We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genial!”
Review of Melbourne By Foot

Melbourne By Foot
Book In Advance
More Info
US$31.93*
and up
Central Melbourne Walking Tour
Ranked #37 of 280 Tours in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Once described as a 'comprehensive highlight of the city', the Melbourne By Foot walking tour is a must for any visitor to the cultural capital of Australia. At only $40 (including coffee/tea) and with daily departures, Melbourne By Foot is the most convenient and best value way to experience the city. Our fun and informal tours show our enthusiasm for the city's past and present, our friendly guides are all 'big on Melbourne' and we are happy to share with you the unique parts of the city which many visitors miss.We have recently launched a new tour called 'The Beer Lovers Guide to Melbourne'. We have combined our passion for the past and present as well as our enthusiasm for the local craft beer scene to create an interesting and enjoyable night time tour. Come and experience Melbourne with us.
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I liked so much the Beer lovers tour! Nice to meet you, Dave! Muy recomendable e interesante! Muchas gracias, Dave!!

Thank ANventura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, Owner at Melbourne By Foot, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Hi Angela,

I am happy that you enjoyed the Beer Lovers Guide to Melbourne tour - thanks for taking the time to write a review. We had a great group with lots of conversation. It's always nice to see others heading out to enjoy Melbourne's nightlife afterwards.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your studies!

Regards.
Dave Carswell
Melbourne By Foot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"walking tour"
in 68 reviews
"street art"
in 58 reviews
"cultural walk"
in 10 reviews
"great tour"
in 30 reviews
"coffee stop"
in 8 reviews
"lane ways"
in 18 reviews
"aboriginal history"
in 8 reviews
"federation square"
in 24 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 12 reviews
"would highly recommend this tour"
in 12 reviews
"great introduction"
in 8 reviews
"visitors and locals"
in 7 reviews
"hidden gems"
in 9 reviews
"hour tour"
in 8 reviews
"small group"
in 15 reviews
"wonderful city"
in 5 reviews
"yarra river"
in 5 reviews
Filter

208 - 212 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

I would highly, highly recommend this tour regardless of whether you're a local or a visitor! The tour with Dave was very relaxed and very informative. I did this tour on my first full day in Melbourne and came away with a list of places to go back and see in more detail.... I would NEVER have found most of them on my own. As I said during the tour "You would never go down a laneway in Perth that looks like this." Fabulous artwork, each with a story! Love it!

Thank AmandaoutofPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, Owner at Melbourne By Foot, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

HI Amanda,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It's funny that you say that you would never walk down an alley like that in Perth - we get many locals who say the same about the spaces they encounter on the tour. We love taking locals and visitors off the beaten path and to show them the unique and interesting places in the city. I am happy you enjoyed the relaxed informative tour and the opportunity for further exploration.

Hope to see you back again in Melbourne soon.

Regards,.
Dave Carswell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Melbourne By Foot I can say nothing but AMAZING has changed my view on tours altogether and from now on I am going to be doing a walking tour every place we visit !! Dave was so relaxed but full of amazing infomation which we had no idea about our own City. We did the Tour on our first day of a long weekend with friends and we went back to so many places which Dave pointed out to us on the tour. If you are not one for a rushed bus touristey tour Dave is your man with his small groups and off the beaten track Adventure !! Can not recomend it enough. The walk around the city is easy and anyone could do it whatever fitness level. The tour didnt feel rushed at all and Dave gave us pleanty of time to look around at. Highly recommended for everyone !!!!!

Thank 88Caitlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, Owner at Melbourne By Foot, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Hi Caitlin,

Thank you so much for providing such a glowing review of the tour. When starting Melbourne By Foot we had no idea that there would be such a enthusiastic response from locals who enjoy learning and exploring their own backyard. Melbourne certainly is a changing city and one full of many surprises and great finds.. it really is the best city for a walking tour. I am pleased to know you enjoyed the relaxed nature of the tour, the information and the discovery of new places to return.

I hope to see you out and about on Melbourne's streets.

Regards,
Dave Carswell
Melbourne By Foot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Highly recommended to all. We did Melbourne By Foot at the start of our holiday and were so glad we did. We learnt lots from Dave's informative commentary and got to see places we would have otherwise missed. Melbourne is full of fascinating nooks and crannies and Dave will take you on a tour of discovery!

1  Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, Owner at Melbourne By Foot, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Hi Andrea,

Thanks for coming on our Cultural Walk and taking the time to write a review. Melbourne is indeed a city of nooks and crannies and one that is best explored by foot. We always recommend that guests come on the tour when they first arrive. I am pleased to see you benefited from the discoveries made on the tour.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne again in the future.

Regards,
Dave Carswell
Melbourne By Foot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This tour is an absolute must for anyone visiting or living in Melbourne. Dave is a fantastic tour guide and his knowledge of the city is endless

1  Thank JJBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, Owner at Melbourne By Foot, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Hi JJBest,

We agree that this is a must do for locals and visitors! We are extremely happy that you enjoyed the tour and that you could share that experience with other Trip Advisor users.

Hope to see you back again in Melbourne soon.

Regards,
Dave Carswell
Melbourne By Foot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Melbourne By Foot also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Melbourne By Foot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing