We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit of Hong Kong......” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sung's Kitchen

Sung's Kitchen
Ranked #889 of 3,851 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Toora, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A bit of Hong Kong......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

I lunched at Sungs Kitchen recently with a friend whilst on a mini break in town and it was one of the culinary highlights of my stay. The decor is comfortable and intimate. The service prompt and affable. The food affordable and delicious. The menu listed many dishes I had enjoyed whilst in Hong Kong a couple of years ago (the Chef is from Hong Kong, as was our beaming waiter on the day) and they stacked up well. The spicy beancurd was scrumptuous, as were the juicy pork dumplings. I wished I had had the time to eat there again as there were many dishes I was tempted to try but our tummies were bursting.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank misskja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    19
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Always a good evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

We eat at Sung's kitchen at least once a month and have been for over 12 months. The restaurant is not in Melbourne's China Town but located up near the Queen Vic Market. This is not one of those really big Chinese restaurant, smallish and probably seats around 40-50 people. Food is always reliable and the choices available will suit the majority diners. The specials are great and the staff efficient. Feel free to ask if the Chef will prepare something that is not on the menu, as they are very accommodating. You can BYO your wine although they are fully licensed. Enjoy!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First & Last time - Never again!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Worst service ever experienced from a very grumpy old woman who was serving our table & the food was severly overpriced.
Will NEVER recommend this place to anyone.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidAnthony2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“very good yum cha”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

in a part of the city, not noted for chinese restaurants, this one is a surprise and a very place to visit to get your fill of yum cha. Not the cheapest not the dearest, but very good.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank koivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Chinese good I've ever had”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This place served the best Chinese food I've ever eaten! The prawn dumplings were amazing!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank AmandaD717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sung's Kitchen also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Sung's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing