We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting, Informative and Entertaining Walking Tour”
Review of Melbourne By Foot

Melbourne By Foot
Book In Advance
More Info
US$32.38*
and up
Central Melbourne Walking Tour
Ranked #37 of 264 Tours in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Once described as a 'comprehensive highlight of the city', the Melbourne By Foot walking tour is a must for any visitor to the cultural capital of Australia. At only $40 (including coffee/tea) and with daily departures, Melbourne By Foot is the most convenient and best value way to experience the city. Our fun and informal tours show our enthusiasm for the city's past and present, our friendly guides are all 'big on Melbourne' and we are happy to share with you the unique parts of the city which many visitors miss.We have recently launched a new tour called 'The Beer Lovers Guide to Melbourne'. We have combined our passion for the past and present as well as our enthusiasm for the local craft beer scene to create an interesting and enjoyable night time tour. Come and experience Melbourne with us.
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We did the daily cultural walk with Dave as our tour guide. We'd been in Melbourne for a few days and had purposely hunted down a few of the famous streets and laneways. However, when Dave took us down these same streets it was like seeing them in a new and interesting light. There were so many things we'd just walked past that were historically significant.

The tour was packed full of interesting stories about history and culture in Melbourne. We also got some great tips for things to do and places to eat. Can't wait to go back to Melbourne and do the Beer Lovers Tour!

Thank megants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, Owner at Melbourne By Foot, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2014

Hi Megants,

We always recommend guests take our Cultural Walk tour on their first full day in the city, however it's great to know that you enjoyed some of the already explored areas and new spaces on interest. I am glad I could provide some historical context and further insight into our great city.

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Look forward to welcoming you back on another tour.

Regards,
Dave Carswell
Melbourne By Foot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
There are newer reviews for Melbourne By Foot
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 121 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2014

I have given gift vouchers of this tour to friends aged from 19 to 79 for their birthdays and all have found it very enjoyable. I have gathered that the guide adapts the tour a little to match the interests of the day's participants. I finally got to particpate in this walking tour myself today. I found the tour guide professional, extremely well informed and personable. Even though I have worked in the city for many years and live in inner urban Melbourne, I learnt a lot: history, great new spots to eat and drink, lane art, indigeneous background and more.... The three hour tour was good value and included a coffee/tea break at a well known spot. There were local, interstate and overseas peoplel in the group which was not too large.

1  Thank RoseFrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, Owner at Melbourne By Foot, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2014

Hi Rose,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We often guests locals purchasing the tours as gift vouchers for their friends and family and it's heartening to know that you enjoyed coming along as a participant as well. As Melburnians we often take for granted what we have in our own backyard and I'm still enthused by locals getting out and about to learn more about their city. It sounds like you enjoyed the diversity of subject matter in the afternoon Cultural Walk.

I hope to see you out exploring again soon.

Regards.
Dave Carswell
Melbourne By Foot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Gerry gave us a great tour this afternoon of Melbourne. Very friendly, knowledgable, and upbeat. I was curious how he handles free-loaders....be sure to ask him for a good laugh!

1  Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, Owner at Melbourne By Foot, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Hi Jonathon,

Thanks for taking the time to pen such a swift review! Happy we could squeeze you into yesterday's tour. Sounds like you had a great time with Gerry - he's a great ambassador to city (working across a few fields in the tourism industry) and friendly and knowledgeable guide.

I'll have to ask him what his method for dealing with free-loaders is.

Regards,
Dave Carswell
Melbourne By Foot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely day around the city with Gerry who was warm and friendly. He answered all our questions and went above and beyond with helping us with other things we were curious about in the city and places to see and do.
It was a great day and we both would highly recommend it to anyone new or visiting melbourne.
Thank you Gerry

1  Thank dejaVu2885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, Owner at Melbourne By Foot, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Hi Halina,

It sounds like you had a great time with Gerry - he is a great guide with a real passion for Melbourne. Melbourne By Foot is all about engaging guests with local experience and we are more than happy to spend some extra time and effort for you to get the most out of your stay.

Thanks and taking the time to write a review. Hopefully we can welcome you back to city again in the near future.

Regards,
Dave Carswell
Melbourne By Foot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is great value with Dave - such a personal and friendly guide with a wealth of historical knowledge. He was able to show us so much of the colour and flavour around the city that we would never have found on our own. Even if we did his knowledge of local artists and activities made it all so much more meaningful. This was our first visit to Melbourne and found this great value and a must particularly for someone new to the city.

1  Thank Douglas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, Owner at Melbourne By Foot, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Hi Douglas,

Thanks for taking the time to write such a glowing review. It was a great pleasure to have you and your daughter on the tour as first time visitors to the city. Melbourne By Foot was conceived through a passion for travel and sharing local experience and I get great pleasure through offering that experience to visitors to my city.

Hopefully you get an opportunity to visit the city again soon.

Regards,
Dave Carswell
Melbourne By Foot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Melbourne By Foot also viewed

 

Been to Melbourne By Foot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing