We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay place but expensive and overrated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Ranked #32 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Okay place but expensive and overrated”
Reviewed 13 February 2011

I have stayed in these apartments for 12 nights in a one bedroom executive apartment in late January.

The Bad:

Construction next door which starts as early as 8am. It would be difficult for a light sleeper to get proper rest.

There a night club right next to the building. If your room is facing the front end of the apartment then you would hear it. It would be better to ask for an apartment at the back of the hotel and at a higher floor. I was at the 22nd floor and I could still hear thumping music sounds.

Housekeeping is a hit and miss and sometimes toiletries were not replenished.
I took a look of the studio apartments and they looked comfortable and not that smaller in size. I might choose them if I ever stay here next time.

Weak shower pressure.

Not much wardrobe space. Not much drawers.

Internet was expensive but this is true for most of Melbourne accommodation.
Softish bed mattress. Not the best bed and it should be better for the price you pay here.

The Good.:

Excellent location and at the nicer Eastern end of Melbourne which is close to China town and the theater district. Good food and bar options nearby and a new swanky looking restaurant has just opened in the building.

Tram just outside the door and goes everywhere including a direct line to St.Kilda.

A 24hr bar is directly opposite the hotel!!

The rooms are clean and stylish. Wall to ceiling windows allows much sunlight in.

Amenities in kitchen useful including a microwave and dishwasher.

There is a token operated laundry on the same floor (22nd).

During weekdays, when the nightclub is closed, the apartments become nice and quiet at night.

Verdict: This place is new and clean and is presented as an up market choice for accommodation. However I don’t think they justify their high prices. If you are looking to stay more than a couple of days then I recommend you look somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ray_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingOfficer, Marketing Officer at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, 16 February 2011
Thank-you for your review Ray, We do have numerous types of rooms and the Studios, whilst spacious at 34sqm, do not have all the in-room facilities that the1 bedrooms have, but are certainly appropriate for both short to mid-length stays.
The property also offers both short and long stay rates, so please contact us again if you are travelling to Melbourne for a longer stay and I am sure we will be able to offer you something more suitable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    945
    863
    192
    52
    22
See reviews for
411
747
120
397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2011

Just walk 2 minutes will be Melbourne China Town.
Love to recommend this hotel to a couple or a family, especially family with small kids.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HuanLuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

I stayed at the Citadines on Bourke on a weekend trip away to Melbourne with a friend. The hotel was really polished, clean and modern and the location was fantastic! Right in the centre of town and easy walk to most places. Great to be able to have a hotel so close by to walk home to when weighed down with masses of shopping bags! Was also great as being in the city there were plenty of bars and restaurants in walking distance.

For a room split between 2 people it was quite economical at $190 each for 2 nights. And the hotel must be doing something right, it was fully booked out the entire weekend we were there.

All in all, a very nice place to stay on a weekend trip to Melbourne!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayDaydreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We stayed at Citadines on Bourke for 2 nights.
We were upgraded to the top floor because we were staying for a special occasion. We had a view of the botanic gardens (in the distance) and the pretty lights of Melbourne at night. Customer service was friendly and very professional. Good recommendations on the best places to eat.
The room was exceptionally clean and brand new. Very stylish and modern, great LCD Flat screen tv, a must in hotels these days!
Appliances brand new, bedding was prefectly clean and fresh. Excellent house cleaning service also.
Convenience stores right across the road and a short walk to the main shopping areas.
Tram stop right outside the hotel also. Plenty of taxis around too.
Great location if going to Her Majesty's Theatre also.
Can't fault this hotel, we had a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harley-Hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

We stayed for a week during the Australian Open Tennis. The service people were friendly and professional. Our room was excellent and usually quiet although there was some building work being done nearby. The hotel is handy to the trams, close to Federation Square, and most major attractions in the city. If we were to come back to Melbourne, the Citadines would definitely be our first choice of accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weta90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

Lovely big room. Usually as a solo traveller you get a tiny room out the back particularly if you have booked and paid online through a travel site.
Fitness centre poor but I am finding that's the norm in Hotels in Melbourne. However, they did have a lovely pool.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilafromdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2011

We took the kids down to Melb and stayed here in a 2 bd apartment. No complaints, the apartment was comfy although not really for eating. We went out for dinner most nights. The kids had fun in the pool, and we enjoyed a glass of wine or two and the city views in the bar o an evening. Great location, close to everything, was a perect choice for our holiday. Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murphyfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 159 in Melbourne
1,499 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#44 of 159 in Melbourne
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 159 in Melbourne
2,839 reviews
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#41 of 159 in Melbourne
4,419 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#29 of 159 in Melbourne
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Property: Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke is the epitome of Melbourne; vibrant and modern. Located in the heart of the city, the Apart’hotel is in the perfect location to experience all the world’s most livable city has to offer. Enjoy some retail therapy in the Bourke Street Mall, Melbourne Central and Emporium Melbourne; discover the magic of Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) and Rod Laver Arena with the Australian Football league (AFL), cricket, tennis, as well as world-class concerts. Relax and take a culinary journey with Melbourne’s unique dining experiences, all this and more, right on your doorstep. Though if it’s business that brings you to town, Citadines is located close to Parliament House, Collins Street and the SX1 and SX2 buildings, right within the Central Business District. Citadines boasts 380 serviced apartments, each with separate living and dining areas, fully-equipped kitchenettes and modern amenities. At Citadines, you will have the privacy of your own apartment, while enjoying the convenience of a hotel. The property also features a fully-equipped gym, indoor pool, sauna and outdoor sundeck; as well as conference and meeting rooms, business corner and complimentary wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing