We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Beer by Foot tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Melbourne By Foot

Melbourne By Foot
Book In Advance
More Info
US$30.74*
and up
Central Melbourne Walking Tour
Ranked #38 of 250 Tours in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Once described as a 'comprehensive highlight of the city', the Melbourne By Foot walking tour is a must for any visitor to the cultural capital of Australia. At only $40 (including coffee/tea) and with daily departures, Melbourne By Foot is the most convenient and best value way to experience the city. Our fun and informal tours show our enthusiasm for the city's past and present, our friendly guides are all 'big on Melbourne' and we are happy to share with you the unique parts of the city which many visitors miss.We have recently launched a new tour called 'The Beer Lovers Guide to Melbourne'. We have combined our passion for the past and present as well as our enthusiasm for the local craft beer scene to create an interesting and enjoyable night time tour. Come and experience Melbourne with us.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Beer by Foot tour”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I was visiting Melbourne on my own and wanted to find out about the different beer and breweries in and around Melbourne. This tour was perfect. The group size was not too large and the tour guide, Dave, was welcoming and friendly and conducted the tour without making us feel like we were on a mass organised commercial operation. Dave was knowledgable, providing the right amount of information about the history of Melbourne and the development of its brewing and pubs and bars, whilst keeping the commentary amusing and fun. The tour was very well organised too. Given that it was a Saturday night, a table had been reserved for us in each pub and the burger dinner was delicious. Very easy to book the tour online from overseas too. Highly recommended.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank LeneAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, Owner at Melbourne By Foot, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hi LeneAnn,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It was great to have you along on the tour and sharing with the group your passion for real cask ales back in the UK. I am pleased you were able to gain an insight into beer, brewing and pubs here in the city from an historical and contemporary perspective. One of the objectives of the beer tour was to provide a social evening out in the city and I happy you enjoyed the size of the group dynamics, the anecdotes and burger dinner.

Hope to see you back in Melbourne again soon.

Regards,
Dave Carswell
Melbourne By Foot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    32
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
“You can't fake passion!”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My wife and I had a fantastic time tailing Dave around Melbourne's hotspots. Many of these spots would have been tricky to find on our own - like the Banksy stencil, the Cherry Bar on AC/DC lane, and even a love story chiseled into the wall of the Central Place laneway.

Dave told us he does these tours almost every day, and we can certainly appreciate the passionate enthusiasm he puts into monologues he must have rattled off thousands of times by now. Great guide, great tour, would definitely recommend.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank omarmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, Owner at Melbourne By Foot, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hi Omar,

Thanks for taking the time to come on a tour with us and write a review of your experience. Melbourne is a world class city and I more than happy to share that with visitors and locals alike. My enthusiasm comes from the satisfaction guests have when enjoying seeing our city by foot.

Hope to see you back in the city again soon.

Regards,.
Dave Carswell
Melbourne By Foot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockingham, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great way to know Marvelous Melbourne”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

What an excellent walking tour this was, hosted by our very knowledgeable and amiable guide David. Would highly recommend this tour with all aspects of the cities past and present covered.

Helpful?
1 Thank RobertY43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, Owner at Melbourne By Foot, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Hi Robert,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I get great satisfaction knowing that you enjoyed the tour. At Melbourne By Foot we are equally passionate about the past and the present and I am pleased to know you enjoyed both!

Regards,
Dave Carswell
Melbourne By Foot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable and interesting”
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We did the tour with Dave on 22 February and thought it was brilliant. As first-time visitors to Melbourne from the UK, we found it a great introduction to the city, especially as it included some parts that wouldn't be included in standard tourist itineraries. Dave is very knowledgeable and his enthusiasm for the city is infectious. We also appreciated the leaflet he gave us at the end of the tour with his recommendations for bars, cafes, restaurants and shops. A really fun and informative afternoon. Thanks Dave, it was a pleasure to meet you.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank amyjb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, Owner at Melbourne By Foot, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Hi Amy,

It was great to have you along on our Cultural Walk tour back in February. As first time visitors, I am pleased that you enjoyed the sites both known and unknown. We are all very passionate about Melbourne and I am glad that enthusiasm rubbed off on the tour. The handout at the end is to give guests the chance to explore further - it's great that took delight in our recommendations.

Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

Regards.
Dave Carswell
Melbourne By Foot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great afternoon in Melbourne City”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Did the lane way walk with Dave and had a great afternoon exploring the must see lanes and sights of Melbourne. Highly recommend this walking tour as a different way to explore and find out some history of this city.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, Owner at Melbourne By Foot, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Hi Dean,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and making such a positive recommendation to other Trip Advisor users. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Please return again soon.

Regards,
Dave Carswell
Melbourne By Foot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Melbourne By Foot also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Melbourne By Foot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing