We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melbourne stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Melbourne stay”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

very happy with our choice of accommodation , from the time I booked this from Adelaide , and made some alterations to our booking to the actual time we got there, by phone or email staff were very accommodating , I requested the highest floor possible and on our revival , were advised we had an apartment on the 29th floor out of 35 , with amazing views , the apartment had everything 6 people needed , it was clean and the beds were very comfortable , and the younger adults in our group thought the place was great too . we had our own balcony ,albeit dizzying to look from and windows that opened safely enough to get some fresh air in . We were a 5-10 min walk to Southbank and the Flinders st station , so we caught public transport everywhere . We had to pay extra for 2 car parks per day but we were advised of this beforehand. Would stay again , but if you don't like the noise of building sites or traffic unless you keep the doors and windows closed , you may not like it here .

Room Tip: highest floor possible to minimize noise and appreciate the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzannie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne04, Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear suzannie1,

Thanks for writing such a lovely review following your stay with us this month. We are so happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that the 6 of you found your apartment provided all you needed. It's so wonderful to hear that you found our team members to be so friendly and efficient!

Once again, thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Melbourne.

Warm regards,

Marcus Maillet
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    82
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
53
48
7
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This is a mid price apartment and we expected a reasonable standard. The building is at the intersection of a number of major roads. There was no double glazing, no drapes (venetian blinds only) and a horrendous smell of cheap deodoriser. After spending an almost sleepless night (despite the use of earplugs and face masks to try to exclude the lights from the road), I was woken at 6.00 with full sun in my eyes.

When I complained a couple of very nice young women at reception did their best to find alternative accommodation. They finally offered us a 3 bedroom apartment higher in the same block which had double glazing and reasonable blinds (no drapes though). They did not seem to understand their product (for example what double glazing was). On the plus side, the new apartment had great views, and there was no extra cost, but the quality of the fit-out was cheap.

Room Tip: My recommendation is that if you book these apartments be very careful what you book. Unless you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne04, Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Greg C,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay with us at our Southbank Deluxe property. We truly value all feedback received because it helps us to make improvements to our guest experience.

I would like to take this opportunity to apologise that your initial experience was not to the standard you expected or to the standard we like to deliver to our guests. You are correct in that our Southbank Deluxe property is located in a popular area surrounded by some of Melbourne's great landmarks, which attracts a lot of patrons and vehicles into the area.

After your initial concerns, I am pleased that our friendly staff were able to complimentary upgrade you into a 3 bedroom apartment which allowed you to enjoy the great views and helped minimize the noise for you.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments in the future.

Warm regards,

Marcus Maillet
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Having just spent a week in Melbourne I can highly recommend the Southbank Deluxe apartments.
The rooms are very large with magnificent views & location, just near casino is perfect.
Can't wait for my next stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrwarby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne04, Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear jrwarby,

Thank you for providing your glowing five star review following your stay with us this month, it was our absolute pleasure to welcome you to Southbank Deluxe! We really appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback as it helps us ensure we consistently deliver an outstanding guest experience.

I am so pleased to read that you rated your stay with us so highly! It's great to hear that you found the location so convenient to the Crown Entertainment Complex.

Thank you once again for your review and we can't wait to welcome you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments on your return trip.

Warm regards,

Marcus Maillet
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed in a high floor 3bedrooms apartment. Perfect location just across Crown, but not on the busiest street of the city. Excellent view of the city and surrounding areas. Everything is just around the corner. Recommended for family

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shang7819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne04, Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Shang7819,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay with us at Southbank Deluxe. We love to hear from our guests as it helps us to continue to deliver an outstanding experience.

I'm very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly our great location and proximity to Crown. Melbourne is a beautiful city, so we're glad you enjoyed the view, we think it's pretty spectacular at night!

Again, thanks for providing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments when you’re next in town.

Warm regards,

Marcus Maillet
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Perfect location for an event at the conference and exhibition centre and also easy walk down along Southbank and just over the river to the city. I wouldn't stay here if you wanted to be in the middle of the food and shopping of Melbourne but it is still handy nonetheless. Actually, felt like I was staying on a Bay rather than in a city, so that added a pleasant feel to our stay - along with the fresh air and plenty of natural light - both of which are hard to come by in many Melbourne locations. We had a 2 bed, 2 bath apartment which was well appointed. AC is a bit of trick - have to have all 3 remotes on the same setting regardless of which ones are turned on (go figure!). Kitchen sink was tiny, which normally wouldn't be a drama, except that our dishwasher was broken and the plug wouldn't seal. Showers are the usual water saving ones with the temperature control a bit hit and miss, but otherwise the bathrooms are good. We had no servicing for the entire 6 night stay, but that wasn't an issue for us (just noting it in case it might be for you). We stayed in an '05' room that had views away from the main city but you could see the water from the verandah and still plenty of night lights in the evening. The convenience store downstairs is very handy. Overall, a very pleasant stay in a very convenient location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenallan18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne04, Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Jenallan18,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your stay with us at Southbank Deluxe this month. We love to hear from our guests as it helps us to continue to deliver an outstanding guest experience.

I'm very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found your apartment to be very convenient to the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre.

Again, thank you for providing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments on your next trip to our beautiful city.

Warm regards,

Marcus Maillet
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We came down to Melbourne from Sydney for 2 nights with my partner and two teenage daughters. Originally we had booked another of the sites of the Melbourne Short Stay Apartments in Southbank but when we went to see the pool it had a sign saying that it was closed for maintenance for the duration of our stay. Since we had chosen the accommodation precisely for the attractions of the pool and gym the girls were rather discouraged. I rang Rachael and explained our predicament and within around 15 minutes they changed our location and we were booked into the Deluxe. Great customer service, absolutely beautiful pool with great views, totally central location and near the wonderful Southbank markets, which was a real find. I have no hesitation in recommending these apartments. Total luxury and wonderful kitchen. Just great!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne04, Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Jane S,

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of Southbank Deluxe following your recent stay with us.

We are thrilled to read your glowing five star review, and to hear how Rachael gave you the outstanding customer experience that we pride ourselves on delivering to our guests! We have passed on your feedback to Rachael and the team.

I agree, our Southbank Deluxe pool really is beautiful and offers amazing views! We're so glad that you enjoyed the convenience of Deluxe's location and its proximity to Southbank. There are so many wonderful restaurants, bars and boutiques along the promenade, plus there's the added benefit of Southbank Deluxe being located straight across the road from Crown Entertainment Complex and the Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments on your return trip to our wonderful city and we thank you again for sharing your experience with us.

Warm regards,

Marcus Maillet
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We found the Melbourne Southbank short stay apartments excellent and would recommend them to anyone, they were central to the city and everything was within walking distance. They were clean, well appointed and the view was fantastic, the off street secure parking was also very handy, we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We were on the 25th floor on the western side and the view was excellent over the city. We stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne04, Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Colin S,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your stay with us in September. We are thrilled to read that our One Bedroom Studio apartment suited your needs and that you found it to be well appointed, clean and boasting a great view! It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed the location and found our secure under-cover car parking quite handy.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments on your next trip east!

Warm regards,

Marcus Maillet
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#48 of 159 in Melbourne
438 reviews
Southbank
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne
Southbank
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments MP Deluxe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gem Apartments Short Stay
#34 of 136 in Melbourne
101 reviews
Southbank
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection
Southbank
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Power Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street

Property: Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street
Address: 63 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These deluxe category 4.5 star apartments are in a 35 level landmark residential tower with a choice of 1, 2 or 3 bedrooms configurations, many with spectacular views. Features include floor-to ceiling windows in living areas and most bedrooms, comfortable combined lounge & dining area, fully equipped kitchen with composite stone benchtops, laundry with washing machine and separate dryer, 32" LCD TV (with Foxtel), DVD player, stereo and heating / air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing