Bedroom apartment which offers a fully-equipped kitchen designed to bring out the Masterchef in everyone!

Thank you Dawn B, from all the team at Citadines we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Just spent a weekend in chilly Melbourne and were fortunate to have booked at The Citadines on Bourke Street. The studio executive apartment was located on the 17th floor and was very spacious, modern and clean. A little kitchenette and a sofa made this a very comfortable stay.
The staff were friendly and helpful and attentive to rectify minor issues. The location was superb with a tram stop almost at the door and the Bourke Street Mall but a few minutes walk away.
Quality accommodation at an affordable price and worth a stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicknack28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Nicknack28,

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne; from our central location to our spacious and clean apartments. Our Guest Service Team will be very happy to learn that your time at Citadines was made greater by their friendly and helpful service.

Thank you Nicknack28, we hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Our trip started off a bit bumpy with a bit of confusion regarding how many beds were in our room. When confirming this. We were told 3 when in fact we booked 4. However this was quickly rectified by the amazing staff at citadines.

The location was right in the heart of the city. A five minute walk to everything. The view was spectacular being able to see right over the cbd with view of southbank in the distance.

I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Joel F,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay at Citadines on Bourke with our TripAdvisor community. We are sorry to learn that your stay didn't start off as expected, however are pleased that our Guest Service Team were able to resolve your bedding arrangements quickly; to ensure you enjoyed the rest of your stay. We will be sure to share your thanks with the Team! We agree, the view is spectacular looking across to Southbank from our higher floors, whether by day or by night.

From all the team at Citadines, we hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Perfectly located, comfortable apartments. Late at cleaning the room. Nice pool. Great for a week or so, with the kitchen, fridge, ecc. Breakfast was not so good. Great computers at the lobby, with free printer too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Elena O,

Thank you for taking the time to provide Citadines on Bourke Melbourne with a review of your recent stay. It is great to read that you were happy with the accommodation and service you received, and you enjoyed our convenient range of guest facilities, including our pool and business centre.

We are disappointed however to read, you didn't enjoy your breakfast in Heirloom Restaurant. If you don't mind providing further details about your experience; our Assistant Residence Manager, Bryan Loh would like to share your comments with the Restaurant Manager. Please email, bryan.loh@the-ascott.com, as we would like to make sure we follow up on your valued feedback.

If you are ever in Melbourne again, we hope you choose Citadines. We look forward to seeing you then.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#30 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,406 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#39 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#38 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,050 reviews
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Property: Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, in the heart of the city's CBD, offers access to major business and financial offices as well as many world-renowned restaurants, entertainment areas, shopping districts and theatres. Designed for international and domestic travellers on business or leisure, each vibrant apartment has modern amenities along with access to the business corner and fitness corner for efficiency and convenience. Explore Melbourne and relax in the privacy and comfort of your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing